We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the medina”
Review of Riad Up

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Up
Ranked #400 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Ingaro
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An oasis in the medina”
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Just left after wonderfull stay at your lovely guesthouse.
Everything was beyond my expectations, such beautiful and well restored riad .
Elsa , you are the best !!! Not to speak of your lovely staff.
Every day was a delight , and the food I had was absolutely delicious.

Thank you again Elsa for making my stay unforgettable in Marrakech
Greatfully yours AA

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fniffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
51
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Riad W is cool, welcoming and has an amazing hostess. Riad W is 5 minutes away from the main square, in the right direction. It's the perfect base to explore Marrakech from, especially the Souk. Price is right and the rooms are cool; I'd go back in a flash. We had a great stay and another plus was the hammam we were directed to, Le Bain Bleu - check it out!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergisch Gladbach
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We went for a five day city trip to Marrakesh in March and made the Riad W our “home” for the entire duration.
The Riad is located in the very heart of Marrakesh only 5 minutes away from the famous plaza “Jemaa el Fna” but also very quite to have a good relax after our city tours.
We were very warm welcomed by the owner Elsa who introduced us to the team and showed us our room and the various locations in the Riad to take breakfast or just tea or just to enjoy some sun.
Our room are was perfectly clean and arranged tasteful – kind of “Zen-Style “ The bathroom was bright and everything was working perfect.
Breakfast was outstanding good (kind of continental) and we enjoyed every single morning preparing ourselves for another day of adventure in Marrakesh. The team was just gorgeous – very discrete but also present if needed. It was always a pleasure to come back after our excurses to the city.
One of the very outstanding aspects of our stay in Marrakesh was that the support of Elsa was just great! She knows Marrakesh very well and was willing to share all information with us so we didn’t made any bad experience concerning restaurants or shopping – it was just like already having a lot of experience in Marrakesh – thanks to all the good advices.
One night we were to tiered to go out for dinner and decided to eat in the Riad which was absolutely great! Very good traditional and regional food prepared fresh and served hot. To be honest, it was the best dinner we had during our hole stay in Marrakesh in a very romantic ambient.
This place is just a insider tip for everybody who doesn’t like the touristic mainstream but also appreciate a save and well equipped place to stay in a exotic city!
We are already planning our next trip to Marrakesh and of course we stuck to the Riad W – never change a winning team!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olli-Olli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights and were totall unimpressed. We paid 90€ per night, so every expensive for Marrakech and the hotel was not worth the money. There was no lock on the bedroom doors, no safe, no furniture whatsoever, the swimming pool was broken (which we were only told when we got there and not offered a discount) which was one of the main reasons we'd agreed to pay the premium as it gets hot in Marrakech. Upon check out the owner appeared, having not seen her since check in, and told us of all the great places to shop at, (she never told us any local info when we arrived and then we didnt see her) Instead the cleaner/cook who spoke no English or French (only arabic) was left trying to work out what we wanted, which was unsuccessful as no way to communicate. On payment she advised it was cash only, which at over 400€ was problematic but not apology, or solution offered, so I had a nightmare trying to get that money out from a cash machine in a busy public square with a daily limit of 300€!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whynot444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

This was our first time in Marrakech....and we couldn't ask to stay in such a nicer more friendlier place. My initially worry was being confronted by Rasheeda and Co (in hijabs) as we were 8 young(ish) guys on a short trip. However within minutes we all were chatting, mainly me as I was the only one able to speak french. Rasheeda was fantastic and extremely helpful when we required help for an incident that took place regrettably.

Riad W rooms were immaculately kept and cleaned on a daily basis. Breakfasts were impressive from fresh fruit to indian parathe. We filled our bellies well........

These kind ladies even ironed our clothes for us when required....tell me where you can find this kind of service. I had 4 blissful days in this Riad and was pretty upset when leaving as I could've stayed there lot longer....

Only little and minor irritation was the lack of a television for those nights where you didn't want to leave the comforts of your room...

Overall a great experience with great memories of this place.....

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TikoV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2010

I recently visit Marrakech with my two sons. As Asians who have never visit Africa before, it was quite an experience to have a totally different cuisine, language, culture and surroundings. Elsa, the owner and her excellent staff, certainly help us settle down with much ease. We felt more like a house guest than paying customers. Not only have they taken very good care of us for our stay at the Riad W, Elsa has also helped us plan our various sight seeing activities and gave us good assistance for shopping. Can you believe that Elsa was able to help me retrieve my camera which was left in a restaurant in a mountain which is a two hours drive away from the city? This has of course much to do with the fact that Elsa must be well respected in the service industry in Marrakech. It is comforting to return to the Riad W after a full day of outing to the home cooking of Fattyma the chef who treats us like family. True hospitality is not something that can easily be paid for as it has to come from the heart and this is what you found at Riad W. I'm glad it also provides a good experience for my son who is studying Hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMWHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2010

A hidden oasis in the middle of bustling Marrakech. Elsa is amazing and everything is so well done, from the beautiful decor to the home made baked goods each morning. Loved everything about our stay here. Reasonably priced as well. Only a few rooms though, so book ahead.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slummy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#50 of 500 in Marrakech
944 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#25 of 500 in Marrakech
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#37 of 500 in Marrakech
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#18 of 500 in Marrakech
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Up

Property: Riad Up
Address: Derb Boutouil no 41 | Kennaria- Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Up 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Up reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad w Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing