We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable & Relaxing stay in Medina”
Review of Le jardin d'Abdou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le jardin d'Abdou
Ranked #104 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have just finished our "mini holidays" in Marakech and have to admit that staying at Le Jardin d'Abdou has contributed a lot to our satisfaction. We have been very much enjoying our stay there - staff is very friendly and helpfull, the breakfast was very nice with traditional touch (french style), location is very good & close to Jeema. This hotel gives you a feeling you belong to Marakech. If you want stay at Medina area we do recomend this hotel - you can very easily walk everywhere if you wish.... enjoy your stay :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Le jardin d'Abdou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 295 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have just finished a 5 night stay and we are delighted that we chose it. Once you enter the door to the Riad all the hustle and bustle of the Medina disappears you enter a cool traqil atmosphere. The rooms are charming and the beds vey comfortable. Excellent air conditioning. Staff extremely helpful. It is located on the edge of the Medina which leaves either a 20 min walk into the centre, quite a challege in the heat or a taxi ride. Which depending on your negotiating skills can range from 20-100 Dirhams.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Excelent Riad...very nice staff in a 15min walking from the center! Not expensive and the food is marvelous!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NunoMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We (two girlfriends) stayed in this riad at the outskirts of the medina. It is no doubt the cleanest, calmest, friendliest place we've ever stayed in. The staff and the driver who picked us up from the airport were extremely friendly. Breakfast was very basic: sweet pancakes with jam every day (with heavenly freshly-squeezed orange juice). Having said that, outside of this little haven, we felt constantly harrassed, cheated, pushed, insulted by the people of this beautiful and clean city. Temperatures were around 35° Celsius in mid May 2012 and we got so tired of constantly having to "fight" our way through the heat of this crazy city. I guess Marrakech could have been nice if we had taken a local (real!) guide as protection. As it was, we were happy to leave after 4 days and we will not be back. Everything seems to be geared to trap the "wealthy" tourist: henna tattoos last 2 days (instead of the promissed 2 weeks), food is expensive and very average (I've eaten much tastier Moroccan food in Antwerp), people ask money for everything (pointing 1 finger: "there's place Jemaa al Fna; give me money, I showed you the way" and insult you when you refuse to buy "you are a bad lady; you don't buy bracelet) etc etc. As a goodbye gift we got an hour-long queue with unfriendly staff at Marrakech airport and when we arrived at Eindhoven airport all the locks of our suitcases appeared to have been forced open/broken (although they had a special international safety lock which allows customs and police to open them without damage). It's the first time in 30 years of traveling that anything like this happened to us. And it is a real shame because Marrakech is a beautiful city; it's just a pity it is full of people trying to cheat you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor may be a bit noisier since you may hear guests chatting on the patio.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flanders59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Riad Le Jardin D'Abdou was a fantastic start to our honeymoon. Marrakech itself was perhaps not the romantic gem we had read about from some accounts but was a great place to experience. Its main feature is the large, manic Place Jemma Al Fna, packed with tourists, and locals vying for their money. It, and the maze of surrounding souks, is hot, noisy and crammed, but the Riad reflects none of this.
Whilst its location is not ideal (it is a 20min walk to the Place), this makes it a cool, near-silent haven, just what you need after a day of wandering. The small pool is lovely and cleaned daily.
The room was beautiful, laid out with rose petals everywhere on our arrival, spotless and cleaned daily. Finally, although we did not meet the owners, Abdel and Zacharia looked after us extremely well and there is nothing they wouldn't help with!
Merci beaucoup

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nootrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have just come back from a four night family stay in Jardin D'Abdou. The rooms were beautifully decorated in traditional style with tadelact walls and locally crafted fittings. We arrived in the early evening to a welcoming mint tea and a wonderfully cooked dinner of chicken tagine. The riad is on the far side of the medina from the main sights but it is a fifteen minute walk through the maze of streets or a 100 riad ride back in a large taxi for four.
The main courtyard had palm trees and a small pool to relax in which gave a very calm feeling to the hotel. There were also sofas under a canopy and sunbeds on the roof terrace where you could sit and read or sunbathe with the noises of the city drifting up and a view over the minarets and satellite dishes to the Atlas mountains.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank choppiedoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We stayed at the Jardin D'Abdou riad for 4 nights and the whole experience was a mild disappointment.

However, on the positive side the riad is lovingly renovated, nothing excessive, but very tasteful and in the traditional style. The rooms are beautiful, perfectly clean and very well equipped, which really was very important for us.
At the same time, the location is slightly inconvenient, as it is just a little too far from the center and all the sights. So in the afternoon, when most sights get shut for a couple of hours, it not really possible to get back to the riad for some rest or lunch. We left in the morning and only came back to sleep at night.

Speaking of rest: we booked a room with a window to the small side street, but it turned out to be a mistake, as the closed windows don't really block the noise in the least, and with the scooters and people going on till really late hours, it can get frustrating when you're tired and desperately trying to get some sleep.
So if you do book a stay in the riad, I'd suggest a room that only has windows facing the patio - it is mentioned on the website, so you can choose the room you prefer.

We also asked the riad in advance to help us with arranging the airport transfer on arrival to avoid getting overcharged and hassled by the taxis at the airport. It seemed to be no problem, and we got an email confirmation that the taxi would be waiting for us and it would cost us 120 Dirhams (about 11 Euro). When we arrived, the taxi was a little late, but arrived eventually and we were taken safely to the hotel. At which point the driver quoted a price of 230 Dirhams, which is almost double of what we agreed on. The hotel host meeting us said he knew nothing about the email and the price we were given there, and that we had to pay what the driver said. As our flight was delayed and we arrived in the evening instead of the late afternoon as expected, we know there is a common 50% extra charge for evening transfers, but it would still make 180 and not 230. All of this is by far not a lot of money to worry about, but the attitude did give us an unpleasant feeling, spoiling the rest of the stay.

Going to Marrakesh you do expect hassling in the streets and shops, and it is fun in a way, but you hope to find a place to stay where you can rest from all that hassle and be treated like a human being and a guest, not a walking wallet, where the hosts try to help you and not look for ways to rip you off.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Ammonites
Riad Les Ammonites
#222 of 502 in Marrakech
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#184 of 502 in Marrakech
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Ilayka
Riad Ilayka
#97 of 502 in Marrakech
247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#13 of 1,160 in Marrakech
437 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Wow
Riad Wow
#201 of 1,160 in Marrakech
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le jardin d'Abdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le jardin d'Abdou

Address: 2 et 3 Derb Makina Arset Bel Baraka Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $52 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le jardin d'Abdou 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le jardin d'Abdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing