We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Marvelous place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Up

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Up
Ranked #383 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Marvelous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

After being picked up at the airport we, five young women, arrived at a small square. The Riad was hidden behind several small streets. When the small wooden door was opened it felt like a serene place, so quit and peaceful. We where happily surprised with the clean rooms and tasteful decorated place in the center of the Riad. After a day in the city this Riad enables the feeling of getting home when you're not at home :) The dipping pool is very refreshing and the roof has comfortable sun beds! Last but not least we definitely are most enthusiastic about the hostess Elsa. Ready to give all kinds of information (and calls/reservations) to make your stay in Marrakech as good as can be.

We would like to advise you to go to Riad Wo and enjoy!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
47
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Our short one-night stay was memorable as we were treated with Elsa's lovely hospitality. Our room was big, clean and very beautifully decorated. Elsa's breakfast (which she cooked herself) was fresh and delicious. Of her riads we stayed at, we enjoyed the Riad WO the best.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TLovesTForeve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our family of four (two girls 9 and 6 who loved the plunge pool) stayed 3 nights. Ever-smiling manageress Hayet bent over backwards to ensure our stay was perfect - escorting us through the streets when necessary, double-checking our children's food allergies etc. Welcoming, clean, funky and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
150 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The "streets" of Marrakech can be a bit confusing, what with the mix of motorbikes, donkey carts, vendors and alleys. So the only real complaint I had about the riad was the fact that it has multiple names, is in different places according to different online maps, etc.

So here's the deal: if you get driven there, there's a short alley walk to the riad from a "main" road. That road is pretty easy to find, particularly since there's a lot of signs around Marrakech that will guide you to "Pepe Nero", an Italian restaurant that's 300 feet from the riad, but just off that road. (If you are reading this, you probably can't read a lot of Marrakech street signs). Why riad W doesn't offer you a map with this advice is beyond me, perhaps they think it's an essential learning experience.

But the shorter way to the main souks, etc involves multiple turns on twisty alleys and streets, and this is what the hostess showed us. I'm sure her heart was in the right place, but I was dreading the return without her guidance. We lucked out and actually ran into her in an alley on the way back, and got the last few turns.

Inside the riad's 4 by 5 foot door is a remarkable oasis from the dusty streets, and bustle. A courtyard, dinning room, sitting space are available. The rooms are nicely sized, the WIFI works, and the food is competent, either for the included breakfast or they will do dinner if you want. Our dinner was appetizers and the ubiquitous tangine. Satisfying. Wine available.

So if you are going to Marrakech, this is a great place to stay. And it's much more fun to get lost in the alleys and souks if you know you can get unlost, or it least it was for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svnr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely riad

Interior: clean aesthetic, white washed walls, modern finish whilst maintaining traditional/rustic features. Have stayed in 3 different rooms-all great.

Communal areas: spacious courtyard w plungepool, cool living/dining area, awesome roof terrace with views of medina

Food: cute, healthy breakfast which is especially good as you can have it whenever you like, literally 1pm is fine.

Dinner is just brilliant-Fati is an excellent cook and the 3 course meals are a treat-I literally ate there everyday for the past week

Location: less than 10 mins walk from the square and importantly for me, near a taxi drop off point (less than a minute) which is nice after a night out when you know you won't need to traipse around the medina to get home. Good for those with limited mobility too.

Elsa: the owner is so lovely and is unbelievably helpful and kind.
Example - I first came here 5 years ago with my dad. He had an eye emergency and she got us into a taxi and sent us to a reputable ophthalmologist ASAP. She is trustworthy and helps with the little things which make all the difference (calling around spas, organising cars/taxis, showing you around etc)


Safety: I felt safe here as a solo female traveller;
-Elsa and her two female staff are lovely.
-The riad is near a taxi drop off point.
-The area is good.


Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank maidinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed for a weekend at the Riad. What an amazing beautiful place. I was staying with a friend but we had separate rooms joined by our own little terrace. Our welcome from Elsa was fabulous, the staff were all lovely and very helpful. The rooms were stunning and the breakfasts on the roof were perfect. It's a great location, close to everything.

I highly recommend staying here and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I just spent 10 days at Riad W and loved it.

The place is 3 mn walk for Jemma El Fna and is extremely quiet, modern contemporary style with a Moroccan twist of the best taste.

Elsa the owner will make you feel home and recommend you the best place to visit and try.
Thus Fatty, Hyatt & fatima the three ladies of the house are top notch chef, we had 5 dinner in the private dining room . . . You tell them what you like and there you go

THE VERY GOOD
Elsa and her Team
Tootsie the friendly Purring Cat
the location
the Food
breakfast changing daily
the ambiance
the amenities shampoo & body wash from Les Sens de Marrakesh
the orange flower scented soap

THE GOOD
Internet ~ could be slow sometimes

THINGS TO DO WHILE THERE
Shop at Ward La Mouche for funky designer clothes ~ Ladies & Gents
At nature home you will find some great affordable argan oil, orange flower spray ... everywhere else its is much more $$$
Go for Lunch on the terrace at Foundouk
Get out of town one day and relax at Le Beldy country club
Wake up at 5 am and see the sunrise from a balloon

I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luxous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#69 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#23 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#75 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#50 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Up

Property: Riad Up
Address: Derb Boutouil no 41 | Kennaria- Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Up 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Up reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad w Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing