We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“beautiful riad with nice and lovely service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Honey Sarl

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Honey Sarl
Ranked #390 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Valencia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful riad with nice and lovely service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

we really had 3 beautiful days, with nice people in the riad, good tips to discover the city as tourists and with nice, brillant service. the riad is very beautiful with a lot of lovely details, a roof terrace, cooled, quiet rooms and a wonderful inner courtyard. i just can recomend to stay at this riad.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paetzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
55
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Imelda, Lahcen and the rest of the staff create a wonderful welcome team at Riad Honey. They arranged an airport transfer to get us to them and were quick to answer any pre-trip questions via email about our 5 day new years trip. We were able to relax on the beautiful roof terrace with mint tea to plan our stay. They were always available to hear about that days adventures or to give advice and help booking tours, activities or to print maps to direct us. The Riad has a great position in the medina allowing Mum and I to walk to all the key places. The food was great (and they were happy to meet any needs/requests) and the breakfast was incredible (especially the yoghurt!). We had in fact split our stay between this an another (more expensive) Riad, and were disappointed by comparison as there was none of the atmosphere and welcome of Riad Honey at the other place. We will certainly be going back and highly recommend it to anyone considering Marrakesh as a destination.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abby_Kimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

It is very peaceful and tranquil in the riad, which makes it a great place to relax after a busy day out and about in the very busy city of Marrakech. Breakfast is a nice assortment of home made yoghurt (yummy), breads, fig jam, boiled egg, cheeses, honey and tea / coffee which is served on the lovely roof terrace. The riad is situated about a 15 minute walk from Djemaa el Fna. We deliberately chose a riad that is not right on Djemaa el Fna so this worked really well for us. There are also a lot of local shops on the way, so the walk usually took me 20 - 30 minutes as I would stop to look at the shops and take photos along the way.

The folks who run the riad are lovely and really go out of their way to make sure that their guests are comfortable, and are extremely hospitable. We really enjoy chatting to Imelda who enjoys having a good conversation with her guests. My partner also got rather severe food poisoning while in Marrakech (20 toilet visits in 1 day!), and Lahcen called a doctor to the riad for us. The doctor managed to come in the evening, but by the time he left at 7pm, the local pharmacy had shut. So Lahcen used his motorbike to go to a pharmacy out of town with the doctor's prescription to obtain the medicines for us. He also took me 25 minutes out of town on his motorbike to go to the large supermarket (in the new part of Marrakech) to hunt down gatorade / powerade for my partner. We did not manage to find any gatorade in the end, however, I really enjoyed the ride on the motorbike!! Youssef who cooks and brings us our meals at the riad is also simply lovely and always has a very warm smile for us.

The riad is also able to organise private tours out of Marrakech for their guests. We wanted to do a 4 day road trip to the Sahara and south of Marrakech. The riad owners organised a driver for us, and recommended some nice accomodation as well. Lahcen's young son, Ibrahim, who happened to be free on 1 of the days, also joined us to help explain the sights along the way. We really enjoyed his company and it was great having a cheerful local with us.

We had a wonderful experience staying with this family and would not hesitate to go back if we were to return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hales_bne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We found Riad Honey a bit randomly via the web and we were consistently impressed from the moment we stepped into the beautiful courtyard. Our very accommodating host, Lahcen, first met us at our taxi near the gate to avoid confusion, then sat with us over tea to explain the city and some sights. The place is gorgeous and he is one very cool cat. After several hours in the souks or dodging scooters on the streets, the tranquility of his Riad Honey (absolute peace - a trickling fountain, rustling leaves and chirping birds) was a great recharge. Lahcen is also an experienced hiking guide with a good knowledge of the Atlas Mountains and the many Berber villages in the area (he grew up there). His travel stories are funny and exciting - he's a great person to enjoy a holiday with. Everything was done to make our trip to Marrakech easier, better and more memorable. This place made the trip. Thanks Lahcen! Come visit us in NYC anytime.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank salraffone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

A beautiful place to stay and to relax. The owners knowledge of the city, history and culture of Morocco is outstanding. Most helpful in arranging travel to other parts of Morocco and guided tours to Atlas Mountains and the Sahara. The incredibly friendly staff are also excellent cooks!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VolandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

5 minutes walk from medina. incredible staff. best found in entire morocco. quiet and safe place near taxis and main avenue. cozy and friendly. rooms ok. but the best was the staff that made us feel at home and treated us like family (even brought a doctor in house 'cause I was seek for a couple of days...really caring). no doubt to advise it to everyone

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank antoniomendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

A wonderfully decorated riad, with a genuinely organic feel in both design, decoration and service!

We stayed for three nights on our first ever trip to Morocco, and it was the ideal place to start.

Firstly, the food is absolutely incredible - so good in fact that we decided to eat dinner in the Riad twice, usually something we would never do (we prefer to go out to restaurants whenever we travel). I would go as far as saying the meal was the second best (if not best) we had in Morocco.

The staff, manager Lahcen and his family, are delightfully friendly and humble people who were always willing to help - Lahcen even accompanied me by bike to an ATM before paying the bill so I didn't have to walk through the street with too much cash.

The roof terrace looks great, although being winter we didn't get to enjoy it!

In terms of location, the Riad is located in one of the least touristy parts of the Medina. For us this was certainly a huge positive, as our walks to known locations always started off surrounded by real locals, not just salesmen and tourists. It is certainly not too far from the main square to be an invonvenience, but anyone nervous about unfamiliar travel should know about the location.

The only negative was the shower, which was slightly weak (but hey, you have to expect that in a developing country) and varying in temperature a lot.

Look forward to a return to the Riad Honey!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neddles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#68 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#99 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Fakir
Dar Fakir
#294 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#90 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Tizwa
Riad Tizwa
#136 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dar al Assad
Dar al Assad
#358 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Honey Sarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Honey Sarl

Property: Riad Honey Sarl
Address: Derb el Khalifa Boutouil 88 | Bab Ayelal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Honey Sarl 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is completely renovated and partly rebuilt. We opened the riad in April 2007. The atmosphere is unique, oriental tradition is in combination with a simple and modern architecture. The riad is situated in the Medina of Marrakesh, a 15 minute walk from D'Jemaa el Fna. Each room has a modern air conditioning system and bathroom with shower and toilet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Honey Sarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing