We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the box.”
Review of Hotel Akabar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Akabar
Ranked #427 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Simple to find, easy parking (out front), friendly reception, simple but clean room. Worth the 400Dh we paid for a double (not more). 4th floor room was still a little noisy, and without the a/c it would be hot (staff weren't the most helpful on this). 20min walk to Jemma El Fna square. Ok for a night.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 126 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Like a previous reviewer, we stayed here 2 nights before a cycle tour, and one night after. This is a no frills basic hotel, as you would expect for the money, but it is in need of a bit of TLC. Friendly staff and clean but could do with some small (but essential) touches to lift it from just acceptable to the 'would come again' category. Talking about the need to replace thin threadbare sheets, working light bulbs in every light in the room and plumbing that drains properly...............just a bit of attention to detail required. The breakfast was adequate but again just acceptable. If we return to Marrakesh we would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Akabar many times and my travelling companion, who is Moroccan-born, stays here at least twice a year. So we always get a warm welcome. It is of good 3* standard with comfortable rooms and very clean. There is an attractive Moroccan style lounge, a bar and a small swimming pool. The only thing that lets it down is breakfast which is a bit meagre though there were warm Moroccan pancakes in a chafing dish which you don't find in many hotels. Neither of my heating nor TV remote controls worked so I took them to reception. The receptionist replaced the batteries with batteries from other remotes he had on his desk. When I got back to the room one of the remotes still didn't work. In the morning my Moroccan friend had a word and it was all sorted. I think the big plus for this hotel is the location. It is situated in Hivernage, a leafy and upscale area dotted with first class and luxury hotel, smart nightclubs and trendy coffee shops and the hotel is in walking distance of the old city and Jemma al Fnaa in one direction and Gueliz, the modern city in the other. Perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the ones facing the road could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights here ,at the start and end of a cycle tour in Morocco. It is a pleasant 15 mins walk to the Medina, and although it is on a reasonably busy road we had no problems with noise. The decor is quite traditional, and there is a feel of " non - chain independence". The latter brings with it a combination of charm and eccentricity, notably at breakfast although it seems to work. Staff were helpful and friendly. Our bedroom was comfortable and quite well equipped. The Akabar is not for you if you prefer a standard multi national product. If you want to feel as if you are really in Morocco, we imagine you will probably like it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed in Hotel Akabar twice and enjoyed my stay each time. Clean & basic - good value. Nice but small pool to relax by after the hustle and bustle of having been in the medina. Breakfast not great, but fine - plenty of nice places to eat in the city. There are plenty of places to stay in the city with more character, but Hotel Akabar serves it's purpose and the staff and very friendly and accommodating. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have just arrived back from a lovely week in marrakech.my friend and i had a twin room at hotel Akabar.the hotel staff were the most welcoming people ever! we are vegetarian and they bent over backards to accomodate this as we were on the half board menu! the room and hotel was immaculatle. the facilities need updating but they are functional. fantastic location 15 min easy walk to jemaa al fna and in a nice area of marrakech! pool was freezing though!! would definatley stay again! best service ive ever had and very reasonable!!

Room Tip: road side room a little noisy but we managed to sleep as we did so much in the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Naomi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

on my last evening here I received one clean towel instead of the usual four. not a problem as it was adequate. I did not complain. The following morning when booking out at Reception the chambermaid appeared and accused me of stealing the three towels - which I had not received. My suitcase was opened and searched in the lobby in front of many guests. Nothing was found. No apology was offered. I have asked the Hotel for an explanation and received no reply. Their attitude is appalling.
lr malaga

Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank lloyd r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Dar El Assafir
Dar El Assafir
#315 of 502 in Marrakech
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#272 of 502 in Marrakech
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#358 of 502 in Marrakech
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Bahja
Riad Bahja
#247 of 502 in Marrakech
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#144 of 502 in Marrakech
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
2Ciels Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akabar

Address: 24 Rue l'Hivernage, Ave Echouhada | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $39 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akabar 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akabar the hotel is located in a beautiful area of ​​marrakech very quiet and a 10 minute walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna and 10 minutes from the new city guéliz or you can do your shopping and have tea or coffee in the most great cafes in Marrakech, the hotel also offers well-equipped rooms with satellite TV with a separate bathroom, direct dial telephone and a safe deposit box fee. it doubles, singles and triples. an international restaurant and bar overlooking the pool. a family run hotel where you can spend a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Akabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing