We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly oasis in a "war zone" called Marrakech”
Review of Le jardin d'Abdou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le jardin d'Abdou
Ranked #129 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Friendly oasis in a "war zone" called Marrakech”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We (two girlfriends) stayed in this riad at the outskirts of the medina. It is no doubt the cleanest, calmest, friendliest place we've ever stayed in. The staff and the driver who picked us up from the airport were extremely friendly. Breakfast was very basic: sweet pancakes with jam every day (with heavenly freshly-squeezed orange juice). Having said that, outside of this little haven, we felt constantly harrassed, cheated, pushed, insulted by the people of this beautiful and clean city. Temperatures were around 35° Celsius in mid May 2012 and we got so tired of constantly having to "fight" our way through the heat of this crazy city. I guess Marrakech could have been nice if we had taken a local (real!) guide as protection. As it was, we were happy to leave after 4 days and we will not be back. Everything seems to be geared to trap the "wealthy" tourist: henna tattoos last 2 days (instead of the promissed 2 weeks), food is expensive and very average (I've eaten much tastier Moroccan food in Antwerp), people ask money for everything (pointing 1 finger: "there's place Jemaa al Fna; give me money, I showed you the way" and insult you when you refuse to buy "you are a bad lady; you don't buy bracelet) etc etc. As a goodbye gift we got an hour-long queue with unfriendly staff at Marrakech airport and when we arrived at Eindhoven airport all the locks of our suitcases appeared to have been forced open/broken (although they had a special international safety lock which allows customs and police to open them without damage). It's the first time in 30 years of traveling that anything like this happened to us. And it is a real shame because Marrakech is a beautiful city; it's just a pity it is full of people trying to cheat you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor may be a bit noisier since you may hear guests chatting on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flanders59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    62
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
24
153
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Riad Le Jardin D'Abdou was a fantastic start to our honeymoon. Marrakech itself was perhaps not the romantic gem we had read about from some accounts but was a great place to experience. Its main feature is the large, manic Place Jemma Al Fna, packed with tourists, and locals vying for their money. It, and the maze of surrounding souks, is hot, noisy and crammed, but the Riad reflects none of this.
Whilst its location is not ideal (it is a 20min walk to the Place), this makes it a cool, near-silent haven, just what you need after a day of wandering. The small pool is lovely and cleaned daily.
The room was beautiful, laid out with rose petals everywhere on our arrival, spotless and cleaned daily. Finally, although we did not meet the owners, Abdel and Zacharia looked after us extremely well and there is nothing they wouldn't help with!
Merci beaucoup

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nootrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have just come back from a four night family stay in Jardin D'Abdou. The rooms were beautifully decorated in traditional style with tadelact walls and locally crafted fittings. We arrived in the early evening to a welcoming mint tea and a wonderfully cooked dinner of chicken tagine. The riad is on the far side of the medina from the main sights but it is a fifteen minute walk through the maze of streets or a 100 riad ride back in a large taxi for four.
The main courtyard had palm trees and a small pool to relax in which gave a very calm feeling to the hotel. There were also sofas under a canopy and sunbeds on the roof terrace where you could sit and read or sunbathe with the noises of the city drifting up and a view over the minarets and satellite dishes to the Atlas mountains.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank choppiedoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We stayed at the Jardin D'Abdou riad for 4 nights and the whole experience was a mild disappointment.

However, on the positive side the riad is lovingly renovated, nothing excessive, but very tasteful and in the traditional style. The rooms are beautiful, perfectly clean and very well equipped, which really was very important for us.
At the same time, the location is slightly inconvenient, as it is just a little too far from the center and all the sights. So in the afternoon, when most sights get shut for a couple of hours, it not really possible to get back to the riad for some rest or lunch. We left in the morning and only came back to sleep at night.

Speaking of rest: we booked a room with a window to the small side street, but it turned out to be a mistake, as the closed windows don't really block the noise in the least, and with the scooters and people going on till really late hours, it can get frustrating when you're tired and desperately trying to get some sleep.
So if you do book a stay in the riad, I'd suggest a room that only has windows facing the patio - it is mentioned on the website, so you can choose the room you prefer.

We also asked the riad in advance to help us with arranging the airport transfer on arrival to avoid getting overcharged and hassled by the taxis at the airport. It seemed to be no problem, and we got an email confirmation that the taxi would be waiting for us and it would cost us 120 Dirhams (about 11 Euro). When we arrived, the taxi was a little late, but arrived eventually and we were taken safely to the hotel. At which point the driver quoted a price of 230 Dirhams, which is almost double of what we agreed on. The hotel host meeting us said he knew nothing about the email and the price we were given there, and that we had to pay what the driver said. As our flight was delayed and we arrived in the evening instead of the late afternoon as expected, we know there is a common 50% extra charge for evening transfers, but it would still make 180 and not 230. All of this is by far not a lot of money to worry about, but the attitude did give us an unpleasant feeling, spoiling the rest of the stay.

Going to Marrakesh you do expect hassling in the streets and shops, and it is fun in a way, but you hope to find a place to stay where you can rest from all that hassle and be treated like a human being and a guest, not a walking wallet, where the hosts try to help you and not look for ways to rip you off.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yanasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from three nights in this riad.
We went with two other couples to see the sights of Marrakesh and our stay in Le Jardin d'Abdou made our short holiday a great experience.
When we arrived we were a bit wary as the riad was inside the medina and looked a bit run down. As soon as we entered the building, however, we realised we had made a good choice.
It was very clean, new and beautiful and a haven away from all the bustle.
All the bedrooms were large and well equipped, with huge white towels and white dressing gowns in the en suite (shower room in our case).
The staff were all very friendly and couldn't have done more for us. They served alcohol as well as the usual mint tea.
The inclusive breakfast was above average and consisted of bread, croissants, moroccan cake, jams, fresh orange juice, which is the usual offering in Morocco. The coffee was excellent.
We asked for lunch on the roof terrace and I have never been looked after so well, even in a 5 star hotel.
It was quite a walk to the main square, but we had a taxi to a couple of restaurants on the other nights and it worked well. There was somewhere to park our car as we had driven from Spain.
I would love to return next year with my family.

  • Liked — Good decor, very clean, friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank elpindolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2007

This Riad has opened at the beginning of April 2007. The owners are a mature French couple that bought the house 2 years ago and completely renovated the property. It is a 25 minute walk to "the Place" from the opposite side of Marrakech from the newer part of town. Currently their web site is for info only you must call to make a reservation or find them on a resellers web site which is how we found them on destinationmaroc.com. (BTW not very responsive)

The wife spoke fairly good English and their main helper spoke very well, so no need to worry like some other reviews have identified as a difficulty. They were very interested in our comfort and helped with everything we asked help for.

All rooms are loaded with electrical outlets.

Breakfast is basic bread boiled egg and jams. Coffee/tea and OJ.

Dinners were a big table with all the guests that were eating in. Food was excellent, made on premise and with a bottle of wine came to around 55 Euros for a couple, which we thought was a good value for the quality.

One warning, at this time they are still not set up for credit cards, it is coming, but they will drive you to the closest cash machine to get cash.

And 1 more thing, if you are nervous about walking around side streets this may not be the place for you due to the walk. There is no problems but if you are timid it may make you uncomfortable.

Good value for the price

Helpful?
5 Thank expatengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Ilayka
Riad Ilayka
#125 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#155 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
#302 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Al Assala Medina
Riad Al Assala Medina
#364 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#115 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#27 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le jardin d'Abdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le jardin d'Abdou

Property: Le jardin d'Abdou
Address: 2 et 3 Derb Makina Arset Bel Baraka Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le jardin d'Abdou 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Le jardin d'Abdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing