We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Tranquil escape from bustling medina. Super helpful French proprietors.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Dar Ganou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ranked #17 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Tranquil escape from bustling medina. Super helpful French proprietors.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

This Ryad is beautiful and clean, centrally located. The French owner was really helpful and guided us to the square, accompanied us to the bus to the airport, gave us a map and recommendations. The included breakfast was amazing on their terrace!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
131
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

The owner/manager Veronique is like family, she cares for all her clientele and is very helpful with local attractions, where to eat and what to see. The accommodation is spotless and comfortable. Breakfast is beautiful and included in your stay. The plunge pool is inviting and the roof-top terrace a great place to relax. By far our most relaxing stay in Morocco!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

We have just arrived back from a 3 night stay at Marrakech, we stayed here after researching Ryads and reading the reviews on here, and we are so pleased we did - Veronique and Jean-Marc are the most welcoming people that I have ever met away from home! they made the stay very comfortable (Jean-Marc needs to learn more english to excel this stay though!! Ha, Ha) Both are French speaking but Veronique knows enough english to communicate the basics! They like to know you are well but do not make your stay uncomfortable. Veronique even escorted me to the pharmacy when I needed supplies, and was offering to take us in to the souks to battle with the sellers!. The Ryad is based within the medina walls with a 2 min walk to the square and souks, it on first look it seems rather daunting and makes you think of the 'back alleyways' you have been warned about - but this is a wrong viewpoint and at night the alleys are very well lit up, and Veronique makes sure that you know your way before letting you out (which is a welcome touch!) - Staying here itself was the highlight of the holiday, although having not been seasoned travellers we were put off by the persistant market and souk sellers and found it incrediably hard to shop for things to bring home and came away dissapointed by this, its almost impossible to be allowed to just browse around! so the location of this Ryad would suit any seasoned haggler wishing to be in the heart of the square with all the smells and atmosphere that go along with it!!

One tip though beware of the snake charmers they will try and hold onto you till you hand over all your money!!!

Do take a horse and carriage on a tourist trip it was very good and very reasonable prices considering.

Be aware of eating on the market at a bench because they will do a very good job at welcoming you in - asking you what you want - only to then find them filling a table full of 'tapas' like bowls filled with stuff you did not order and being charged well over the odds for the whole lot!!!!! - this really upset us and meant that we were unable to allow this again for the rest of our meals, meaning that we also missed out on the heart of the atmosphere!!

Oh and Veronique is more than happy to pre-order you a taxi from the airport make sure you communicate this to here on booking as it certainly is a good idea and enusres that immediately you land you will not be hassled out of your dirhams before unpacking!!!

All in all this is top marks for a taste of heaven in a mad world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Debbie - Worthing, West Sussex

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiemott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Owned by a very friendly french couple, this lovely restored ryad (a rectangular house with a central open-sky court and the roooms around), is situated in the old city of Marrakech. It is one of the best I've seen. The architecture has been rebuild in the old morocan tradition, with a "modern traditionnal" style, with lovely decorations and artistic objects. A perfect fresh water basin in the patio, where you may refresh by the hot afternoons, or at night, watching the stars ! A patio on the roof allows you to watch around the "suspended gardens" like in Babylon...
Rooms with individual climatisation. Abundant breakfast with real french croissants !
Prices very reasonable (twinroom with a lovely balcony: 70 Euros).
Very easy access from the Jamaa Elfna famous place, you cannot get lost !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshtamirSabir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

We had a wonderful stay in Marrakech, having been set up with a great welcome and then continuing good service from Veronique, Jean-Marc and their staff at Dar Ganou.
They arranged for a taxi to meet us from the airport, then Veronique met the taxi and introduced us to the labyrinth-like streets in the Medina. Once we were settled into our rooms, Veronique guided us to the famous square, Jemaa el Fnaa so that we could get our bearings.
In the mornings they provided a feast for breakfast that set us up for the day and the service the rest of the time was top notch. Veronique and Jean-Marc were helpful and always on hand to answer our queries, without being intrusive.
Our rooms were clean, had air-conditioning and were well-presented, with en suite bathroom. There was enough space for all stuff and to lounge around in. Not that we wanted too, preferring to spend time in the cooling plunge pool or on the terrace in the late afternoon enjoying the views and the loungers until the stars came out
All of this meant that we wanted to spend as much time enjoying the ryad as exploring the glorious city with its winding streets, many souks and great places to eat.
When we left, early in the morning, Veronique made sure that I took some breakfast with me and she found us a taxi and checked the price for us.
We loved Marrakech and this was no doubt in large part down to Veronique, Jean-Marc and the delightful Ryad Dar Ganou.

  • Liked — The owners, cleanliness, location, atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leaving.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haruki_Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

We returned yesterday from a 48 hour trip to Marrakech which went smoothly and gave us a great introduction to Morocco - this was largely due to Veronique and John-Marc owners of Dar Ganou. They arranged for us to be met at airport and then met our taxi to personally show us the way to the Ryad, we then found ouselves in a beautiful calm oasis in the midst of the city. We had a lovely twin room overlooking courtyard with shower sink and toliet en-suite, all clean fresh and featuring local fabrics and ornaments. The upstairs roof terrace overlooks the city, mosques, towers and roof gardens. The whole place has a calm simple sophistication without being showy and prices are excellent value for money. We were given maps and directions then shown the way to main square just 2 minutes walk away and had a personal introduction to the "do's and don'ts" by Jean-Marc who made sure we knew our way home through the warren of alley-ways. Our stay featured time for chatting on the terrace enjoying a quiet drink, beautiful breakfasts again sat in the sunshine and some great meals nearbye at the end of days walking miles marvelling at the city. For an early departure we were escorted by Veronique who found a taxi and checked the price for us. Marrakech is an exciting city where we felt safe and at home thanks to our hosts and there beautiful Ryad - go there you won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — The owners, location, style & cleanliness
  • Disliked — Leaving so soon
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank docpylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing, west sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

This wasn't our first visit to Marrakesh but was the first to this Ryad - it will not be the last. It is very near to Place Jemaa-el-Fna and the Souks. The owners Jean-Marc and Veronique gave as a great welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. Drinks on the patio to revive us and booked a restaurant (and showed us the way). This Ryad is so near the everything. Veronique even showed us the quickest route to the Place. The bedroom are simply furnished, clean, comfortable and the towels were changed each day. There is a sun terrace with view over the medina towards the Koutoubia mosque and a small pool at ground level to cool off. The breakfasts are fantastic and really set us up for the day. This Ryad is excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#4 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Dar Ganou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Dar Ganou

Property: Ryad Dar Ganou
Address: 3, derb Fahl Ezzafriti | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true guest house ideally located in Médina !At 2 minutes of the famous Jemâa-el-Fna place and Minaret of Koutoubia.It's in the district El ksour (ksour plural of ksar which wants to say palace) that this charming ryad.Its ideal site with 2 mn with feet of the place Jemaa el fna and Koutoubia, will enable you to benefit from l' environment of the souks and l' agitation of the place, but also of l' attraction of the European district of Guéliz (10 mn with feet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ryad Dar Ganou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing