We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet riad in medina - Marrakech”
Review of Riad Porte Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Porte Royale
Ranked #235 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I had a lovely stay at the Riad Porte Royale in Marrakech. It is located in one of the quieter neighborhoods in the medina but only 10 minutes away from the busier areas and sights. It is very close to one of the gates to the medina so very easy to get back to after a day of wandering. The decoration is basically white with gorgeous pieces of artwork and furniture. The courtyard is cool and relaxing. The manager Mohammed was informative and very helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are a little further away from the communal areas and therefore more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 69 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

We booked the whole riad for a week in May. We were two families with three children between us (aged, 5, 4 and 2). It was everything that was promised, although possibly even more lovely, than the website suggests. Everything was thoroughly scrubbed by Najet each morning, the rooms were cool and spacious, the breakfasts each day were a highlight and the attention and assistance from Mohammad, Hagiba and Najet was outstanding. They were a delight. There was an added attraction of two resident tortoises on the roof terrace that the kids loved to 'play with' (they survived the week). The pool was freezing, but that didn't deter the children from getting in at every opportunity.

The only downside to the trip was that the temperature exceeded May averages by 10-15 degrees! The riad really was an oasis on those hot 40+ days (as we still felt compelled to sight-see each morning) and the rooms remained cool. We only needed the AC on the final night and only in the upstairs rooms. Philip had suggested that we spend a day at the very beautiful boutique hotel called Jnane Tamsna. It was truly relaxing (and comparatively cool) lounging around their beautiful pool and enjoying a fantastic French lunch. We returned for a second afternoon and stayed for dinner this time which was also wonderful.

We indulged in a hamman and massage at Les Bains Des Marrakech which was truly divine and highly recommend. You need to book well in advance and Mohammad arranged this for us.

We celebrated my husband's birthday whilst in Marrakech and Mohammad arranged a great restaurant meal for us whilst Najet babysat (only took us about the first 5 mins of meeting her and Hagiba to feel comfortable leaving our children). However, we only took advantage of the babysitting that one night as the food at the riad was superb so we stayed in a lot, feeding children early and then adults eating after the kids were in bed - very civilised.

It was a truly wonderful and memorable trip and we loved Riad Porte Royale.

Room Tip: I have to say that it took us 5 nights before we were able to sleep through the Call To Prayer and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed, as a family of four, in June 2011, for one week. The Riad is a cool, calm oasis, and situated in a quiet part of the Medina. Yet fantastic restaurants, beautiful gardens and the maze of souks are all within walking distance. You can allow yourself the luxury of getting a bit lost as help is only a mobile call away. Our teenagers weren't well while we were there, but we were able to leave them at the Riad, knowing that they were perfectly safe, while we explored the Medina. The breakfasts were amazing, leaving us too full to eat anything else until the evening. Mohammed and Nagiba's warm hospitality made our stay so very pleasurable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We just returned from a mini holiday in Marrakech.
What an interesting and vibrant place to visit - you get to look into a way of life and culture completely different to anywhere in Europe.
We stayed at the Riad Porte Royal, an ideal vantage-point for discoveries into the Medina an other parts of Marrakech.
The Riad, situated in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the Medina, is like an calm oasis you can retreat to, enjoy and relax in, and plan new adventures.
Make sure that you that you take time to get the "heartbeat" of the Riad, and to enjoy the sounds of everyday life from the surrounding houses.
This is not like a hotel, just for accommodation, staying in the Riad, and enjoying the place, added an extra dimension to our holiday.
The staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Really enjoyed staying here. Mohammed, Hagiba and the owner Philip were all very friendly and welcoming. The riad itself has been beautifully renovated, simple and elegant. It is north of the medina but we found to be a good location. Walkable to Marjorelle Gardens, 20 mins to Square , less to souks and with some fabulous restaurants minutes away. Thought the poor recent review (susang) to be inaccurate. Mohammed availed us of his mobile so any problems he came back right away to sort out. One negative is the taxi trip they arranged for us at 600 dhms ended with an uninvited guide jumping in our taxi and pressurising us to go into certain restaurants and shops on our trip to the atlas mountains at Setti Fatma. Though this isn't the fault of the riad, do make sure if you arrange a taxi, if you will be having to pay additional costs for a guide (200drms for us) before you go.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice as philip gave me a tour although don't think Africa room has aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kg1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Having never been to Morocco before and not knowing what to expect,it was really great to be in such a calm place with no noise from the outside world able to enter through the very thick walls. The Riad has been really beautifully adapted and without any request we were upgraded to a lovely room. We were there for the first three days of our stay and the final one before returning home.The staff could not have been more helpful even taking us to our first restaurant (Riad des Mer) on the first night.The meal cooked for us and eaten at the Riad,by Hagiba was delicious.We cannot praise the Riad enough. Comfort was paramount and we felt very at ease. We ate in other restaurants nearby -e.g. Dar Yacout,which was extraordinary.If you want a quite oasis in the "sea" known as Marrakesh,DO book to stay at this lovely place.

Room Tip: They are all good and individually decorated.I do not think that there would be any noise in any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gocid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This Riad was a disaster. After a perfect peaceful stay in Essaouira we booked one night prior to our flight home at Porte Royale. Depressing location- no restaurants in the area.
One has to take a taxi as it is just too far away from everything. The room was small and the pillows so hard I am still ,5 days later, suffering from a stiff neck. The acoustics are dreadful. We were unable to sleep as one hears when guests enter,leave or just talk.
The Manager promised to be there for breakfast as we had a very early flight. We suggested he leave us a prepared breakfast and order a taxi. But he insisted he would be there. Not only did he not turn up but neither did the taxi he had supposedly booked.
In a mad rush we had to hurry with lots of luggage through this dismal part of town at 5.45 in the morning and flag a taxi from the main road. We had a fabulous stay at Riad de la Mer in Essaouira but forget this place. I don't know who wrote the other reviews but for us it was just awful.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank susangToulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTMAROC, Owner at Riad Porte Royale, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

We always welcome criticism if it is helpful. The couple in question arrived late in the afternoon for one night, with an early departure the following morning. Our manager, at their request, directed them towards the Place, Djemma El Fna. As anyone familiar with Morocco will know, Marrakech is several times the size of Essaouira and more of a maze of lanes and mysterious buildings, so trying to navigate any part of the historic medina or indeed the city, takes time, let alone at night. Instead, the guests could have requested dinner at Riad Porte Royale, or chosen to eat at one of four famous restaurants, Dar Zellij, Dar Fez, Dar Yacout or Palais Suleimen all around a five minute walk away, or even closer, at the very popular Riad des Mers restaurant. Our manager mentioned this and offered to collect them at the end of dinner as they were unfamiliar with Marrakech, and gave them his mobile number. However, the couple decided to be more intrepid and from their description, I can only speculate as to how or where they spent their last evening in North Africa.
As most guests have found our anti-allergic pillows very comfortable, I can only presume that the clients were not used to a quilted pillow protector beneath the pillowcase, and were unaware that the two pillows per person we provide were not obligatory, but an option. For some reason the couple panicked about their early flight and left before dawn, leaving us to pay for the unwanted taxi. Just to add, the acoustics of the riad are such that nobody heard them go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#35 of 502 in Marrakech
1,322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#69 of 502 in Marrakech
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#40 of 502 in Marrakech
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#63 of 502 in Marrakech
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#60 of 502 in Marrakech
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Porte Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Porte Royale

Address: Derb el Maada 84, Diour Jdad | Zaouia Al-Abbesia, Medina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $76 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Porte Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We practise ethical tourism and are legally registered as a 'Maison d'Hôtes Deuxième Catégorie' no.288/2015. Featured in the international press and guidebooks, Riad Porte Royale was build around 250 years ago close to the ramparts in an historic quarter of the medina, a short walk to major monuments, the souks, the Majorelle Garden and well-known restaurants. Renovated with traditional materials, the white walls are accented with rugs, rare textiles and artefacts from the caravan routes of Africa and Asia. All five bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms, and the pure Moroccan style make the atmosphere dreamy and zen. Breakfast is included, Wi-Fi and filtered drinking water is free and our Bio shower gel and shampoo contains argane. Meals at the riad, transport and excursions can be arranged. Riad Porte Royale is a perfect place to unwind with a drink or mint tea after a day of sensory overdose in Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Porte Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Porte Royale Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing