We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The best of Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douarskoll

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Douarskoll
Ranked #442 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best of Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Our trip to Marrakesh was excelent, and amazing city and Douarskoll. This riad is the best, Mohamed was the best host we could have, he help us in a lot and share with us a lot of the culture of the place, he made our experience there best than we were expecting. He prepared a tipycal dinner for us for a small extra charge wich was the best morocco food he taste.
The location is also great because you are inside the medina close to everything and also you are in a quiet place to rest by night. If you want to enjoy the city stay here, is the best option, you will feel like home and very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monybilbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    15
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Douarskoll was a wonderful way to begin our trip to Morocco. It is a charmingly decorated traditional-style Moroccan riad, located on a quiet residential alley right in the middle of the medina - just a few minutes' walk to the main square. The staff, particularly Mohammed, were very friendly and helpful. There was a great view from the rooftop terrace, which was a lovely place to relax in the evenings.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank furzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We booked this guesthouse at the last minute, and were lucky and grateful we selected Douarskoll. Upgraded for our entire stay, Mohammed was fantastic from start to finish. We didnt have any language problems - Mohammed was fluent in English as well as French and Arabic. He also prepared a fantastic Moroccan dinner for us, and took us to the local baths for a Hamman, which is a must do in Morocco.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Planned on staying 2 days, we ended up staying 5. The staff are so helpful and friendly, they truly get you involved in the local culture. The riad was stunning and really enjoyed the roof top terrace.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MishKite33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We could not have chosen a better place to stay! Mohammed has been so helpful and we had interesting chats with the friendly French lady owning the hostel. The food was amazing, it was great to rest on colourful cushions on the roof tops, we just loved our rooms and to stay in a Riad. Beautiful memories of breakfast served with delicious mint tea planning the day ahead.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dumzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akkrum, NL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Douarskoll is a small but very pleasant house, located in the centre of the Marrakesh Medina. Very hard to find, but once you've checked in you'll receive Mohamed's map, which will guide you through the Medina. Mohamed, ythe kind host of Douarskoll, even will arrange a taxi to/from the airport, He also guided us from the taxi to the guesthouse. When we arrived at the guesthouse, tired and desperate for a shower, Mohamed offered us a cup of tea. During the tea, he told us all about his city. He's so enthousiastic and proud of his city!

The guesthouse itself is very pittoresque. A few small, but well-decorated rooms. Hot showers, good beds. What more do you need? Well: maybe the terrace on the roof? Perfect to end a busy day in Marrakesh or to wake up and see the sun rise above Marrakesh.

However Marrakesh itself was a bit disappointing to us (too busy, too many nagging salesmen and far too many scooters in the Medina), the stay in Douarskoll made our visit to Marrakesh really worth it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NieuwPieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

Centrally located in the Old Medina of Marrakesh, just 7 minutes off "the Big Square", I really enjoyed my stay at Dourskoll. It is cute, intimate guesthouse with the friendliest of hosts - Mohammed. Especially in such an unfamiliar place, it was wonderful to have him answer any and all questions. He even arranged a woman to take us to a Hammam bathhouse.

The place is nothing too fancy but does what is possible on a lower budget. The rooms are tidy and embellished with Moroccan decor. The rooftop terrace is a perfect place to relax after a day in the winding, hectic streets of Marrakesh.

This place is really tucked in the maze and I had difficulty finding it. Should you stay here, which I would recommend, arrange for Mohammed to pick you up at the airport. It is worth the 12 or so euros.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lnhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#109 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#269 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
10.1 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douarskoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douarskoll

Property: Douarskoll
Address: Derb el Hammam, 66, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #442 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Douarskoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing