We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good price/quality ratio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le jardin d'Abdou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le jardin d'Abdou
Ranked #126 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good price/quality ratio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms have very high standards, as is the personnel, at a very reasonable price for a hotel in the center of the Medina.
The fact that the Hotel is slightly on the side of the busy Place makes it a very relaxing place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chem84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    57
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
22
143
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is absolutely truth, i went to check in with my girl friend , but they refused to let us check in same room and asked us to show Proof of Marriage. I couldn't believe my years , they offered us to pay for one more room and want to force us to sleep in two separate rooms.In the end we had to move to a different Hotel. My advice to all married couples is ..stay away from this Hotel. They wont let us spend 10mins together in same room alone, i thought i am in Afghanistan. It has very very very strict and conservative management.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Le Jardin d'Abdou for three nights during our visit to Marrakech. The riad is both beautiful and totally relaxing. On arrival we were given a tour of the riad, shown where we could relax and sunbath and was given some traditional mint tea on the roof terrace whilst we waited for our room to be prepared.

Once we had settled into our room we decided to head into the main square Jemma Le Fna and was given great directions and advice from Abdel, who mostly served us during our stay. The walk into the square is about 20 minutes, but along the way there are shops to browse and you get a taste for the more day-to-day living in Marrakech.

Dinner at the riad is a MUST! We ate here on our second night and were totally amazed by the food. We had the briwates for starters, a lamb tagine which fell apart in the mouth and poached pears for dessert. After dinner we drunk Casablanca beers by the pool (all drinks come served with warm popcorn and olives, which is a lovely addition) and chatted with the other riad guests. No ask was too much for staff, even when another guest dropped a CD in the pool after a few drinks, they were very helpful in getting out and laughing along.

Our room was lovely and well equipped, especially the air conditioning after a long day walking around Marrakech. The bed was very large and comfortable and the noise from the street wasn't too much, which we would imagine it to be if we had stayed closer to the square.

Overall, this was an amazing place to stay and a total oasis from the busy streets of Marrakech. The staff were incredibly helpful, especially Abdel who helped us navigate around the city and taught us about the local culture.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Riad Jardin d' Abdou is a haven of peace after a day of sightseeing in Marrakech. It is located in a slightly remote place in the Medina, which is both an advantage and a slight inconvenience. The distinct advantage is the ability to relax the senses before facing the crowded streets of the Medina and having quiet surroundings. The slight downside is the 20 minutes walk to the center, part throught a little welcoming street. Also, if after a day of sightseeing and back to the Riad, you want to go out again, the prospect of walking can be daunting. But the staff at Riad recommend a taxi company inexpensive and reliable (you dont have to bargain pricing).
The Riad itself is simply decorated but in a very refined Moroccan style (wood, tadelak, ...). Everything is very well kept, like new, very clean and very well maintained. Rooms are large and bedding very good. The patio is large and comfortable to have some rest, as is the roof terrace, equipped with sun loungers and a tent for shelter.
The breakfast is excellent. It is possible to dine in the evening, but you must book no later than the morning and the prices are a bit high. That said, the food is delicious.
Finally, the staff is very professional, courteous and friendly. We were mainly served by Abdel and Younes , but this is true for the rest of the staff.

A place not to be missed during your stay in this city!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gt2638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

My friend and I (2 husbands leaving the wives in peace at home) chose this riad as a base for a week's break in Marrakesh, needing somewhere to rehearse our music. Everything about the riad is excellent: Abdel and Jonas in particular warrant praise for their constant attention; they were polite and friendly and tolerant of our noise!
We pre-booked an evening meal for the day of our arrival and were so impressed with the food that we ate there on two other evenings. But note that meals must be pre-booked as the riad is not primarily a restaurant. Also note that they do serve (good local Moroccan) wine and beer.
Reception will book a taxi into the central square, Jamma el Fna, at a cost of 30 - 40 dihram, which is about £3 Tip: make sure you carry one of the Riad's business cards to show drivers for the return journey, as they don't seem to know the riad by name. Alternatively, return on foot: 20 - 30 minutes through various bustling and quiet streets.
(A taxi to the airport was 75 dihram.)
Thanks Abdel, Laetitia and team for a memorable experience.

Room Tip: For any room, an MP3 player and headphones is a useful aid to shut out the 5 am call to prayer and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strumplucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay at Riad Jardin d'abdou after reading all the glorious review in here. We spent our last 2 last night in Marrakech in this Riad and it was a pleasant experience.

Upon our arrival, Yunus who guarded the reception welcomed us. He is funny and friendly. The check in process was fast, follow with a welcome mint tea as well as traditional cookies as complimentary refreshment. We decided to went out for dinner at Jemaa el Fna and Yunus gave us a map as well as great suggestion on the best way to go there and back.

The room is quite spacious and very clean. The bathroom is not too small either and we love the traditional black wax soap in the bath tub. On our last night, we asked Yunus to show us how to make Moroccan mint tea. He took us to the kitchen and happily show us the entire process. He is a real pleasure to have around the Riad and he speaks fluent English too.

Though breakfast might not be the place key strength, however it was decent and proper. The overall experience was really good and definitely value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place was amazing, outstanding, magnificent! The staff is is very friendly and the riad is very clean.

We enjoyed breakfast whenever we wanted and the staff was keen to offer tea and biscuits whenever we wanted,

It literally feels like home since it only has 8 rooms, a "living room" and an indoor garden. Beautiful place that is 15 min away from the main square of the city (Fna) !

On the downside, the wifi was not very good and the hot water runs out after half an hour.

Generally speaking it is great value for money.

Room Tip: You will have a better chance to access the wifi if you get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVANGELIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#161 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#63 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#91 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#113 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
#299 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalouse
Riad Andalouse
#335 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le jardin d'Abdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le jardin d'Abdou

Property: Le jardin d'Abdou
Address: 2 et 3 Derb Makina Arset Bel Baraka Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le jardin d'Abdou 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Le jardin d'Abdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing