We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Place to stay in an exciting City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Porte Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Porte Royale
Ranked #270 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Whitley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in an exciting City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed in this Riad between Christmas and New Year with family members ranging from 4 years to 70 and we all had a ball. The Riad has charm , interesting rooms , great sun terrace to breakfast or 'chill out' with a book. The food is excellent and the staff are pleasant and helpfull .
A hidden gem in a lively exhillerating City . A Big thanks for a holiday that will provided us with fond memories on cold damp days .

Room Tip: The rooms on ground floor offer a unique experience of Africa and Asia . Light and Airy as the they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I had a lovely stay at the Riad Porte Royale in Marrakech. It is located in one of the quieter neighborhoods in the medina but only 10 minutes away from the busier areas and sights. It is very close to one of the gates to the medina so very easy to get back to after a day of wandering. The decoration is basically white with gorgeous pieces of artwork and furniture. The courtyard is cool and relaxing. The manager Mohammed was informative and very helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are a little further away from the communal areas and therefore more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We booked the whole riad for a week in May. We were two families with three children between us (aged, 5, 4 and 2). It was everything that was promised, although possibly even more lovely, than the website suggests. Everything was thoroughly scrubbed by Najet each morning, the rooms were cool and spacious, the breakfasts each day were a highlight and the attention and assistance from Mohammad, Hagiba and Najet was outstanding. They were a delight. There was an added attraction of two resident tortoises on the roof terrace that the kids loved to 'play with' (they survived the week). The pool was freezing, but that didn't deter the children from getting in at every opportunity.

The only downside to the trip was that the temperature exceeded May averages by 10-15 degrees! The riad really was an oasis on those hot 40+ days (as we still felt compelled to sight-see each morning) and the rooms remained cool. We only needed the AC on the final night and only in the upstairs rooms. Philip had suggested that we spend a day at the very beautiful boutique hotel called Jnane Tamsna. It was truly relaxing (and comparatively cool) lounging around their beautiful pool and enjoying a fantastic French lunch. We returned for a second afternoon and stayed for dinner this time which was also wonderful.

We indulged in a hamman and massage at Les Bains Des Marrakech which was truly divine and highly recommend. You need to book well in advance and Mohammad arranged this for us.

We celebrated my husband's birthday whilst in Marrakech and Mohammad arranged a great restaurant meal for us whilst Najet babysat (only took us about the first 5 mins of meeting her and Hagiba to feel comfortable leaving our children). However, we only took advantage of the babysitting that one night as the food at the riad was superb so we stayed in a lot, feeding children early and then adults eating after the kids were in bed - very civilised.

It was a truly wonderful and memorable trip and we loved Riad Porte Royale.

Room Tip: I have to say that it took us 5 nights before we were able to sleep through the Call To Prayer and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed, as a family of four, in June 2011, for one week. The Riad is a cool, calm oasis, and situated in a quiet part of the Medina. Yet fantastic restaurants, beautiful gardens and the maze of souks are all within walking distance. You can allow yourself the luxury of getting a bit lost as help is only a mobile call away. Our teenagers weren't well while we were there, but we were able to leave them at the Riad, knowing that they were perfectly safe, while we explored the Medina. The breakfasts were amazing, leaving us too full to eat anything else until the evening. Mohammed and Nagiba's warm hospitality made our stay so very pleasurable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We just returned from a mini holiday in Marrakech.
What an interesting and vibrant place to visit - you get to look into a way of life and culture completely different to anywhere in Europe.
We stayed at the Riad Porte Royal, an ideal vantage-point for discoveries into the Medina an other parts of Marrakech.
The Riad, situated in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the Medina, is like an calm oasis you can retreat to, enjoy and relax in, and plan new adventures.
Make sure that you that you take time to get the "heartbeat" of the Riad, and to enjoy the sounds of everyday life from the surrounding houses.
This is not like a hotel, just for accommodation, staying in the Riad, and enjoying the place, added an extra dimension to our holiday.
The staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Really enjoyed staying here. Mohammed, Hagiba and the owner Philip were all very friendly and welcoming. The riad itself has been beautifully renovated, simple and elegant. It is north of the medina but we found to be a good location. Walkable to Marjorelle Gardens, 20 mins to Square , less to souks and with some fabulous restaurants minutes away. Thought the poor recent review (susang) to be inaccurate. Mohammed availed us of his mobile so any problems he came back right away to sort out. One negative is the taxi trip they arranged for us at 600 dhms ended with an uninvited guide jumping in our taxi and pressurising us to go into certain restaurants and shops on our trip to the atlas mountains at Setti Fatma. Though this isn't the fault of the riad, do make sure if you arrange a taxi, if you will be having to pay additional costs for a guide (200drms for us) before you go.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice as philip gave me a tour although don't think Africa room has aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kg1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth,United kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Having never been to Morocco before and not knowing what to expect,it was really great to be in such a calm place with no noise from the outside world able to enter through the very thick walls. The Riad has been really beautifully adapted and without any request we were upgraded to a lovely room. We were there for the first three days of our stay and the final one before returning home.The staff could not have been more helpful even taking us to our first restaurant (Riad des Mer) on the first night.The meal cooked for us and eaten at the Riad,by Hagiba was delicious.We cannot praise the Riad enough. Comfort was paramount and we felt very at ease. We ate in other restaurants nearby -e.g. Dar Yacout,which was extraordinary.If you want a quite oasis in the "sea" known as Marrakesh,DO book to stay at this lovely place.

Room Tip: They are all good and individually decorated.I do not think that there would be any noise in any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gocid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Elizabeth
Riad Elizabeth
#118 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
1.2 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#56 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#20 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Riad Maison Belbaraka
#129 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#124 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Porte Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Porte Royale

Property: Riad Porte Royale
Address: Derb el Maada 84, Diour Jdad | Zaouia Al-Abbesia, Medina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Porte Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We practise ethical tourism and are legally registered as a 'Maison d'Hôtes Deuxième Catégorie' no.288/2015. Featured in the international press and guidebooks, Riad Porte Royale was build around 250 years ago close to the ramparts in an historic quarter of the medina, a short walk to major monuments, the souks, the Majorelle Garden and well-known restaurants. Renovated with traditional materials, the white walls are accented with rugs, rare textiles and artefacts from the caravan routes of Africa and Asia. All five bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms, and the pure Moroccan style make the atmosphere dreamy and zen. Breakfast is included, Wi-Fi and filtered drinking water is free and our Bio shower gel and shampoo contains argane. Meals at the riad, transport and excursions can be arranged. Riad Porte Royale is a perfect place to unwind with a drink or mint tea after a day of sensory overdose in Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Porte Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Porte Royale Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing