We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Porte Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Porte Royale
Ranked #278 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

We booked this lovely riad directly via the website and the owner Philip was incredibly helpful even before we arrived helping sort bits out. They arranged a taxi to pick up at the airport which was really great. Indeed Mohamed, arranges transport and trips if you want during you stay which is a great way of taking the stress out of things. We had a few days in the mountains and managed to climb touebkal! There are some posh gorgeous restaurants near the riad that are a super treat (again Mohamed can organise and will walk you there and back!). Although equally divine, one night we stayed in the riad and Hajiba cooked an awesome tagine for us to eat under the stars.

Overall the Riad Porte Royale is a great oasis of tranquillity that you so need when visiting this wonderful city. Its clean, and beautiful, the attention to detail in the furnishings is wonderful. It is in the North of the medina which has the advantage of getting you away from the hustle and bustle and also you get to see some local life on the fun walk back (although you can pick up a taxi easily from most places very easily). It took a few attempts to find the riad but that was half the fun and Mohamed was only ever a phone call away!...a compass would have been useful.

It is very safe and the dark alley ways situated around the souks, which confront you on the first day are very safe and I didn't feel uncomfortable like I would in London. Local children are enterprising in the town and near souks and will gladly help you get from A-B if you are lost, although they will expect a tip that is sometimes more that the cost of a taxi. Moreover, get used to them telling you that the road ahead is closed when its not!

Now I am home i am missing the mint tea and the great fresh orange juice. Mohamed and Hajiba are superb hosts and so kind and helpful, they make this Riad work. I would recommend this riad to anyone, but then again maybe its a secrete gem we should keep to our selves!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank londonescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

Booked this through hipmarrakech.com and found the riad to be a lovely place to stay, away from the hubbub of the souks and Jemaa el Fna.

We were picked up from the airport in a taxi and taken personally to the riad where we met with Mohammed the manager. Hajiba had cooked us a meal for our arrival which was excellent.

The walk down to the Jemaa el Fna is about 20 minutes through the souks and easy to find the way after a couple of trial runs. Coming back after dark we preferred to get a taxi to nearby Bab Taghazout and walk the last 300m or so. Very easy. If we'd been in trouble we could have always phoned Mohammed!

The Riad was clean, well decorated, and (we stayed on the ground floor) NOT DAMP!!!

All in all a brilliant stay - assuming I return to Marrakech in teh future I'll happily stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and superb decor.
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chisballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

This was a nice place to stay - well, if you can actually find it again after leaving! It's in the North Medina, a good 20 minutes walk from the Square - make sure you leave a trail of breadcrumbs when you leave. However, being away from the main tourist drag meant that it felt like a refuge when you went back there from the madness that is the souk!

The riad itself was fine - the courtyard is quite small and often in shadow, terrace was a little shabby etc but breakfast up there was great and the staff were lovely, arranging massages and evening meals. The decor was very white and minimalist - the occasional burst of colour wouldn't have gone amiss...

Avoid the rooms on the ground floor off the courtyard they are extremely damp and uncomfortable (the owner says this is being sorted out). The rooms upstairs are far, far nicer and only about £5 more per night.

Final note of caution - no credit cards accepted, which is fine but there wasn't any notice given which meant that the morning we flew home we had to rush about and visit several banks to draw out enough cash to pay the bill. This would have been so easy to avoid...

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipbrebner, Owner at Riad Porte Royale, responded to this review, August 22, 2007
Riad Porte Royale has only been open for six months and we welcome comments from clients.
Our priority has been good service and I am glad this was appreciated. Although we are legally registered I apologize for not taking credit cards as yet and we now advise clients of this upon booking. Besides, it keeps prices competitive!
At 56sq metres the courtyard is larger than the the average found in midrange riads in Marrakech. Indeed, the previous owner used to rent it out for weddings as it was so spacious! And like all courtyards it cannot be sunny the entire day, which can be a relief between May and October.
Damp is a problem with the majority of very old riads in the medina. However, this summer we stripped back the walls in the downstairs rooms, rebuilt them and applied a sealer to remedy this. We have also put special one-way glass in the windows of the courtyard bedrooms and bathrooms to maximize light during the day and enhance the privacy of the clients in these rooms, as many clients kept the shutters almost always closed.
The rate for the upstairs bedrooms is actually 20% higher. These ensuite rooms have reversible a/c and one features a four poster bed and a private staircase.
This summer we have also revamped the split-level terrace, supplementing the tent with marble topped tables, teak sunbeds, more plants, more cushions, and a couple of African objets d'art.
We closed the riad for a month to complete all this work, and it is gratifying that when we reopen tomorrow our first clients are a group coming for the second time as they enjoyed staying at RPR so much in the spring1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2007

We have stayed in this recently opened riad for three days.
The riad itself is very beautiful and visually pleasing after a busy day in the medina. The interior is quite spartan to some other riads, but this was exactly why we liked it so much. All the mod cons are there off course, just in case you were wondering (spartan anybody....).

What sets it apart from the other hotels and riads we stayed in while we were in Morocco is the service. Both the manager Mohamed and the housekeeper Haajiba are extremely nice people and very willing to please.

Meals can be arranged in advance and the one meal we had upon arrival was very good and it felt (quite literally it was) like a private restaurant. It is perfect to get your bearings back after a long day of travel. There are other restaurants in the vicinity as well. The restaurant of the Riad des Mers which is almost around the corner is especially recommended.

The riad is located in the northern part of the Medina, at a good distance from the more touristed parts of the medina, which has it pros and cons. We felt very safe during the whole day and night when walking to and from the sights. Actually we felt very safe and welcome in the whole of Morocco.

It is quite hard to find if you have not been there before, so we used the complimentary airport pick up. You can use their internet connection to check your mail if you ask.

There are only 5 rooms, so book early!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HJB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

This newly renovated Riad (opened in November 2006) was a great place to stay.... it's in the North of the Medina and, although you are met on arrival at Marrakech, finding it subsequently can prove a little tricky!!
Breakfast on the terrace is the best relaxing start to the day and the staff in the Riad are so helpful and really make the place feel like a home from home. We booked through "hip marrakech" website and found this to be one of the best available at its price which was below overage compared with other Riads of its type.

thoroughly recommended.

  • Liked — Friendly staff who would do anything they could to help
  • Disliked — location was great for us but perhaps a bit hard to find late at night for some....
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank focker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Elizabeth
Riad Elizabeth
#105 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Shukran
Riad Shukran
#246 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#22 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#29 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#40 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chameleon
Riad Chameleon
#121 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Porte Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Porte Royale

Property: Riad Porte Royale
Address: Derb el Maada 84, Diour Jdad | Zaouia Al-Abbesia, Medina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Porte Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We practise ethical tourism and are legally registered as a 'Maison d'Hôtes Deuxième Catégorie' no.288/2015. Featured in the international press and guidebooks, Riad Porte Royale was build around 250 years ago close to the ramparts in an historic quarter of the medina, a short walk to major monuments, the souks, the Majorelle Garden and well-known restaurants. Renovated with traditional materials, the white walls are accented with rugs, rare textiles and artefacts from the caravan routes of Africa and Asia. All five bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms, and the pure Moroccan style make the atmosphere dreamy and zen. Breakfast is included, Wi-Fi and filtered drinking water is free and our Bio shower gel and shampoo contains argane. Meals at the riad, transport and excursions can be arranged. Riad Porte Royale is a perfect place to unwind with a drink or mint tea after a day of sensory overdose in Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Porte Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Porte Royale Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing