We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The oasis in the medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Honey Sarl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Honey Sarl
Ranked #408 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The oasis in the medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

I've never stayed in a better place than Riad Honey. The staff is super friendly, and helped us with everything from learning how to make Moroccan tea to finding good restaurants and providing us with wonderful breakfasts on the roof terrace. The calm environment at the riad is a perfect contrast to the busy medina. The moment I walked in to the gates of Riad Honey, I exhaled and stayed calm for the rest of my stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria_Sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
57
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Velen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

We came to Riad Honey were Lahcen has planned our 4 -days trekking tour to the High Atlas Region .
Everything was organized and executed in perfect way.
We were picked up at the airport and get a nice room in the Riad.
To stay in Riad Honey is like to stay in a house of friends.The warm atmosphere and the personal way of service is outstanding .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marathonhuppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

There are a thousand reasons to travel to Marrakech. A myriad of pictures have been taken of this city, whose very name is magical. While enjoying breakfast on the roof terrace of the Riad Honey, you can let your dreams slowly awaken to the warmth of the sun. And then you can follow your thoughts. In the midst of the Medina, the red city. On the “Z”, as Lahcen calls it. In the footsteps of Elias Canetti, William Burroughs, Fatema Mernissi or Tahar Ben Jelloun to the large Jamaa el-Fna square, the marketplace of oriental dreams and mirror of society. This is where the drama of Marrakech begins to unfold before your very eyes like a richly woven cloth. Let’s continue to the souks, the Sebbarghine souk, for example, where freshly dyed silky woolen bales hang out to dry: saffron yellow, cobalt blue, fiery purples. Let’s visit the Museum of Marrakech to marvel at the architecture. Or let’s walk to the Mellah, once the largest Jewish quarter in North Africa. Or let’s venture even further afield, out to the ville nouvelle and the Jardin Majorelle. It’s like paradise. Magical. Fragrant. Just like at the hammam Les Bains de Marrakech, over there, close to the Bab Agnaou. In the evening, we return to the Riad Honey, to enjoy vegetables or couscous with chicken and a glass of exquisite wine from Meknès. Sitting with Imelda and Lahcen, the owners of the hotel, in the relaxing stillness of the inner courtyard, drinking mint tea and talking about tomorrow’s excursion: the day’s journey to Telouet, a small village in the High Atlas mountains. At night, we are awakened by the voice of the muezzin, only to be quickly lulled back to sleep, to the warmth of the bed. The Riad Honey is a wonderful jewel, an exceptional hotel, small and informal, but not over-familiar, pleasingly open and welcoming. It’s a trading post for stories and questions, information and tips for excursions, which Imelda and Lahcen are also happy to organize. It is an oasis of peace, tended by Imelda, together with Lahcen, his sons Yussef and Ibrahim, and Fadma. We will most certainly return to Marrakech one day, for now we have a thousand and one reasons: the Riad Honey.

Claudia and Peter Niedermair, Austria

  • Liked — hospitality, competence, organising excursions
  • Disliked — nothing, everything's alright there
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MayersAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2008

We found Riad Honey on the web and thought it looked very nice and was good located. It was even better than we thought.

Lachen and Imelda was so helpful and gave us so much good information about Marrakech and whatever we asked for it was no problem at all. If we wanted something small to eat at the Riad, no problem. If we wanted information about buying a carpet; we got a small lecture about Berber carpets.

The interior is modern but all made with natural materials and colors and that is one of the things that makes the Riad Honey so special.

The relaxing atmosphere is a great contrast to the hectic streetlife outside.

Karin and Peter, Stockholm, Sweden

Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank kww_wStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

It was our very first visit to Marrakech and it was more than exciting. Most of the time we stayed in the Medina and that meens a lot of unknown impressions so at the time we got home at Riad Honey it was like we were in another world - of calmness - an oasis to recover .
The Riad was built and decorated with so much love and good taste - on the roofgarden we enjoyed a georgous breakfast and at night we just relaxed and dreamed a little bit of living in 1001 night.
The hotel manager is very helpful regarding all kinds of questions , arranging trips to the high Atlas, visiting Hammams....
.... The service anyhow is more than friendly - the bedrooms are beautiful and the cleaning is very carefully and perfectly done.
We will come again ...

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank anguvica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was our first trip to Marrakech. The hosts are very hospitable and will go out of their way to help with anything.....where to eat, where to shop, what to do....anything. Would stay there again. The terrace is a wonderful place to relax after bouncing around the Medina all day.

  • Liked — The hosts and the terrace.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maizensue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

The best value for the price.
Familiar atmospere. Personalized service.
Very clean rooms, perfect service.
Owner of the Riad can organize guided trips to High Atlas.
Tastefull food. Traditional meals served in dinning room, patio or on the roof.
There is a beautifull roof terrasse, where is served the breakfast, tea or snacks.
The best position in the centre of everything.
We are returning there again adn again.
We will come again!

  • Liked — familiar atmosphere
  • Disliked — 0
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#161 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#68 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#26 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad le coq berbere
Riad le coq berbere
#149 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Tizwa
Riad Tizwa
#164 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.2 mi away
Zamzam Riad
Zamzam Riad
#61 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Honey Sarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Honey Sarl

Property: Riad Honey Sarl
Address: Derb el Khalifa Boutouil 88 | Bab Ayelal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Honey Sarl 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is completely renovated and partly rebuilt. We opened the riad in April 2007. The atmosphere is unique, oriental tradition is in combination with a simple and modern architecture. The riad is situated in the Medina of Marrakesh, a 15 minute walk from D'Jemaa el Fna. Each room has a modern air conditioning system and bathroom with shower and toilet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad Honey Sarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing