We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“BOOK THIS RIAD -- no further search needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Porte Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Porte Royale
Ranked #282 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
1 review
“BOOK THIS RIAD -- no further search needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Staying in a Riad is all about getting an insider's glimpse to what lays behind the 30' dirt/brick walls and secretive doors that create an aura of mystery and intrigue in this community . At Porte Royale, one steps from a dusty and narrow path into Shangri-la. The photos on the site -- as stunning as they are -- don't do it proper justice. And then there's Mohammed and Hajiba. If there was a way to increase my rating to Superlative I would and it's because of these two people. Mohammed runs the operations side - -always available and accommodating. Hajiba -- an amazing chef! Were she to open a restaurant anywhere, you'd probably have to book months in advance. Fresh squeezed OJ and homemade yogurt and eggs and more every morning? Oh yes, she's as gracious as she is talented. Only regret is we only spent one week.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D808212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

My friends and I just returned from a magical stay at Riad Porte Royale. The Riad is beautiful, the decor just lovely and Mohamed, Hajiba and Najet were so accomodating. We had a fantastic week there, two delicious dinners and lovely breakfasts. Thank you to Mohamed and Hajiba for making us feel so welcomed. You are delightful! And thank you to Philip for creating such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

The riad was calm and peaceful, with a cool pool in the courtyard where we sat and dangled our feet after a walk back from the souk. It is about 20 minutes from the main square which brings the benefits of quiet (other friends staying in Marrakech were woken by loud calls to prayer in the early hours) and also means you get to know the geography of the souk fast. The service is very friendly and pleasant, breakfast delicious and the rooms clean and characterful. We added another person to our party at the last minute and the riad was very accommodating on price. Beware that not all the rooms have aircon. Our stay at Riad Porte Royale was delightful, highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallymmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

A group of 6 friends decided on a week in Marrakesh for a break. By luck we found the Porte Royale website as we needed 2 twin rooms and a double. Philip was very helpful with advice and then Mohamed and Hajiba took over. We were met at the airport and taken to a great welcome at the riad where lunch was served. The riad is perfect, traditional, simple, uncluttered. Mohamed helped us with a great guide, Jamal, to the souk and day trips to Essaouira and the Ourika Valley. He also recommended the lovely nearby Riad des Mers for dining. After the first day we got or bearings and as the riad is near the Bab el Yakout we had no difficulty finding it on our own from then on. We loved it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choumie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed for one week in this beautiful Riad. Mohammed, Hagiba and Najet were really great hosts and thanks to the owner Philip for his patience answering all our questions via email. The Riad is well located in a quiet non-touristic area, which is a good contrast to the other buzzling quarters of Marrakesch. Thanks for all your efforts, it was very interesting to get an idea of Marrakesch. I hope we will come back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank putnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

There are many riads in Marrakech to choose from - in fact a bewildering array. We decided on Riad Porte Royal because it seemed to have a very restful, tasteful aesthetic and we were seeking a sanctuary from which to make forays into the full-on madness of central Marrakech. And so it proved. The riad itself is very tranquil and beautifully presented in an architecturally- restrained way (more to an English person's taste, I think than some of the garish interiors that can be seen in other riads). However, this never felt cold or unwelcoming - on the contrary, for our stay of 5 days it always felt like home. This was due in no small part to the discreet but attentive service offered by the couple who look after the house, both of whom speak excellent English. Breakfasts are really good - plenty of variety - and we thought the accommodation represented excellent value for money. Overall, a brilliant package and an outstanding riad!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwant2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

The Owner, Philip, answered our queries and requests promptly and in detail and was so helpful even before we arrived. On arrival The Riad was just as described and utterly relaxing and more than we all expected. Hajiba and Mohammed were the perfect hosts and nothing appeared to be too much trouble, We could not have wished for them to be more helpful or accomodating during our stay. There were 12 'girls' in our Group and the Riad was the perfect place to accomodate us all with its spacious rooms and terrace.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookclubgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Andaluz
Riad Al Andaluz
#326 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#111 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#26 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Charai
Riad Charai
#194 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad La Rose D'Orient
Riad La Rose D'Orient
#319 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chameleon
Riad Chameleon
#141 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Porte Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Porte Royale

Property: Riad Porte Royale
Address: Derb el Maada 84, Diour Jdad | Zaouia Al-Abbesia, Medina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Porte Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We practise ethical tourism and are legally registered as a 'Maison d'Hôtes Deuxième Catégorie' no.288/2015. Featured in the international press and guidebooks, Riad Porte Royale was build around 250 years ago close to the ramparts in an historic quarter of the medina, a short walk to major monuments, the souks, the Majorelle Garden and well-known restaurants. Renovated with traditional materials, the white walls are accented with rugs, rare textiles and artefacts from the caravan routes of Africa and Asia. All five bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms, and the pure Moroccan style make the atmosphere dreamy and zen. Breakfast is included, Wi-Fi and filtered drinking water is free and our Bio shower gel and shampoo contains argane. Meals at the riad, transport and excursions can be arranged. Riad Porte Royale is a perfect place to unwind with a drink or mint tea after a day of sensory overdose in Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Porte Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Porte Royale Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing