We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quaint Riad in Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Akka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Akka
Ranked #167 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint Riad in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel last year, and we had a fantastic experience. The staff was charming, extremely helpful, and booked us the best guide we could have hoped for.

Breakfast is wonderful- be sure to take time for it. Also, ask for guide recommendations if you're planning to spend a day in the medina. We typically never do guides, but felt we should since the medina can be confusing, and we did not want to be bothered to buy every time we stopped somewhere.

I must say, the guide did the trick. No one bothered us at all when we were with him (different story when we were not), and (an added bonus) he provided us an excellent history of the city and its important architecture.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Riad, and since I have recommended it to a number of friends traveling through Marrakech!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizelMono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    18
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
99
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having stayed in a number of Riads in Marrakech Riad Akka was really a haven of peace and tranquillity. It is in close proximity to the square. The staff, especially Yusuf and Aziz, were very accommodating and nothing was too much for them to do. All the staff were friendly, happy and hospitable. Great food, wonderful room. We have every intention of returning in the near future.
Thank you Secret Escapes.
Garry and Julie

Room Tip: The larger rooms are spacious and more likely to have walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Once you find Riad Akka, it's a peaceful place amidst the hussle and bussle of the Marrakech Medina. The staff are attentive,the ambience is great, the rooms are good and the food is excellent. Special thanks to Yousef and Azziz who made us all very welcome.We highly recommend this place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hodgsallMatlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Akka on our last night in Marrakech and didn't have a very good experience. We like to try different places when we travel instead of staying at the same place for too long, so after starting our trip at the Riad al Massarah and then traveling to the countryside for a couple of days, we decided to give Riad Akka a try. We called the morning of our stay to inquire whether they had any rooms available and were told it would be no problem to accommodate us. When we arrived that afternoon, we were told two rooms were available - one slightly larger (and more expensive) than the other, and they allowed us to see both before choosing. The prices at Riad Akka were a bit higher than what we paid at Riad al Massarah, but the rooms were much shabbier. A lot of the walls and furniture were painted black, which is ok in the sunnier common areas, but in the confines of the rooms, which have only tiny windows, all the black paint is oppresive. Lighting in the rooms is on the poor side, which just adds to the dark, gloomy feel. There were also a few spots of paint bubbling and peeling, especially in the bathroom area. The breakfast was also a disappointment - the bread wasn't bad, but there wasn't much variety and the offerings paled in comparison to what other places in Marrakech give you at breakfast. The worst part, however, was the treatment from the manager. Maybe it was because he knew we were only staying one night, but he made us feel rushed and generally unwelcomed. When we arrived, after telling us there were rooms available, he asked what time we'd be leaving in the morning, explaining he had a big tour group coming in. He told us he needed us out by 10, which we agreed to since we were flying out midday the next day. The manner in which all this information was delivered was not particularly friendly - we almost left on the spot, but decided to stay the one night since we were tired after a long day of driving. We woke up early the next morning so that we could get in one last stroll around the Medina before our flight. We hoped to take a walk and then get back to our room and maybe splash a little water on our faces, etc. before our agreed-upon 10am check-out time. Instead, when the manager saw we were leaving for a walk, he told us we needed to remove all our luggage from the room so that it could be cleaned for the next guests...unacceptable at 8:30 in the morning! The rest of the staff was very friendly, but the gloomy rooms and somewhat rude manager ruined it for us - we won't go back to this place. We couldn't believe this was a top recommendation in our guide book - it's overpriced and not nearly as nice as other riads.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCNYC10025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurelie b, Gérant at Riad Akka, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous avons fait visiter 2 chambres , vous avez choisi , nous vous avons indique le prix, si cela ne vous convenait pas il fallait choisir un autre riad
Les seuls clients Américains que nous ayons eu ces derniers mois ont séjournés dans la chambre Amizmiz qui est de couleur beige
Nos chambres et salles de bain sont en tadelakt et non peintes et ne peuvent donc s'effriter
Nous n'avons reçu que des compliments sur nos petits déjeuner (nous ne servons pas de pain)
Notre manageur qui vous a reçu la veille ne prend son service qu'à 10 h du matin , nous ne voyons pas comment il aurait pu vous demander de partir à 8h 30 pour acceuillir un groupe, groupe que nous ne recevons jamais, n(ayant que 5 chambres)
Notre équipe s'efforce de faire au mieux pour satisfaire la clientèle , malgré votre commentaire nous ne doutons pas du professionnalisme de notre personnel
La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here on our first and last night in Morocco. Locally owned and operated, the small hotel is beautiful and well equipped with everything from shampoo and conditioner to games and a laptop available for guests to get online. The staff are gracious and lovely, attending to every need. The breakfast was wonderful and plentiful. It was too cold to enjoy it when we were there in December but the roof top deck would be a paradise in slightly warmer weather. Great for family or a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Our room had a glorious large bathtub but no stand up shower. The kids' room has a lovely showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALS94301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

After a few weeks through deep Moroccos the perfect spot to re energize in the intense and outstanding city of Marrakech. Excellent rooms, a small but really cosy smiwing pool to provide you a really refreshing experience. Staff really helpfull and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andresilva121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for part of our Honeymoon. The Riad staff were very friendly and only too happy to assist us. We arrived late on our first day and the owner had already booked us a romantic restaurant knowing it was our Honeymoon. Great central location but you would never know you are right in the heart of Marrakesh as its so peaceful. The splash pool was a very welcome escape from the heat and the breakfast was so lovely and fresh. The rooms are a good size complete with the essential air con and beautifully decorated. Hugely recommended for a romantic break away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captainpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#71 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Karma
Riad Dar Karma
#154 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Charai
Riad Charai
#200 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#104 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#159 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Akka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Akka

Property: Riad Akka
Address: 65, derb Lahbib Magni, | Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Akka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a small alleyway close to the Bahia Palace, only 5 minutes walk from Jamaa El Fna Square - Riad Akka keeps a warm welcome for guests in a stylish, peaceful ambiance. A showcase for all the cultural richness and diversity of Marrakesh, luxury riad in Marrakesh - Riad Akka is a unique building that has been reinterpreted in a contemporary style. It has been refurbished with all due respect to traditional architectural features and reflects the determination of the owners, to recreate the authentic Marrakshi way of life in a contemporary minimalist setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Akka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Akka Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing