We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“colorful nice riad in medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Salam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Salam
Ranked #498 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“colorful nice riad in medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This riad is small, nice, clean, but with little troubles. Really nice and helpfull staff, familiar athmosphere. Good but expensiv cuisine - dinner for 200 dirhams. Some rooms have windows only to innere space, its stiller. I was full satisfied with this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    12
    12
    14
See reviews for
11
54
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fethiye
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We arrived mid afternoon at Marrakech airport to be let down by our "booked" transfer. No-one arrived and we were left to find our own way to the Riad. Despite telephoning for help nothing was forthcoming. Arrived in what looked like a dirty street in a dodgy area. Once inside slightly more comfortable. Two young men (guests) welcomed us. No sign of owner or housekeeper. Room OK. Toilet seat almost hanging off the loo and toothpaste glasses dirty from previous guests. Breakfast pleasant enough on top terrace. Housekeeper was totally dozy and like a tit in a trance. She didn't welcome us and had no idea when we were leaving. Very bizarre woman. Would not recommend this Riad. Long walk to centre of Medina. No offers of help re finding taxi nor any advice given. There must be friendlier places in Marrakech. Totally disappointing.

Room Tip: I could not in all honesty recommend this Riad to anyone. Housekeeper useless and had no idea who we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Turgutalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Casablanca, Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed in Dar Salam one night before i headed back to the UK. It was a very nice and pleasant night. i stayed in the tent room on the roof. lovely room with traditions and nice decorations. the terrace is fantastic and you can see a lot of Marrakech from it, i had a local mint tea on the terrace that evening and enjoyed a lot. and in the morning had a fantastic local breakfast. The management are really kind and and the service during the stay was excellent. if i go back to Marrakech, i would stay again in Dar Salam

Room Tip: Tent room on the terrace,, fantastic sleep and good to spend the evincing on the terrace watching a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This riad is not close to the city centre and the dodgy area with narrow and small streets makes it difficult to follow the map and makes the journey extremely long. The youths in the area who pretend to be helping you by guiding you, fool you around the narrow streets (making it long) for something which was like 100 metres away and then force you to pay huge amounts. The smiling and helpful youths suddenly turn angry and violent.

About the riad itself, there is not tariff mentioned in the hotel. The rooms are NOT ventilated and makes it suffocating in summer with no windows outside. The bathroom and toilet area is extremely small. There is some decoration in the rooms but with the suffocation you will hardly notice it.

The housekeeper is a weird person. We were asked to pay on the day of arrival and even after asking everyday for a bill (for our proof) we were not given the same (Reasons were like the office room is closed, key is lost, owner is out, computer is broken, etc). The housekeeper is not honest with currency conversions too, by asking high exchange rates.

The hammam is not in the riad itself. They have a tie-up with a hammam place. To reach this place, you have to deal with the youths again and once you reach this even more dodgy place, you find it closed or something else, even though the housekeeper made an appointment for you. The hamman rates are extremely high compared to other hamman's mentioned in the travel books. The breakfast only starts from 8.30am, though exception is possible if asked for in advance. There is a kitchen in the riad but needs a day advance booking for meals.

Not recommended for solo travellers (especially girls). You can find similar priced riads much closer to the city center. Dont expect a wifi..................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogeshpgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here on our first night in Marrakesh and were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in their tent room on the roof. It was beautifully decorated and very unique! We loved sipping our mint teas on the roof terrace when we arrived and had a lovely breakfast their as well. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I see other reviews say that it is very noisy, but I challenge you to find a place that isn't loud when staying in the city walls. We slept great! I recommend booking in advance, we tried staying here again when we returned to Marrakesh after hiking in the High Atlas, and we weren't sure if they were full for the night, or just couldn't help us without an advanced booking. I have to say for the level of hospitality and the wonderful room you can't beat the price!

Room Tip: The Tent rooms on the roof are very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erika h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

the riad was beautiful and the staff really friendly and nice. Breakfast delicious.
The place itself short walk from the main square.
The key was to be left in the main hall while going out and it felt unconfortable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinetka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in the "Chez les nomades" tents. There are two of these, one blue and one red, both in the style of berber tents. Unfortunately they are really tents placed on the top of the building. The inside is fine, no problems there. But it gives effectively no sound insulation and it was incredibly loud hence very little sleep. Even wind against the tent makes a good deal of sound.

On the positive side, the owner was very nice as was the staff. And for the price it surely was a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine_Meier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Radya
Riad Dar Radya
#293 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lalla Piccara
Lalla Piccara
#1,021 of 1,170 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Naya
Riad Naya
#320 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#123 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Essaoussan
Riad Essaoussan
#680 of 1,170 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Amskal
Riad Amskal
#473 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Salam

Property: Dar Salam
Address: Bab Doukala | Legza , N°162, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #498 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sobha the mistress of the places and her team will accommodate you with the ryad and they are has your provision to satisfy your needs and to offer the best service to youIts Seven rooms make a privileged place of it and family......The mistress of the lieux.marocaine will make you discover the culture, the traditions and especially the kitchen of her country (it is a cordon bleu truth!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Salam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing