We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Money missing from my wallet inside the room!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Douarskoll

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Douarskoll
Ranked #442 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
St Andrews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Money missing from my wallet inside the room!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The first day was great, the room is small and the toilet is outside but it has a shower and a sink and it was generally clean. The manager was initially very friendly but when I mentioned that some money was taken from my wallet which was inside the room he got very agitated saying that the room me and my mother stayed was the only room which they had only one key. When I asked where was the police he said they would laugh due to the fact that only 150 dirhams was missing (about £15). That despite being a small figure was enough for us to have a lovely lunch next day before leaving Marrakech. When I went to the police they took very seriously despite being a small amount. When I came back home the manager kept talking to the other guests about my complaint and how many wonderful reviews he has etc. We could hear the conversation from our room and it was very uncomfortable for us both. I went to the police and recommend any future guests that notice any amount of money missing from their wallet no matter how small to report it! To make matters worst I have been receiving messages from the manager on a daily basis. Even suggesting that maybe I did not had enough money to pay the room when I paid upfront when we arrived!!!! This is now borderline harassment. Needless to say his email is now on my spam folder!!! I do not recommend Douarskoll to anyone.

Room Tip: dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ingrid d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    15
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Douarskoll is a nice, nice place. Located just in the heart of the old city, it's a charming moroccan house, with friendly and helpful staff, a great terrace and a peaceful mood. Besides, it's not expensive and with some more Dirham you can get the wonderful big room on the third floor: ask for it! Maybe breakfast could be a little bit more satisfactory, anyway for us it was quite ok, it depends by you....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauro007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Just returned from Marrakech after staying in Douarskoll, had a lovely experience... It's a charming riad but pretty basic so don't expect tv's and hairdryers etc which was fine considering it's very good value! Excellent location, just 5 minutes walk to the main square, it is through lots of alleys but it is very safe and once you've done it a few times quite easy to remember.

The guesthouse sends you an email before you arrive to arrange a taxi for you for 15 Euros per cab one way, recommend this as it saves you the hassle of dealing with the taxis and getting ripped off! They will also have a guy whom will carry your luggage to the riad for a small charge, You can only access the riad on foot and from the taxi is under a 10 minute walk.

You will also receive an email for dinner for 12 Euros each which will be a home made meal cooked by Mohammed. You have to have this as it was the most aunthtic meal we had and the nicest tagine. Wasl really good food and you wont find anything like it outside.

Breakfast was different breads and Jam with tea/coffee... did the job.

Riads were comfy with amazing showers. Had a roof top terrace which was nice. Great if your just staying for a few days and just need a place to stay. It's small with only 4 rooms so quite in the day.. no reception etc. So if you need any info, make sure you speak to mohammed and catch him when you can,

Mohammed is lovely and helpful and the life and soul of the guesthouse. Nothing is ever to much trouble and it really makes your stay personal :-)

Lovely place to stay but quite basic :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seema p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Mohammed immediately made us welcome by showing us around and cooking an absolutely delicious meal for when we arrived. He gave us invaluable advice on the best things to do and see in Marrakech and made us feel perfectly at home. Throughout our stay he was always friendly and accommodating. This riad is stylishly designed and great value for money! We were in one of the two smaller rooms and quite honestly could not have asked for anything more from the room- good shower, warm at night, bedside lamp and comfy bed and pillows! The location is great- right in the middle of things but easy to find your way because its very close to one of the main souk streets- Rue Mouassine-which leads down to the main square. The view over Marrakech from the plant filled and relaxing terrace was spectacular-especially at sunset.
We had a truly amazing stay and I cannot fault the place. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

If you're looking for somewhere only a few minutes from the heart of the action in Marrakech that provides a tranquil base at a very reasonable price, I'd highly recommend Douarskoll. Mohammed, your host, will meet you from the taxi from the airport (best way of finding this Riad in the maze that is the Souk). He's very friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are a good size, breakfast was reasonable. Overall I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I traveled with two of my friends to Marrakech, and stayed with Mohamed at Douarskoll. First of all, make sure you get him to cook for you. It is endless and truly fantastic. It is in the Medina, but it's close to the Square so it's easy to find your way around after the first time through. The location is ideal. Make sure to get the Hamam as well, since it is an experience you'll won't forget soon. Honestly you can't go wrong here. - Robert.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

If you're looking for a riad that doesn't break the bank, this is easily the best choice. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable, and the roof terrace on top was a fantastic place to spend an evening. It was surprisingly quiet, even the local call to prayer at 6am didn't penetrate the Riad's walls. The location can't be beaten. Mohammad - the best host I've ever encountered - cooked us a great dinner on the first night, and also took us to the local hammam, which was a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#109 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#273 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
10.1 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douarskoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douarskoll

Property: Douarskoll
Address: Derb el Hammam, 66, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #442 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Douarskoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing