We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing two days in Riad Le Jardin d'Abdou!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le jardin d'Abdou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le jardin d'Abdou
Ranked #139 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing two days in Riad Le Jardin d'Abdou!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Everything is perfect and as you can see in the pictures! Extremelly quiet and so well treated. The staff is super attentive and nice. Definitely my choice if I go back to Marrakech.

It is normal to be a bit worried about the neighborhood, I think it is part of the initial shock, in fact as you will feel in the whole city .Despite the almost 2km walk until the city center (Jamaa El Fna Square) we didnt have any problems. The neighborhood turned out to be very calm and safe

Room Tip: I think the 1st floor rooms are better than the ground ones. The ones in the ground are too exposed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    56
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
22
135
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have just finished our "mini holidays" in Marakech and have to admit that staying at Le Jardin d'Abdou has contributed a lot to our satisfaction. We have been very much enjoying our stay there - staff is very friendly and helpfull, the breakfast was very nice with traditional touch (french style), location is very good & close to Jeema. This hotel gives you a feeling you belong to Marakech. If you want stay at Medina area we do recomend this hotel - you can very easily walk everywhere if you wish.... enjoy your stay :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have just finished a 5 night stay and we are delighted that we chose it. Once you enter the door to the Riad all the hustle and bustle of the Medina disappears you enter a cool traqil atmosphere. The rooms are charming and the beds vey comfortable. Excellent air conditioning. Staff extremely helpful. It is located on the edge of the Medina which leaves either a 20 min walk into the centre, quite a challege in the heat or a taxi ride. Which depending on your negotiating skills can range from 20-100 Dirhams.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Excelent Riad...very nice staff in a 15min walking from the center! Not expensive and the food is marvelous!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NunoMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We (two girlfriends) stayed in this riad at the outskirts of the medina. It is no doubt the cleanest, calmest, friendliest place we've ever stayed in. The staff and the driver who picked us up from the airport were extremely friendly. Breakfast was very basic: sweet pancakes with jam every day (with heavenly freshly-squeezed orange juice). Having said that, outside of this little haven, we felt constantly harrassed, cheated, pushed, insulted by the people of this beautiful and clean city. Temperatures were around 35° Celsius in mid May 2012 and we got so tired of constantly having to "fight" our way through the heat of this crazy city. I guess Marrakech could have been nice if we had taken a local (real!) guide as protection. As it was, we were happy to leave after 4 days and we will not be back. Everything seems to be geared to trap the "wealthy" tourist: henna tattoos last 2 days (instead of the promissed 2 weeks), food is expensive and very average (I've eaten much tastier Moroccan food in Antwerp), people ask money for everything (pointing 1 finger: "there's place Jemaa al Fna; give me money, I showed you the way" and insult you when you refuse to buy "you are a bad lady; you don't buy bracelet) etc etc. As a goodbye gift we got an hour-long queue with unfriendly staff at Marrakech airport and when we arrived at Eindhoven airport all the locks of our suitcases appeared to have been forced open/broken (although they had a special international safety lock which allows customs and police to open them without damage). It's the first time in 30 years of traveling that anything like this happened to us. And it is a real shame because Marrakech is a beautiful city; it's just a pity it is full of people trying to cheat you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor may be a bit noisier since you may hear guests chatting on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flanders59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Riad Le Jardin D'Abdou was a fantastic start to our honeymoon. Marrakech itself was perhaps not the romantic gem we had read about from some accounts but was a great place to experience. Its main feature is the large, manic Place Jemma Al Fna, packed with tourists, and locals vying for their money. It, and the maze of surrounding souks, is hot, noisy and crammed, but the Riad reflects none of this.
Whilst its location is not ideal (it is a 20min walk to the Place), this makes it a cool, near-silent haven, just what you need after a day of wandering. The small pool is lovely and cleaned daily.
The room was beautiful, laid out with rose petals everywhere on our arrival, spotless and cleaned daily. Finally, although we did not meet the owners, Abdel and Zacharia looked after us extremely well and there is nothing they wouldn't help with!
Merci beaucoup

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nootrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have just come back from a four night family stay in Jardin D'Abdou. The rooms were beautifully decorated in traditional style with tadelact walls and locally crafted fittings. We arrived in the early evening to a welcoming mint tea and a wonderfully cooked dinner of chicken tagine. The riad is on the far side of the medina from the main sights but it is a fifteen minute walk through the maze of streets or a 100 riad ride back in a large taxi for four.
The main courtyard had palm trees and a small pool to relax in which gave a very calm feeling to the hotel. There were also sofas under a canopy and sunbeds on the roof terrace where you could sit and read or sunbathe with the noises of the city drifting up and a view over the minarets and satellite dishes to the Atlas mountains.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank choppiedoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#139 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Villa Nomade
La Villa Nomade
#132 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#107 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Al Assala Medina
Riad Al Assala Medina
#210 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
#315 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Lena & SPA
Riad Lena & SPA
#159 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le jardin d'Abdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le jardin d'Abdou

Property: Le jardin d'Abdou
Address: 2 et 3 Derb Makina Arset Bel Baraka Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le jardin d'Abdou 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Le jardin d'Abdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing