We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Theft” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Maryam

Dar Maryam
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Maryam
Ranked #482 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Theft”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

We booked this in advance, based upon the good rate and location.
First of all, it is impossible to find this riad, not with a gps, not even with a detailed map. We had a taxi driver drop us 'nearby' and asked a local who showed us the way (not nearby!) and then asked for a lot of money, which almost ended up in a fight.
We were welcomed by the owner, Thierry, a French guy who showed us our very small room, not at all what we booked. We booked the largest room, for 4 people, but it was 'not available'. The riad's common areas were nicely decorated,

I would like to emphasize the fact that the rooms' wooden doors have no keys, so you cannot lock them. There is no safe either. Needles to say, our money was stolen when we went for a hike and we especially stored it in the owner's office!
There was no hot water in the room.
Breakfast was just basic: coffee, , butter, juice, bread and jam.

The hotel is not too far from the main square of the medina, approx 10 minutes walk.
A lot of atmosphere and dinner options there, we were satisfied.

When we checked out, we were asked to pay more, even if everything was prepaid, we had a smaller room and no hot water and our money stolen!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuipQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
245 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2009

We pre-booked into this Riad. When we arived we were shown a room at the top of the terrace. It was nicely apointed. However after dragging our cases up the 3 steep flights of stairs there was no electricity and the room was freezing. The manager promised to get the heating fixed. This did not happen. He moved us to another room, this room had heating but no hot water. The room was so small that you could not get into the bed from the side you had to crawl over the bed from the bottom to get in. As it was freezing we decided to take the very small room with heating but with no hot water and climb the 2 flights to the top room to shower - this room had hot water but no heating. We stated we wished to move out - they promised to fix the problem--- this never happened.

The riad is not in the main area and it is quite a walk to the main atractions. For the money we paid you can stay at a much better place closer to the atractions, this is very expensive accomodation for mediocre value. By the third night we had enough and booked out early. Overvalued and NOT worth the money.

The owner (based in France) confirmed when we booked that we could pay via mastercard. When we booked out they insisted we pay cash.

The stay was a great disapointment.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — lack of comfort - overpaying
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

NRW
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

It´s been the first of 3 riads in marrakesch medina we got to know and it´s been the most personal and helpful one. While we´ve been there, it was Ramadan and we´ve been the only guests in this house.
It was very calm inside (except of the mosques, but those you will hear everywhere in the medina) and clean. Our room (Zaina) was pretty small (enough space for a double-bed and two big bags) and they offered us to change our reservation if we want to. The other rooms are bigger but we kept our.

The first evening we had dinner there and it was very delicious and more than enough! Even I had my best the a la menthe there at all!
The Patio is partly covered, so that we ate outside even while it was raining.

But there is one hint I have to give you: it´s pretty difficult to find if you search the riad for the first time and on your own. Then call the owner or ask an taxi driver.
We asked a guy on the street and he showed us, where we have to go but afterwards he wanted much more money then it was fair and wanted to guide us through the medina. He was really annoying and that can happen to you everywhere in Marocco!

This riad is very good, when you have an own car, because in a very short walk you have a parkingplace there.

  • Liked — helpfulness and friendlyness, food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosiNRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

Dar Maryam is a fantastic riad for a very reasonable price.
Less than 60 euros per night on May 2007.
It is only ten minutes walk from Djemma al fna.
The hosts Arnelle and Thierry are very helpful and welcoming.
You will not find a better riad in the medina of Marrakech.

  • Liked — The beautiful bedrooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alan1971Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Daria
Riad Daria
#225 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Karma
Riad Dar Karma
#172 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#38 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#55 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#37 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Maryam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maryam

Property: Dar Maryam
Address: 138, boutouil Bab Ailen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #482 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing