We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!!”
Review of Le jardin d'Abdou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le jardin d'Abdou
Ranked #105 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I had travelled to Marrakech with my other half for my birthday and decided to stay at Le Jardin D'bdou after a while of researching different riads. It was amazing! The service is excellent and we particularly liked one employee I think called Raheem? I feel terrible for not remembering his name properly but he was very hospitable and friendly. He was who had first greeted us at our arrival and also attended to us throughout our stay.

Breakfast ran from 7 or 7.30AM to 10.30AM which was great for us because we liked to have a little lie in before we started our day. It was never delayed, as soon as we went downstairs, Raheem would sort out our breakfast within seconds (which was also nice for us and contained pancakes, donuts, coffee, tea, freshly squeezed orange juice, combination of jams, baguettes and butter cubes).

We arranged our own excursions (quad biking and camel riding) where we had a problem with the transfer for camel riding. As we do not speak arabic or french (which is practically their second language), we needed him to speak to the manager of the excursion company on the phone for us and again, within seconds he had it sorted and we were off on our trip in 5minutes. On top of all that, we had bumped into him while he was off duty and he was STILL so welcoming and asked if we needed any help or assistance.

Our room was beautiful, very clean and private as we had it on the first floor (not ground floor). It was cleaned and tidied every day, so once we got back to our hotel room at night, everything had been tidied for us with our clothes and even under garments folded! The ensuite consisted of a HUGE bathtub with a shower, sink, extra table with hairdryer, toilet with a little shower to clean your bottom with and 2 mirrors. Everything was clean, and cleaned on a daily basis too with the lovely smelling soap replaced each day.

The roof terrace was lovely, not much of a view for people who want breath-taking views BUT we enjoyed the fact that it relfected real Marrakech and the day-to-day living of Moroccans. The English spoken there is definetely not as fluent as their French but still good enough to be able to communicate without problems. The only real con we had at our stay was when we arrived to the hotel after a long day of sightseeing at about 1:15AM and no one had come to open the door for at least 15 minutes. It did get me quite annoyed as I had blisters on the bottom of my feet and I just wanted to get into bed! We were knocking and ringing the bell for a while but once the night employee had opened the door, he was very apologetic and also apologised the next day. I would suggest you let them know whether you'll be that late or not before you leave for your day out. They also provided us with a free map and gave us instructions to the main square (Jemaa el Fnaa) plus their business card in case we needed to call them for anything which was really helpful.

Overall, It was such a lovely place to stay, very true to pictures and is just worth every penny! The walk to the main square took us a maximum of 15minutes and can be quite confusing at first but is completely fine after you know the route. Anyway, would 100% recommend this Riad and hope whoever books there has just as great an experience we did!!

p.s The call to prayer was not loud enough to wake any of us up and I dont personally find it a problem unless your a VERY light sleeper.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCIRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Le jardin d'Abdou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 295 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

When the door to the Riad opened, we walked in and the smell of the oil burner was amazing. We went into the courtyard and looked around and the building was beautiful. We were 15 girls on holiday and had exclusively booked the Riad for 4 days. The staff were exceptional, always there to get food or drink and the maids went in the rooms every day to tidy up and make the beds. The whole place was so clean and well kept. We ate in 2 nights, it was 20 euros each for a 3 course meal and it was delicious. The walk to the souk took us about 30 mins but that was because we stopped in shops all the way there, it would probably take approx 15 mins usually. The little shop opposite the door to the Riad was so cheap we bought all of our snacks and mixers in there. We ordered our taxis from the manager at the Riad and they were very cheap. The weather was glorious 38-42 degrees! The only negative was that there were only 6 sunbeds for 15 girls, but the staff did find some lounge chairs and brought them up. Would definitely go back there again

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent, as we had the Riad to ourselves I went in most of them and all were...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackky98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at Le Jardin d'Abdou for 3 nights. Our room was comfortable and spacious - including a large king size bed. The breakfast was also plentiful with bread, pancakes, fresh juice, tea, coffee etc - although we did crave some fresh fruit at breakfast. There was also a roof terrace with sun loungers, so we spent a few hours soaking up some sun (don't expect much of a view though, it's not pretty!).

On the downside, we found the location wasn't great - it's right on the edge of the Medina, about a 15 minute walk into the main square (with not much to see along the way). We also found the staff at the Riad to be rather unhelpful, and didn't offer any advice about Marrakesh. We had done our own research but it would have been nice to be offered some suggestions, a map and advice about taxis etc. And the only other downside was the shower, very weak pressure & the hot water temperamental.

We probably wouldn't stay here again or visit Marrakesh again but glad we did it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misskmtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent two nights in the Riad and enjoyed it very much: The rooms were gorgeous and comfortable, the staff was really helpful and friendly and the spacious bright courtyard and roof terrace really invited to relax and spend many hours there.

Many many reasons to stay at that riad, but only one small disadvantage: the location. It is true that the riad is located within the city wall of the old medina. Anyway you need about 20 minutes to get to the main square. There is not much to see or to do close to the riad (we didn't find a coffee or a nice restaurant close by), anyway it is also very untouristy and original which makes this place special, because it is a bit off the touristy areas. Anyway it is a safe area and we didn't feel uncomfortable at all walking home to the riad in the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Spacious rooms, with authentic Moroccan design and furniture. Service is very careful and super helpful. The riad has a small pool in the middle and rooftop terrace. Dinner there was very good and is a recommended experience (the best we had in whole Marrakech). They arrange transfer from and to the airport. We were very satisfied and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAlberto041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff here and so friendly and you get the feeling nothing is too much trouble. A little peaceful haven amidst the hubbub of Marrakech. The rooms are clean, the food is good, the Moroccan wine is quaffable. Would definitely recommend this B&B.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TEllieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked a room for myself, my husband and our 11-month old baby and were really looking forward to it. From the outset, communication was terrible - trying to book a transfer and confirm that our room would have a cot in it was a nightmare. We had got an official-looking email confirmation when we booked but given how flaky they obviously are we decided to confirm the booking a week before our arrival in Marrakech. They didn't reply to my emails, and it was only when my husband called (3 days before leaving for Marrakech) that he was told that they had double-booked the room. I then received an email from them with a different story - that they could not honour the reservation because of a flea infestation. It was pretty obvious that they'd just accepted a booking for more nights than our 3-night booking. Rubbish service, rubbish communication. Avoid!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank NatashaF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Ammonites
Riad Les Ammonites
#232 of 502 in Marrakech
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#186 of 502 in Marrakech
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Ilayka
Riad Ilayka
#103 of 502 in Marrakech
247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#12 of 1,160 in Marrakech
437 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Wow
Riad Wow
#199 of 1,160 in Marrakech
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le jardin d'Abdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le jardin d'Abdou

Address: 2 et 3 Derb Makina Arset Bel Baraka Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $51 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le jardin d'Abdou 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Le jardin d'Abdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing