We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“perfect Riad, brilliant location, I definitely recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryad Dar Ganou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ranked #21 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect Riad, brilliant location, I definitely recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This Riad is just a few minutes from the main square, Jemaa el-Fna and very easy to find. Once inside the door, it's a haven of peace, friendliness, ease and relaxation. I stayed here with my two children, 10 and 11 and they also found it perfect. The pool was a total bonus, absolutely big enough for us all to splash around and play in. The roof terrace was wonderful for breakfast (very plentiful and yummy), sun worshipping (if you have time!), a shady area too, and also has a fab view of the city below.
The owners Veronique and JMarc were so lovely, the perfect hosts and Mohammed who works there, well nothing was too much trouble for him too.
The room was spacious and very clean, the bathroom ditto. Our room had air con too.
I'll definitely book with Veronique if/when I visit Marrakech again and would recommend to all my friends.
I'd also recommend asking Veronique to organise an airport transfer (the same price as a regular taxi, and even better as there's no haggling or worry for your first trip!) The driver dropped us off a few minutes from the ryad and Veronique met us there herself. And I have a feeling she was watching the flight times as we landed 30 minutes early and he was still there waiting!

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Some have balcony, all looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hippyhappyholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
138
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Ryad is beautiful, Veronique was such a lovely host. Very welcoming and helpful, couldn't have asked for a better host. We booked a taxi from the airport and she came to meet us when we got dropped off which was a big help (her little dog was also very cute and nice to have around) The rooms are lovely and cosy, it was cleaned and the beds were made every day. Breakfast was lovely and the mint tea even more lovely. So glad we picked this place to stay, the location is excellent, just a 5 minute walk to the Jeema El Fna square. Would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed with my partner in May/June 2014. Highly recommended.

Is this the most beautiful Ryad in Marrakesh? Maybe not, but it's pretty lovely - you shouldn't ask for more. Are the rooms the most luxorious? Again, maybe not but they are thoughtfully designed, comfortable and homely. Would I come back over and over again? 100% yes. Veronique, the host at Ryad Dar Ganou was exceptionally accomodating, incredibly helpful and genuinely a lovely person to have met. Thanks again for the piece of homemade clafoutis (cherry pie) that did wonders on my terrible hangover from the night before.

If I came back to Marrakech, I would not stay any where else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State of Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
222 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Dar Ganou for 5 nights. We had a wonderful experience and we highly recommend the accommodation and the location.
We asked the owner to send us a driver to pick us up at the airport (15 Eur) and we were glad we did it. Once we exit the arrival doors, the heat was unbearable. The driver dropped us near the Ryad and Veronique was waiting for us at the car stop, to guide us to the Ryad. Just few minutes away we were introduced to what looked like an oasis.
All very nicely settled, comfortable, clean, quiet, and peaceful. Birds singing, a good shade from the sun, and the cool small pool (which were a blessing during the hottest hours). Véronique and J.Marc were very attentive, as were the other two staff. Super friendly hosts.
Breakfast was delicious.
The location is perfect for city tour. When we were tired of our walk around (or need the loo), we just returned to the ryad, rested, and were reinvigorated to continue our walks and sightseeing.
It is good value for money, and will add to your fantastic experience in Marrakesh.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor seems better, than on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4Fun_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Arriving in Marrakesh at dusk can feel a little overwhelming, but not if you are guided every step of the way. Our welcome by the Riad Dar Ganou and its owners, Véronique and Jean-Marc, began at the airport. A driver was there to meet us with a sign, even though our flight was early. He drove us into town and Véronique was waiting for us in the street with a baggage handler for our suitcases. She saw us safely through the winding streets to the riad. This place is right next to the Jemaa El Fna, and once you are shown the way in, it is very easy to find.

Dar Ganou is a beautiful, quiet, sanctuary complete with a turquoise reflecting pool and a huge healthy tree in the middle of the ground floor living area. It has a hip, laid-back style that is relaxing and reflects the overall ease of this riad and its owners. Our room was pretty, well appointed, immaculate and comfortable. The staff members were gentle, competent and welcoming. I had asked for extra pillows and they were there, I didn’t have to ask again. We were greeted by smiles and tea and almonds when we arrived. My friend, who had not eaten that day, was offered a tray of tempting snacks brought to our room without having been requested, nor were we charged for this food. I have never experienced this kind of service in a small hotel. It was outstanding.

We had been told to buy our Supra Tour bus tickets to Essaouira a day in advance but had problems ordering them on the internet before we left England, and Véronique offered to buy them for us, which she did. After a few days in Essaouira we decided to leave a day early to spend an extra night in Marrakesh. Although Dar Ganou was full-up for the night we wanted, Véronique found us a lovely room for the same price in a riad that was right next door. The following morning we moved with no trouble back to Dar Ganou for our last night. Véronique gave us tips and suggestions on what to pay the caleche drivers for our tour around town, what to see, and where to eat. She also helped me with my French which I greatly appreciated.

Because we had a morning flight on our last day, Véronique and Jean-Marc served us an early breakfast on the terrace where I looked out over the Jemaa El Fna, and hated to leave. The breakfasts at Dar Ganou are generous, delicious and varied compared to the simple one we had four mornings in a row in the Essaouira riad.

Dar Ganou is a charming riad that can be highly recommended. What makes this place so very special is the quality of hospitality, kindness and generosity extended so full-heartedly by Véronique and Jean-Marc, and the gentle people who work for them. This kind of hospitality and authenticity are rare and I could not have asked for more. These are the kind of folk you would want to call friends. Thank you so much for everything Véronique et Jean-Marc! I had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The ryad is located just 3 minutes walk away from the main plaza, and 2 minutes away from where taxis can drop you off. The owner Véronique will come with her dog Shwya to pick you up and bring you to the ryad.

The service is excellent. Véronique can help you in your every need while in Marrakech, and most often she will bring you to where you want to go, just to make sure you find your way!

There is a family atmosphere. Guests can sit together and chat next to the small "pool", while the hosts join you. There is a roof top balcony with great views.

Breakfast is great! Lots of varieties and very generous quantity. The staff are very friendly.

Great place to stay!

Room Tip: I stayed in the room Remla (sable), located on the ground floor. The windows can't open and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yuyu418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

My stay at Ryad Dar Ganou was in honour of my hen party, 6 of us (from the UK) travelled and stayed there together. We had the entire Ryad to ourselves and we were blown away by the service, friendliness and extra mile Veronique, Marc, Mohammed and Noel were prepared to go to in order to ensure our comfort. No request for help or information was too big or small.

Veronique organised reasonably priced activities for us that we were keen to experience and took us into the Medina on our first day to show us the square, souks, cash machines, bureau de change, good places to eat in the square and the way back to the Ryad.

Marc took us off the beaten track to a village that makes many of the items you can find in the souks, he looked after us all well and had a brilliant sense of humour.

Mohammed was always willing to help and offer his service with a friendly smile and gave us information about places to visit in Gueliz when we fancied a night out.

Noel took special care when cleaning and tidying our rooms, each day the bed was laid in a new refreshing yet ornate style.

Veronique and Marc's little dog was really cute and friendly.

The Ryad location is perfect as we were right in the centre of the Medina so very close to the souks, the square, the Marrakesh Koutoubia Mosque, taxi ranks, bureau de change, cash machines and a 20 - 30min walk from Gueliz where you get to see the Medina wall from the other side. Yet when you close the door to the Ryad you are in a tranquil peaceful environment - just perfect after a day in the vibrant souks and intense Medina.

When we left Marc took all our bags to the taxi rank for us and both Veronique and Marc came to wave us off as we left to return home. It was such a lovely touch and felt so sad to say goodbye to them.

I will definitely go back to Marrakesh and for me there will only ever be one place to stay here - Ryad Dar Ganou.

Thank you again Veronique, Marc, Mohammed and Noel and bless you all!

Room Tip: All the rooms at this Ryad had their own quirky styles, were equally furnished, peaceful, comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amywithhens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#18 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#9 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Badi
Riad Badi
#10 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#37 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Dar Ganou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Dar Ganou

Property: Ryad Dar Ganou
Address: 3, derb Fahl Ezzafriti | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true guest house ideally located in Médina !At 2 minutes of the famous Jemâa-el-Fna place and Minaret of Koutoubia.It's in the district El ksour (ksour plural of ksar which wants to say palace) that this charming ryad.Its ideal site with 2 mn with feet of the place Jemaa el fna and Koutoubia, will enable you to benefit from l' environment of the souks and l' agitation of the place, but also of l' attraction of the European district of Guéliz (10 mn with feet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ryad Dar Ganou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing