We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of P'tit Habibi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
P'tit Habibi
Ranked #273 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed December 2, 2008

My husband and I stayed in P'tit Habibi, Marrakech from 18 - 21 November 2008. The hotel is situated within the madina although a good 10 to 15 minute walk to the main squate. We were welcomed at the hotel by Abdul and his wife Fatima. The hotel is just lovely. It has four rooms which are all beautifully decorated and all look on to the main courtyard. On the roof there is a small dipping pool and a seating area.

Abdul and Fatima were the perfect hosts. If you book early in the mornign you can arrange for Fatima to cook you a traditional Moroccan dinner which we did on one of the evenings we were there and it was absolutely wonderful.

We booked the hotel through Mr and Mrs Smith and have a loyalty card which entitles you to a free bottle of rose wine, which was pretty good.

We both loved Marrakesh especially the main square. The Marrakech Film Festival was on when we were there so in the evenings the square was really busy and a few films were being shown.

We eat at the Marrakesh Restuarant on the square, the only one within the madina that sells alcohol.

Take the time to visit many of the beautiful gardens around Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MaureenGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for P'tit Habibi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 90 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2008

We are a couple in our twenties and were recommended the P'tit Habibi by a friend. With only 4 rooms the riad is small and friendly, and we were made to feel very welcome by the manager Abdul (he even went out on his scooter to buy tonic water for us when we asked where the nearest shop was).

We stayed in the Wangarata room, which was very fun with a 'space invaders' mirror in the bathroom and animal horns above the bed! All the rooms have their own 'theme'. The riad has a lovely central courtyard and a roof terrace if the weather is warm. Every evening they lit candles out in the courtyard which was a nice touch.

Breakfast was fantastic - the cook Fatima takes great pride in her food and rightly so as she is amazing. You have to let them know in advance if you want to eat there in the evening as Fatima goes out shopping during the day for fresh produce. It is well worth it though as she serves up a feast - and you end up feeling guilty when you can't finish it all.

The only down side is the location, as it is in the northern part of the medina and quite far away from the main square and attractions. We attempted walking a few times but inevitably got lost as the streets are not easy to navigate. The locals WILL harrass you, especially if like us, you are British and fair-haired. It does get tiresome especially when they get a bit insistent. In the end we just got cabs as they are cheap enough and save you the stress of the streets. We ate in a few nice restaurants - and would recommend the Marrakchi for great food and views across the square.

Marrakech is a great place to visit, but it is dirty, noisy, and completely different to western culture. If you can see past the poverty and see the city for its beautiful sites and history, then you will enjoy Marrakech, and for a complete escape from the hustle and bustle the P'tit Habibi offers a very tranquil experience.

Overall a very nice stay - it's definitely worth staying in a riad within the medina, rather than in a big hotel on the outskirts. That way you get to experience the true Marrakech. We would also recommend a trip into the Atlas Mountains too - but hire a car with a driver rather than go on an organised trip - that way you get to stop where and when you want rather than spending an hour at a roadside souk etc.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sequin-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

A scandinavian designer has created a gem - not too expensive, beautiful room (the white room has own terrace) and most of all a brilliant and honest manager.

The roof has a dipping pool and sun lounger for chilling / sunning in the morning. Dont expect maximum privacy though as it is a small place and the rooms all open out into a courtyard.

We watched Casablanca projected onto the wall - cant say better than that.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank MopedDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

I had to write and say what a fabulous time we had at this great riad. Abdel was extremely helpful & always on hand to answer questions and more importantly a chilled glass of rose after a long day in the souks!
Remember to book in and experience Fatima's cooking. Better than any restaurants meal we had whilst in Marrakech!
A traditional riad with cool elements. Right in the centre of the hustle & bustle. We stayed in the Love Nest and although small it was beautifully decorated with a lovely bed and crisp, cotton sheets. The other rooms are larger and one has direct access to the roof terrace. Lovely plunge pool and comfortable sofa seating, ideal place to enjoy some peace and quiet with your book.
A really great riad! Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank AimeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed here back in April for a long weekend - can't speak highly enough of the place.
Wafi was just so helpful and friendly, and Fatima's food was delicious (and perhaps too plentiful!)
It's location is really interesting - you get to see the much less touristy side of Marrakech whilst still being central enough to the action.
Very tastefully decorated - sort of Scandinavian-Moroccan. Loved it all!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBibsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

After getting almost obsessive about searching reviews of riads in Marrakech we eventually decided on P'tit Habibi and we were glad we did. It's only small (4 bedrooms) and we had the place to ourselves a lot of the time. Its beautifully decorated and our room - The White Room was large with a juliet balcony and huge fire place. The best bit was that we had our own big private sitting area/balcony/outside bed which was great to have evening drinks and breakfast. The whole riad was kept spotlessly clean and our hosts Abdeloufi and Fatima were wonderfully helpful and friendly. Abdeloufi booked us a day out at a hotel for lunch and pool and Fatima made the most wonderful meal for us on our first evening and great breakfasts of fruit, coffee and pancakes each morning. The rooftop splash pool was great to sunbathe around and have a few drinks by in the evening. The riad is in the northern area of the Medina - which is much less touristy and although probably 20 minutes walk to the main square - the walk is always interesting! We had a couple of pleasant afternoons/evenings at Cafe Arabe - a great bar/restuarant/cafe that's worth checking out. I would recommend talking some ear plugs though - the call to prayer and cockerel in harmony at 4.30 can get hard going! Highly recommended Riad. We booked through Mr and Mrs Smith (free bottle of wine - horay!).

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank campbell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

This trip was a long time in the planning because we wanted to go on a yoga trip and were struggling to find a place to accommodate us (3 nights) and our request. We tried to book Ibiza Yoga but at the last minute (just before we booked flights) they informed us that they no longer wanted to provide day/weekend passes and we could only visit for a week - they still advertised them on their website though at the time which was frustrating.

So back to the drawing board. I found P'tit Habibi on Mr and Mrs Smith and size and price wise, it seemed to be perfect. They didn't however, advertise any yoga but on contacting the riad, a response came almost immediately with a full breakdown of costs for private classes and renting out the whole property.

We have just returned and it was better than perfect. From the moment I contacted Knut (the owner) to my booking being completed by Abdelouafi (the manager) it was seemless. Fatima (housekeeper and cook) and Abdelouafi are such lovely hosts and their advice, service and hospitality was peerless. When we arrived at the riad at about 8pm, the property was bathed in candlelight and dinner was ready (and delicious). We ate at Dar Marjana and it was great but could not touch Fatima's cooking!

We felt so cared for. Anything seemed possible in this lovely place and it's not often I want to return somewhere but I would in a heartbeat.
So thank you to all at P'tit Habibi for putting up with my many emails and requests. Our stay was sublime!

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thegaddabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
9.6 mi away
Dar NanKa
Dar NanKa
#178 of 502 in Marrakech
163 reviews
23.6 mi away
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Kasbah Bab Ourika
#1 of 3 in Ourika
588 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dar Rhizlane
Dar Rhizlane
#104 of 502 in Marrakech
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 502 in Marrakech
1,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#59 of 502 in Marrakech
457 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#50 of 502 in Marrakech
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P'tit Habibi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P'tit Habibi

Address: 59, bis Zaouia Sidi Bellabes | Taouia Sidi Ghanem, Bab Lakhmis, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#108 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $127 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
P‘tit Habibi is an unique riad at the north end of the Marrakech Medina. The house fuses traditional artisan craft with modern design.P'tit Habibi has the feel of a beautifully designed private house. With only 5 rooms it is the perfect place to spend a wonderful long weekend with friends. Very boutique. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
p`Tit Habibi Hotel Marrakech
p Tit Habibi Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing