We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hard to Find but Worth It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Akka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Akka
Ranked #154 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
558 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
“Hard to Find but Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed at Riad Akka on your last night in Marrakech and we chose it because of the great reviews here and as a splurge for our last night in Morocco. The Riad was hard to find (but then again, anything is hard to find in Marrakech) - I would have expected some signs for a Riad of this quality, but alas, we found none. Finally, after asking around, we found it. Riad is located a bit away from Jemma el Fna, but still very central, and close to the El Bahia and El Badi Palaces. It's also in the centre of the many souks, that have better prices than most places in the Medina. The Riad was by far the newest, cleanest and nicely upkept Riad we were in so far. It has been newly renovated, decorated in style and pristine. The rooms were magnificently decorated, very warm, clean and well upkept. The shower was my favourite part as it had a huge showerhead, and after a long day of travel, it came as a Godsend. The Riad has a pool inside its central courtyard, which is small, but nice, however, the water is freezing cold. I was hoping that it was outside on the roof terrace, but it turned out it was inside. The only thing I wasn't impressed by and was surprised by was the condition of the terrace on the roof. It didn't seem to match the cleanliness and perfection of the rest of the Riad - the tables and chairs were a bit run down and it didn't look like the terrace was given much attention. It's really too bad because the rest of the Riad was so immaculate. Either way, it didn't bother us too much, as we spent our last evening lounging on the chairs up there, eating watermelon we bought at the market. The kitchen staff was nice enough to provide us with a knife and plate. In the morning, we had a nice breakfast, and had eggs for the first time :) The Riad doesn't have internet but I'm not sure if they have wi-fi. This riad has an online reservation system, so we paid our room before coming. The airport taxi rates they offer on their website are about 200 times what the taxi to the airport should cost, so I would strongly suggest against it.
Overall, Riad Akka was wonderful and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    18
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
95
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Cant stress enough how important it is to book airport transfer here!!!!!!! we did but unfortunately they did see the email so we haggled for 30 mins over taxi that totally ripped us off then as hotel is right down back streets you have to let taxi drop you off, im a very experienced traveler but there is NO WAY on this earth you will be able to find riad akka even the door sign is tiny, about 5 kids escorted us there then demanded lots of money for showing us, real stressful nightmare start to a gorgeous holiday, so PLEASE book transfers both ways [return is cheaper] with hotel
amazing little place though, only has 4 rooms, breakfast is lovely and different each day,
akka is so quiet and tranquil the roof top terrace a great stop to relax after the madness of the sq which is about 15 min walk away but will take you a few days to get used to the back streets, very safe area and hotel staff so helpful with advice and even sent a driver to buy our train tickets to casablanca so we didnt have to,

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyful02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Riad Akka for a few nights at the end of a short tour of Morocco. It was difficult to fault and reasonably priced. The staff were lovely - friendly and helpful. The decor is modern Marrakech - no fussy local rugs or brassware scattered about the place. The plunge pool is the perfect antidote to the craziness of the world outside the riad.

The breakfast was a real highlight - much of the same stuff we had all over Morocco - but other elements changed every day - home made yoghurt, tasty pastries and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebif77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We spent 4 days at Riad Akka in their 'best' room. The room was huge, huge bathroom and lovely bath (great to soak away tired muscles after walking for hours in the souks). Adiz (sorry, cant remamber spelling) was the local Moroccan night manager and breakfast server - he was lovely, good english, polite - he even went out shopping to get me some good quality saffron to take home. French lady owns the riad and anther french lady is the day manager -both lovely ladies who were more than happy to help with questions or restaurant recommendations. We had a lovely dinner in the riad on the last night which was great. The pool is fantastic for cooling off in after the 40 degree heat. Location is about a 5-10minute walk to the main square, but down a quiet alley, which meant our sleeps were very peaceful. For the price - this place is great value (only 4 rooms too!) - much cheaper than other riads, but nicer decor and great staff.
Cant wait to get back there!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLKx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We had a fantastic break in Morocco and the staff and surroundings at Riad Akka made the whole trip extra special. They were welcoming, friendly and went out of their way to help us book activities and find our way around the city. The Riad itself is beautifully deorated and clean. The food was fantastic and the Hammam comes highly reccomended.

Would reccomend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We spent 7 nights at Riad Akka during Agust 2010. We want to let every body know that Akka offers a great service, cozy rooms, good location and the best under our point of view were thep eople we meet there. Thank you Elodie, Aziz, Mohamed, Haja and Nezha for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siboar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We spent 7 nights at Riad Akka and loved it. We were there during a really hot spell - temperatures of 48 degrees plus and only down to 35 at night! However this place was a welcome respite from the heat - the plunge pool was a fab way to cool down. It was quiet and relaxing away from the mayhem of Djemna El Fna, which was only a ten minute walk away. We spent many a relaxing afternoon reading in the lounge area, where you could also watch TV if you wanted. We stayed in the Telouet room - it was clean and roomy, with lovely decor, aircon, a great shower and comfy bed. Breakfasts were a good way to start the day - fresh fruit, yoghurt, coffee, breads, potato cakes. The transfer from the airport was also good - Mohammed guided us safely through the alley ways to the Riad - we would never have found it on our own at that time of night. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Definitely treat yourself to the in house Hammam. We recommend taking a day trip to Essaouria under your own steam using Supratour buses (140 Dirham return; 2hr journey) and skip Cascades D'Ouzoud. Also buy your water outside of the Riad - 50 dirhams in house vs 10 dirhams outside.
We would definitely stay there again - would love see the large fireplace in action!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#79 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#112 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#73 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#25 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dar NanKa
Dar NanKa
#168 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#68 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Akka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Akka

Property: Riad Akka
Address: 65, derb Lahbib Magni, | Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Akka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a small alleyway close to the Bahia Palace, only 5 minutes walk from Jamaa El Fna Square - Riad Akka keeps a warm welcome for guests in a stylish, peaceful ambiance. A showcase for all the cultural richness and diversity of Marrakesh, luxury riad in Marrakesh - Riad Akka is a unique building that has been reinterpreted in a contemporary style. It has been refurbished with all due respect to traditional architectural features and reflects the determination of the owners, to recreate the authentic Marrakshi way of life in a contemporary minimalist setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Akka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Akka Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing