We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Dar Ganou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ranked #17 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The couple running the Ryad were lovely and extremely helpful - even meeting us in the middle of the night to show us the way there. They also have a very friendly dog. The breakfast was excellent, by far the best in various places in Morocco we stayed. The terrace is a nice place to eat and relax. The room was clean and charming. Location is excellent, just a short walk to main square. Would recommend as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
131
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We found Ryad Dar Ganou by chance after some kids decided to lead us down some random alleyways. Such a find though, and actually really simple to find your way to the main square once Veronique shows you! It's got a little pool which is perfect for July in Marrakech. The rooms have air con and it's all really nicely furbished, with a lovely airy courtyard in the middle. Breakfast was very tasty (great homecooked mismins!) and very extensive, with fresh orange juice and excellent coffee. Veronique was so friendly and helpful with useful advice and coming to help us get taxis etc. She even put some laundry on for us at no extra cost! In general, it felt really homely and perfect respite from the craziness of central Marrakech only about 5 mins walk away.

Room Tip: All really nice. Only a few so prob best to book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gl_davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We found this beautiful, well kept riad by pure accident when we were wandering through the back alleyways of the Medina. Run by an absolutely charming French couple, the riad is very clean, extremely welcoming, and quiet despite being two minutes' walk from the main square. The welcome from Jean-Marc and Veronique couldn't have been better. Highly recommended and I don't see why anyone would stay anywhere else in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamSpreadbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

From the moment we arrived, Veronique was the perfect host. She guided us on the short walk into Djemaa El Fna to get our bearings and suggested places to eat. Nothing seemed too much trouble. It is a great location, just a few minutes to the main square and the souks. The riad was wonderful. It was very calm and cool. It wasn't busy, but I'm not sure what it would be like if there were families staying with small children. A lovely breakfast was served on the terrace, looking across the roofs of Marrakech to the snow-capped Atlas, by the smiley staff. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated and very clean, a plug for the basin would have been handy. Veronique made several reliable suggestions including restaurants, a place to get a massage, a trip out to the Ourika Valley and a cookery course. Some French is recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia_Heaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

This Ryad is beautiful and clean, centrally located. The French owner was really helpful and guided us to the square, accompanied us to the bus to the airport, gave us a map and recommendations. The included breakfast was amazing on their terrace!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

The owner/manager Veronique is like family, she cares for all her clientele and is very helpful with local attractions, where to eat and what to see. The accommodation is spotless and comfortable. Breakfast is beautiful and included in your stay. The plunge pool is inviting and the roof-top terrace a great place to relax. By far our most relaxing stay in Morocco!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

We have just arrived back from a 3 night stay at Marrakech, we stayed here after researching Ryads and reading the reviews on here, and we are so pleased we did - Veronique and Jean-Marc are the most welcoming people that I have ever met away from home! they made the stay very comfortable (Jean-Marc needs to learn more english to excel this stay though!! Ha, Ha) Both are French speaking but Veronique knows enough english to communicate the basics! They like to know you are well but do not make your stay uncomfortable. Veronique even escorted me to the pharmacy when I needed supplies, and was offering to take us in to the souks to battle with the sellers!. The Ryad is based within the medina walls with a 2 min walk to the square and souks, it on first look it seems rather daunting and makes you think of the 'back alleyways' you have been warned about - but this is a wrong viewpoint and at night the alleys are very well lit up, and Veronique makes sure that you know your way before letting you out (which is a welcome touch!) - Staying here itself was the highlight of the holiday, although having not been seasoned travellers we were put off by the persistant market and souk sellers and found it incrediably hard to shop for things to bring home and came away dissapointed by this, its almost impossible to be allowed to just browse around! so the location of this Ryad would suit any seasoned haggler wishing to be in the heart of the square with all the smells and atmosphere that go along with it!!

One tip though beware of the snake charmers they will try and hold onto you till you hand over all your money!!!

Do take a horse and carriage on a tourist trip it was very good and very reasonable prices considering.

Be aware of eating on the market at a bench because they will do a very good job at welcoming you in - asking you what you want - only to then find them filling a table full of 'tapas' like bowls filled with stuff you did not order and being charged well over the odds for the whole lot!!!!! - this really upset us and meant that we were unable to allow this again for the rest of our meals, meaning that we also missed out on the heart of the atmosphere!!

Oh and Veronique is more than happy to pre-order you a taxi from the airport make sure you communicate this to here on booking as it certainly is a good idea and enusres that immediately you land you will not be hassled out of your dirhams before unpacking!!!

All in all this is top marks for a taste of heaven in a mad world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Debbie - Worthing, West Sussex

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiemott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#4 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Dar Ganou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Dar Ganou

Property: Ryad Dar Ganou
Address: 3, derb Fahl Ezzafriti | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true guest house ideally located in Médina !At 2 minutes of the famous Jemâa-el-Fna place and Minaret of Koutoubia.It's in the district El ksour (ksour plural of ksar which wants to say palace) that this charming ryad.Its ideal site with 2 mn with feet of the place Jemaa el fna and Koutoubia, will enable you to benefit from l' environment of the souks and l' agitation of the place, but also of l' attraction of the European district of Guéliz (10 mn with feet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Ryad Dar Ganou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing