We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet, convenient, tasteful and tasty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Porte Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Porte Royale
Ranked #284 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, convenient, tasteful and tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had 3 nights in November, perfect weather, quiet Riad, 10 minutes walk to the souks, lovely staff, excellent cooking of both breakfasts and dinners. Nothing was too much. Would go back without hesitation!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, not large but comfortable, double bed, wardrobe, ensuite bathroom, cool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hhjmayerova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stepped from the narrow alleyway down into the old doorway set in a vast wall to arrive at the Riad , Porte Royale which is hidden oasis of peace. The rooms are plain and simple with very comfortable beds and lovely antique Moroccan doors and windows and tribal rugs .

Mohamed and his wife Hagiba welcomed us and continued to look after us so well our whole stay, organising taxis , restaurants , outings and serving us delicious breakfasts . Thank you also to Phillip the owner who went out if his way to help us enjoy such great days out , in the Atlas Mountains on mules , to a really unusual hotel with swimming pool for lunch plus all the taxi arrangments went like clockwork. We went to the souks on many occaisions , and found local people very helpful and welcoming .

The Marjorelle Gardens with the Berber Museum inside was superb and quite different from any garden I have visited. It was a great holiday for all six of us and many thanks !!

Helen

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Last minute panic for final night accommodation arranged by e-mail; Philip and Mohamed could not have been more helpful. Delightful oasis of tranquility, the perfect end to a magical holiday, no crowds, noise nor hassle. Beautiful riad, very clean and comfortable, and an excellent night's sleep inspite of the 30'C temperature. Mohamed was invaluable with advice on where to shop, and the restaurant recommendation was superb. Very convenient access for the all too early flight, but not until we had been given a delicious breakfast. I can't fault it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Just finished our stay in marrakech, me and my girlfriend stayed for 4 days in the riad, and we have only good words to say about it.
I will start with the only issue we had, we were meant to be greated by a taxi arranged by the riad but when we arived he was no where to be seen, quite a scary for us as we are a young couple (21) and this was our first holiday away together, but anyhow i managed to get us a local taxi out side after the taxi drivera fought over who would take us, the taxi driver spoke no english but some how i managed to get him the phone number of the riad who then called ahead, so when we arrived at the edge wall of the medina we were greated by mohammed, who was a welcome sigh as he spoke perfect english, at last i could relax.
Mohammed kindly took us through the narrow passages until we areived at the riad, as we walked in we were both a little taken back, wow this place is beautiful, so peacful, mohhamed apploigised for the disruption and for this he kindly offerd us the bigger room for no extra charge.
Once we had gone to our room for a little lie down, Mohamed prepared dinner for us, (which i do suggest you do on your first night if you are arriving late, if you have never been to Marrakech before you will get lost, i promise you will, so be sensible and eat In the first night) the dinner was fantastic,
Five plates of different salads, and then the tagine of lemon chicken and olives, i have to say it had to be the beat tagine we had of the trip. We brought our own wine from the airport as it was on offer but the riad can source some wine if you notify them before your arival.

As it was late mohhamed left us alone and said good night, we had the place to ourselfs, a little scary but it gave us a chance to have a look around the riad, and plan our day ahead.

All off the rooms are beautifully decorated, we stayed in the douiria which is on the first floor overlooking the courtyard, i do suggest booking this room as it is slightly larger than the afican room and the idn batutta room on the ground floor, and more private as it has its own little staircase, but i would have been happy in any of the rooms.

The next morning we awoke to the chirping of the birds on the tree in the courtyard, dont worry the birds are not annoying at all :) the room was still nice a cool, downstairs the housekeeper had prepared us breakfast, which i can tell you is amazing, fresh morrocan panckaes (msemen) youghart, bread honey coffee tea freshly squeezed orange juice and fresh omletes surved in a little tagine all in all you wont need lunch if you finish it all. (My advice dipp the pancakes in the yoghurt, dont dismiss it till you try it :) )

After breakfast mohammed brought us out a map on which he directed us where to go and where we were on the map, i promis you it takes some time getting to know where you have to go and where the riad is, once you walk it a couple of times you wont need the map. Mohamed the kindly walked out of the allyways to the main road and directed us how to get to the jemma el fna( the big square). I was confident in my map reading skill but no we got lost, thankfully a kind local said he would take us there not before we stopped off at his sisters chemist and were given a lecture on argon oil and stuffed some random black powder up my nose, but hey ho he showed us the way.

The riad itself is located about a 20 minute walk away from the square, it is in a quieter part of town away from all of the tourists, this is to its Advantage it provides you with a quiet oasis away from the madness of the souks which i promise after a long day bartering will be a welcome rest.

Being away from the toruisty bit provides you and insight into local life and another side to morroco,

I will defiantly go back, next time with more people as the riad got abit quiet with just me and my girlfriend, maby next me and all my friends and rent the whole place

I recommend visiting the yeves sait Laurent gardens, and the palaces

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights (2 + 2) in January.

Had arranged pick up from Marrakech airport and taxi was there with sign for hotel (100 MAD).
Met at hotel by staff and meal had been requested due to late arrival. Excellent food, tangine, salads, veg, almost too much and all important bottle of wine.

Staff sourced us a decent map of the city and we realised that without our pick up we would have struggled to find this riad independently with info sourced at airport or from guide book.

Riad is located inside the northern corner of the walled city in what appears a largely residential area. Access to it is through a warren of initially daunting lanes and sometimes poorly lit passages.
However once having seen the "touristy" part of town this is seen to be the norm for small street layout.
Final access to the Riad is by foot with maybe 200 yards or so of walking from the small pedestrian gate into the walled city.

Rooms simple and elegent. Due to chilly winter nights extra blankets and heater made use of.
Breakfast provided was v good and continental in style. (bread fresh cofee/ tea, yoghurt juice spread, jams, honey). Additions varied with fried eggs, pancakes drop scones.

We walked everywhere within the walled city and found no problem or ever felt threatened while doing so even on the dark streets at night. You have children playing old men and women stood outside chatting the streets are their common area so they're used.
It is NOT in the main tourist centre so as such all the fancy restaraunts and tourist tat etc is NOT on your doorstep. It is only 10-15 minutes meander away.

Due to the riad being quiet and not all rooms occupied when we left for a couple of days, in between stays, we were able to leave some luggage and took the front door key with us to allow us to return without the staff being called out to greet us.

The Riad Porte Royale was an oasis of calm within a potentially hectic city. Simple, elgegent quiet, helpful, ideal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njigsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed in this Riad between Christmas and New Year with family members ranging from 4 years to 70 and we all had a ball. The Riad has charm , interesting rooms , great sun terrace to breakfast or 'chill out' with a book. The food is excellent and the staff are pleasant and helpfull .
A hidden gem in a lively exhillerating City . A Big thanks for a holiday that will provided us with fond memories on cold damp days .

Room Tip: The rooms on ground floor offer a unique experience of Africa and Asia . Light and Airy as the they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I had a lovely stay at the Riad Porte Royale in Marrakech. It is located in one of the quieter neighborhoods in the medina but only 10 minutes away from the busier areas and sights. It is very close to one of the gates to the medina so very easy to get back to after a day of wandering. The decoration is basically white with gorgeous pieces of artwork and furniture. The courtyard is cool and relaxing. The manager Mohammed was informative and very helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are a little further away from the communal areas and therefore more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Elizabeth
Riad Elizabeth
#99 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Shukran
Riad Shukran
#247 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#22 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#61 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chameleon
Riad Chameleon
#123 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Porte Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Porte Royale

Property: Riad Porte Royale
Address: Derb el Maada 84, Diour Jdad | Zaouia Al-Abbesia, Medina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Porte Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We practise ethical tourism and are legally registered as a 'Maison d'Hôtes Deuxième Catégorie' no.288/2015. Featured in the international press and guidebooks, Riad Porte Royale was build around 250 years ago close to the ramparts in an historic quarter of the medina, a short walk to major monuments, the souks, the Majorelle Garden and well-known restaurants. Renovated with traditional materials, the white walls are accented with rugs, rare textiles and artefacts from the caravan routes of Africa and Asia. All five bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms, and the pure Moroccan style make the atmosphere dreamy and zen. Breakfast is included, Wi-Fi and filtered drinking water is free and our Bio shower gel and shampoo contains argane. Meals at the riad, transport and excursions can be arranged. Riad Porte Royale is a perfect place to unwind with a drink or mint tea after a day of sensory overdose in Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Porte Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Porte Royale Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing