We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic gem of calm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Carina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Carina
Ranked #51 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Rustic gem of calm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

A gorgeous riad with a great location next to the Baadi Palace. Rooms are basic but comfortable, with lovely little touches of decoration. Great breakfast and dinner (we always find the best meals are to be had at the riads in Marrakech). Helpful staff and easy to find location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    116
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
70
340
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hull, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

A beautiful rustic riad in a great location. Everything of interest is within walking distance and the riad is very easy to find again. The riad arranged for us to be picked up from the airport, the driver escorted us to the door of the riad were we were greated with a smile and mint tea. The staff were amazing and catered for our every need including arranging a tour guide for us on arrival. The riad staff also organised a day trip to the Atlas mountains and a morroccon cooking lesson, both of which were fantastic. The riad is great value for money and should I return to Marrakech I would definately stay there again. I really cant find anything negative to say this was truly an amazing holiday!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_C-Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

The riad was beautifully decrorated with a very local touch. It was only a 10-15min walk to Jemaa el-Fna square and you really feel part of the city in this Riad. It is well located and due to its location is very easy to navigate back to. The staff are very friendly and helpful and made our stay amazing! They provide you with help and advice and if you wish you can learn to cook Morrocan which was an excellent experience. I would highly recommend this riad to others as it is friendly and affordable. I would use Riad Carina again with no hesitaition!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Riad Carina is in a great location within the Medina (city walls). On arrival we were greeted with mint tea and a very friendly smile from Mariam. It has two sister Riads, the Diana and the Viva, which you can use or go and have mint tea. The tea is free at anytime in the riads. The Diana has a plunge pool which would probably be nice in the summer when it is really hot. We had great weather, around 70 - 76 degrees and always sunny, just right for April.
We had a tagine meal on the roof terrace the first evening.......delicious, washed down with a good bottle of morrocan red wine. The riad supplied red, white or rose wine and beers.
Breakfast the first morning was equally good and every morning after that. For a continental it was excellent, with Youssef even making an omelette if you wanted.
We stayed in one of the original rooms in the riad. They do have an annex which you enter through a different door in the street. As you enter from the hustle and bustle of the streets outside, it is like walking into a peaceful oasis. A lovely courtyard, with the bedrooms around, and two more floors above with bedrooms. A lovely roof terrace overlooking the old palace walls, with the storks nesting on top.
We had a massage at the Riad Diana, and also had the cooking course at our riad Carina with Rita, which was good fun. At the end they give you a print out of all the recipes and how to cook them......unfortunately it is all in French? They have lots of English speaking guests, so you would have thought they would also be in English. Also we had a day trip out to the Atlas mountains, seeing various waterfalls, an original berber house etc. All trips etc were arranged through the raid and reasonably priced.
Everything you had at the raid could be paid for at the end in one final bill, which made it a lot easier. One point on this though, was that we had to pay cash, which was a bit strange. So we had to go and find an atm. Not a big problem, just didn't expect it.
The rooms are quite small, but adequate. The shower is powerful with plenty of hot water, though it does drain away slowly, so you end up standing in a couple of inches of water. The room each day was cleaned and bed made. There is air con, and even a heater if you want to warm the room up a little. Inside the raid is quite cool, but this is how these old houses were designed, with very thick walls and very small windows.
If you like sights, smells, sounds and spices and lovely people, then Marrakech is the place, there's lots going on. A visit to the main square in the daytime is a must (have a fresh squeezed orange juice, 40p) but a visit in the evening is a real must!! We went around all the different souks. Also visited the Saadien Tombs, the Badia Palace (at the back of the riad) and Majorelle Gardens.
All in all we really enjoyed Marrakech, the Riad Carina and the people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I would recommend this place ,for me and my husband it was an Oasis in the madness that is wonderful Marrakesh, The staff are amazing,,,,the Raid is Beautiful ..the breakfast was lovely.and the mint tea and sweets the best,

Room Tip: We had the room on the main floor ,,and for us it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welsh_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Riad Carina was perfect for us - it was in the southern part of the Medina and very close to KosyBar (where we hung out on the terrace at sundown drinking cocktails) and just 2 minutes from the main square and the food markets (one of the best places to eat in Marrakech - and so cheap too!)
The Riad itself was gorgeous - traditional, cosy, clean, picturesque - a perfect setting after a hectic day bartering in the markets. And the food was great - breakfast is served whenever you want it, and we ate at the Riad on our final night too - delicious.
Staff were very helpful and friendy, spoke great English and helped us with whatever we needed. And we had a great Hammam massage from one of the girls too!
One other thing that was useful - you get access to Riad Carina's 'sister' Riad as well - Riad Diana - which was great as they had another Roof Terrace (slightly bigger than the one at Carina so better for sunbathing) - which was great
All in all an amazing experience i we would definitely recommend Carina to anybody visiting Marrakech!!!

Room Tip: We chose the Harissa suite - very roomy, you get your own 'lounge' area, and a great hard ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Authentic Morrocan house converted for travel guests, comfortable rooms with complete breakfast; ideal location within 10 minutes of the main square and other popular attractions. The rooftop garden is a home designers dream, overlooking the Badi Palce walls, with stork nests just 30 feet away from you. Staff are very friendly and will organise personal guides to the Souks (markets) and Atlas mountains, our thanks to Abdul & Magid who made the trips informative and time effective during our 4 day stay at a relatively small cost.

Outside the Riad is real life Marrakech, hustle & bustle as these friendly people conduct normal day life, once you accept this is a safe holiday environment you can begin to absorb the culture and enjoy the real life experience with them. An amazingly clean environment you will not believe.

Close by are small markets with good local eateries, we preferred these to eating in the square and look for a combination of local people & Europeans eating together, a good sign of quality food. Accept bartering for goods as their way of life, another reason for a guide, they pay for themselves in the reduced prices you pay and prevent the over zealous sales pitches; but this is part of the experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#58 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#12 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Al Karama
Riad Al Karama
#74 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Viva
Riad Viva
#60 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Al Nour
Riad Al Nour
#57 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#3 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Carina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Carina

Property: Riad Carina
Address: 76 Rue Berrima, Derb Touareg, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Carina 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Carina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Carina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing