We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A warm welcome :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Carina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Carina
Ranked #46 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A warm welcome :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Carina for 6 days in Feb. It was my first visit to Marrakech & I enjoyed it very much.
The Riad is situated approx 1/2 mile from the main square. But this is easily accessible along a narrow street surrounded by all the shops, hagglers, beggars, guitar players... all of whom are friendly & trying to catch your eye & invite you into their shops.
On arrival at the airport we had booked a taxi through the hotel & were taken almost to the door, I would imagine its not an easy place to find on your first visit, but then the whole of the medina is a maze.

The inside of the Riad is the complete opposite of the rest of the city. Here you can relax in the peace & quiet with jugs of mint tea, sitting downstairs on the cushions or sit on the roof & watch the storks building nests.
We had a meal in the Riad & this was for me probably best meal we ate in the city. We enjoyed it so much that we had a cookery lesson with Aziza, which we can recommend.
The rooms are all clean & comfortable, even the showers are hot.

All the staff are friendly & helpful & they never let my lack of French stop them helping us.. :-)

When I come back to Marrakech I would love to stay here again & recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    114
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
68
333
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Fantastic friendly, and very helpful staff. Great location - just a short walking distance from the exciting Souks & gorgeous alleys full of vibrant & creative shops. Gorgeous rooms full of lovely traditional features. Its very clean and tidy with the staff being very curtis and polite. It was very relaxing & has a homely feel. Will recommend to anyone that mentions visiting Marrakech. 5*+++++ Emma & Jeremy. from England.

Room Tip: Within the Hotel Carina there are two Riad locations for rooms, we stayed in the seperate 2 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma414777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our stay in this riad could not have been better. The location is perfect - away from the noise and hustle and bustle, but also located about 6 mins from the main square, it is a hidden gem that I am glad we found. We had the room on the terrace, which was wonderfully equipped with a comfy, big bed and a great bathroom. It was very relaxing and we were well looked after with all our questions answered by the very helpful staff. Breakfast is simply delicious and a great start to the day. Our only regret is that we did not eat at the riad, which, if breakfast is anything to go by, would have been great. It's a very friendly, welcoming place to stay and immediately made us feel welcome in Morocco. I would recommend it to anyone and would stay there again myself immeidately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very good staff and management (Majid, Sayed, Sakina, Azizaand Etc),quiet and peaceful with plenty of mint tea to drink.
Excellent breakfast, if you are a bird lover, they are all around you.
If you lay back on roof trace you can see all king fishers nest on top of old palace wall which is very interesting, get your toiletry with spare bigger towel, remember you trawling to africa and its restricted for luxury.
Allowed 5 minets for water heater to recover itself for next person ,this hotel got two sister hotel and you may use the swimming facility on very small pool (9m2)
Bath and massage is really good, you are better of for hotel transfer at least to get into hotel, but its cheeper if you chose yours on the way back to airport

Room Tip: They got additional building with two rooms next to Riad which is brighter and its good as the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiminLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is a real familiy. It was super relaxing, comfortable, lovely, romantic, super clean, wc in amazing (architecture, hot water and clean), the bed is wonderful, the room are just in the right size to be relaxed alone or to be in love in two. You can take siesta everytime because the silence is a must and also once woked up, you can enjoy the lovely arabic sons that the hotel plays with mint tea or coffee (always free in this hotel). I'll be back as soon as possible. Best romantic- family hotel ever.Thank you so much!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely! it is so paceful to sleep in this riad. big and lovely windows. typical wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

After our driver dropped us off we thankfully got a "barrow boy" to kart our luggage to the hotel, without him we'd never have found it. Hidden away down a small street is this lovely little hotel. Beautifully decorated inside and a million miles away from the big international chain type hotels, precisely what you want. Good location and very nice, quirky rooms

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having stayed at Riad Carina on two separate occasions now, initially in November 2010 and then in March 2012, I've come to the conclusion that it is quite possibly the perfect accommodation. From the moment I first stepped inside, I felt like I was worlds away from the bustle, noise and constant activity of the Marrakech medina. The riad is like a tranquil haven – with only a handful of rooms it never feels crowded, and between the comfortable rooms, the courtyard seating, and the rooftop lounge, there's no shortage of places to relax and unwind from a long day of browsing the souks.

Besides the standard praise – the rooms were spotless, the value for the price was excellent, and the location couldn't be any better – I want to emphasize how incredibly warm and welcoming Riad Carina felt. The staff were genuinely friendly and eager to please, from offering pots of mint tea to accommodating my departure time with an extra-early breakfast, and as I solo traveller I felt very comfortable staying at the riad.

Finally, I want to mention how excellent the food is: The breakfasts were quite possibly my favourite part of the day (the selection of jams and honey they serve to go with the bread are insanely delicious), and the dinners, which include a selection of vegetable side dishes, a main course and dessert, were without a doubt the best food I ate while in Marrakech.

I will definitely be back to Riad Carina again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara_CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#55 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#29 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Limouna
Riad Limouna
#45 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Viva
Riad Viva
#56 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#24 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#30 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Carina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Carina

Property: Riad Carina
Address: 76 Rue Berrima, Derb Touareg, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Carina 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Carina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Carina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing