We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mahomed of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douarskoll

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Douarskoll
Ranked #424 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Byron Bay , Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mahomed of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed for a week in Douarskoll Guesthouse in early May. The location is excellent and we felt completely relaxed and comfortable in this traditional riad about 5 mins walk from Djemma El Fna.
For most of this time we were the only guests and received excellent assistance and warm friendship and advice from manager, Mahomed.
Mahomed cooked us a truly delicious tangia, arranged for my daughter and I to visit the local hamman and provided an excellent breakfast every morning and information about Marrakech. After some of our conversations ,we felt we'd received a real insight into the culture and politics of Morroco.
Being met and guided to the riad when we arrived was a definite plus and I would advise taking advantage of this excellent service.
We loved our week in Marrakesh and the experience was definitely heightened by staying with Mahomed at the Douarskoll.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    15
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

It was an absolute pleasure staying at the Douarskoll riad. Its location is perfectly placed a short walk from the central square, while still tucked within a quiet spot - essential for getting a restful break from the hustle & bustle of Marrakech.

Breakfast was complimentary and so were the invaluable services of Mohammed, who gave us helpful advice and charmed us with his kind and generous spirit. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Excellent value for money!

Another treat was the magical rooftop terrace, where we enjoyed retreating for a peaceful break. The view is beautiful and it's a wonderful spot to experience the call to prayer.

We can't wait to go back and would recommend this riad without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estefanouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Super nice riad and very friendly welcoming hospitality by the owners. The terasse is perfect for chill out on sunny days and the location is very close to Djema El Fna. Just a bit tucked away, so a bit complicated to find at first, but once you know it´s all good. Beautiful location and interesting interior design.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AishaAnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent location, traditional house and a great manager. What more could you ask for?
Mohammed was extremely helpful. I would 100% visit again!.

Get the top floor rooms! They are a bit more spacious! But the wifi is a bit slow up there.

By
Mahatir and Boys

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irfan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauroux, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Mohammad is the sweetest man, and he really takes personal care of all of his guests. There were three of us girls traveling, and he arranged for a woman to take us to the hammams for a traditional Moroccan bath. Also, he gave us directions and helped us plan our days. It was a five-minute walk to Place Jemaa el-Fna, & two minutes away from the souks. We had a spacious bedroom and private bathroom, all of which were extremely clean. And even though it was 105˚ outside, the building stayed cool because it's so well insulated! The area is super safe, too. Breakfast was delicious (and included), and for 100-120 dirham/person he will make you a traditional Moroccan dinner. Oh, and let's not forget about the rooftop terrace with a view of the entire city!!!

Next time I go to Marrakech, I'm definitely staying here again, and I'm telling my friends to do the same.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

-Mohamed was incredibly accommodating, making us a homemade dinner of Moroccan cuisine, showing us how to make the famous Moroccan mint tea, and teaching us about Moroccan culture and destinations.

-The location of the hostel is excellent, just a few minutes walk from the Jemaa el-Fnaa.

-The facilities are excellent, with plenty of maps and a rooftop terrace that overlooks the city.

-We definitely recommend staying at Douarskoll. The incredibly helpful staff will make your trip fulfilling and the location could hardly be more convenient. Look no further when booking a vacation in Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
4.2 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#103 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#137 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,571 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#50 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douarskoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douarskoll

Property: Douarskoll
Address: Derb el Hammam, 66, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #424 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Douarskoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing