We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic find in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le jardin d'Abdou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le jardin d'Abdou
Ranked #119 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic find in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at Riad Le Jardin d'Abdou for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful both at reception and the restaurant. The rooms were very nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The Riad was truly beautiful and the small pool was great for escaping from the heat.

We also liked the location which is a 15 minute walk from the main square. It's a quiet residential area and gives an insight to the real Marrakech. It's very safe and the shop across the road is run by the friendliest shop keeper I've ever met.

Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairW86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    56
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
135
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a beautiful Riad, very authentic, calming, clean and served fantastic food (I definitely recommend upgrading to half board for the minimum 3 days as we did). The staff were welcoming and friendly but their English was not great and perhaps they were a little laid back for my liking at times (for example, I arranged an excursion with them prior to my arrival but despite having emailed responses, no one seemed to know an awful lot about it but it was sorted in the end - perhaps I need to chill more lol).

It's location for me was not great. Despite its obvious beauty, it's not situated in the nicest part of the Medina; the area is very run down and a bit intimidating, we were a little alarmed when our transfer dropped us off, we were like "really, are you sure this is the right place?" but our fears vanished when the doors opened to reveal the splendour inside .

It's probably a good 10 minute taxi ride from the main souks at Djemaa el-Fna, but the taxi drivers we used coming back late from the souks often could not find it which proved a stressful experience when going around in circles with a driver who speaks no English. We could have walked but to be honest we didn't really feel safe doing so.

Saying that though, the Riad is 20 mins from the airport and as long as you get taxi's everywhere it is truly a beautiful Riad with lovely staff.

Room Tip: If you can, request a room not adjoining the court yard - Our room was lovely but we would have pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onofrio_SSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Here is a chic structure in every corner! The customer care is visible not only in the choice of linen, in the color combinations, but also in the attention that is paid to every single guest.
In short, a real gem of hospitality, perfumes, and atmosphere...
Pretty close to the city center and the Jamal Square.

Room Tip: Best to book a room on the top floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOSTINTOWN-Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here upon arriving back from a desert tour.

It was a nice riad but I would say that it is quite expensive for what you get.

Nevertheless, I should mention that it is a beautiful riad and the rooms were very nice with well equipped bathrooms.

The location isn't the problem that others make it out to be as it is in a fairly peaceful part of town but only a 15 minute walk to the centre which is not nearly as daunting to negotiate at night as walking around some parts of the UK at night.

The staff were pleasant and hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnydeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved this riad. It is a bit far out of the medina, and therefore quite a walk, but once you're in you'll love it! The service was excellent, the room outstanding and very clean. The swimmingpool is not worth mentioning; really small. The rooftop terrace was wonderful, we could even get our breakfast served there. We very much enjoyed our stay, thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms have very high standards, as is the personnel, at a very reasonable price for a hotel in the center of the Medina.
The fact that the Hotel is slightly on the side of the busy Place makes it a very relaxing place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chem84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is absolutely truth, i went to check in with my girl friend , but they refused to let us check in same room and asked us to show Proof of Marriage. I couldn't believe my years , they offered us to pay for one more room and want to force us to sleep in two separate rooms.In the end we had to move to a different Hotel. My advice to all married couples is ..stay away from this Hotel. They wont let us spend 10mins together in same room alone, i thought i am in Afghanistan. It has very very very strict and conservative management.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#139 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Villa Nomade
La Villa Nomade
#129 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Al Assala Medina
Riad Al Assala Medina
#211 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#99 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
#313 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#24 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le jardin d'Abdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le jardin d'Abdou

Property: Le jardin d'Abdou
Address: 2 et 3 Derb Makina Arset Bel Baraka Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le jardin d'Abdou 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Le jardin d'Abdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing