We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveler rating
381
25
3
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
25
3
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguided tourmoroccan historya short walking distancefairy talean oasisbeautiful roof terraceorange juicejamalriadatlasmedinaelsquareinsightbustlingexcursionsbustle
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 416 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2008

Riad Saba
We had a truly glorious long weekend in Marrakech staying at this beautiful Riad, located off the main square away from the noise and bustle but conveniently near a small square that the taxi could reach so we did not have to carry our bags any distance. Inside, the Riad took our breath away. It has been authentically renovated and yet still seems like a family home with all the comforts and facilities you would need. All the bedrooms were exquisitely furnished and the beds were very comfortable. They all had Moroccan tiled ensuites, easy chairs, carved wooden shutters as well as plush furnishings. The roof garden was delightful and even on a cool winter morning we were able to lounge on divans and take out breakfast of yoghurt, figs and freshly baked bread, the hot pancakes were prepared as we sat. What a start to the day! Although we ate out to sample the local restaurants, the dinner which was cooked for us at the Riad was as good if not better than dining out and when we go again we shall take full advantage of the owners’ daily offers to prepare out meals. The four staff looked after us very well and the owners Maria and Jabrane gave us invaluable advice when asked about restaurants and sightseeing. Everyone in the house made a special effort to help me celebrate my special birthday down to red roses and a birthday cake. We have all taken away from Morocco warm thoughts and long to return.

Stephanie & Andy

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GrandTour1537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

When in Marrakech with my boyfriend and his family, we stayed at the lovely Riad Saba. We hired the whole Riad, so had total privacy, which was a real luxury - but with only five rooms, it would never feel too crowded even if there were others staying. Each of the rooms is different, decorated in a different colour scheme and subtly different style, all nicely furnished and accessorised with lovely tiled bathrooms, and what seems to the tourist to be a properly Moroccan feel - certainly this is no soulless chain hotel! And they're all very large compared to most hotel bedrooms. Little touches like the mini-tajine filled with nuts and dried fruit, or the rosewater in the bathroom really make this Riad special.

The roof-top terrace is lovely, and even in November was very pleasant to sit out on, with a number of different seating areas, two with shade. On sunny days, breakfast is served in one of the shaded areas, a lovely start to the day. And if you want to eat in of an evening, the food served here was well worth a try, and as good as most and better than some of the restaurants we tried. All of the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, and would make an effort to communicate despite not speaking English. The owners, Jabrane and Maria, are Moroccan and Swedish respectively, and both speak perfect English (if that's what you're looking for) and were extremely friendly and helpful. If you want to book a trip to a Hammam, let Maria know - but give her some advance notice, as apparently the really good ones get booked up three to four days in advance. We enjoyed the one she booked for us, though she felt it wasn't up to her standards. They'll also book restaurants and taxis, etc, should you need them to. (Tanjia is especially good - try the fish tajine - and only ten to fifteen minutes walking distance away.) The Riad also runs guided tours, which we didn't take up, but I have no doubt that they would be as excellent as the rest of the experience!

Location is also fab - only five to ten minutes walk from the main square and souks (or half an hour if you're stopping at all the shops on the way!) And there's a night porter as well as staff during the day, so there's always someone to let you in, and you feel safe and secure at all times.

All in all, highly recomended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KateinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Riad Saba in early October and thought it was wonderful.

As soon as you step through the door from the hustle and bustle of the city you enter a beautifully decorated, calm and serene environment.

Maria and her team make you feel really welcome and at home and Maria gave us some great guidance on where to find certain items to buy, getting a coach to Essaouria, eating out etc.

We have already recommended the Riad to a number of friends and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandjg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

I stayed for 4 nights at Riad Saba, taking the whole riad over for two of those nights. This was for a special birthday party and our stay was certainly very special. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, owners Maria and Jabrane and their staff looked after us superbly.
The rooms were extremely comfortable, simple and homely (none of the sterile perfection so often seen on riad websites) and there was plently of hot water at all times. The dining area was lovely, so too the spacious sitting room and the terrace and having a bedroom on the ground floor was very useful for people who didn't want to go up and down stairs.
Breakfasts were huge and delicious, as were the dinners (and the Friday vegetable couscous lunch).
Maria's knowledge of Marrakech and Morocco was fantastic and her guided walk around town was well worth it. She knew all the best places to go, whether for food, clothes or souvenirs.
But, best of all was the absolutely amazing birthday party evening held at Riad Saba for 14 adults and 7 children. We had musicians who kept everyone (from 73 to 3) entertained, a sumptuous feast with some of the most delicious vegetables I've ever eaten (not to mention the beef tagine), perfect service and smiles all around. A night to remember; a holiday to be etched on everyone's memories.
And we all felt so at home that it would have been easy to stay for ever!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Twiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

My sister and I have just returned from a fun and relaxing break in Marrakech. We walked into Riad Saba from the bustling streets and entered an oasis of calm. We were stunned by the beautiful decor and quiet ambience. As this place is only 5 minutes walk from the centre and the souks, the position was perfect for our stay. Maria, Jabrane and all the staff provided us with everthing we needed, both at the riad and for getting around Marrakech. Maria and Jabrane were able to advise us on the best places to go, how to get there and the prices to pay. Maria provided us with a local map which was invaluable. we enjoyed breakfasts on the roof terrace, mint tea in the longe and our room was clean and tastefully decorated with added touches to make us feel welcome. We would return to Riad Saba if or when we go back to Marrakech and recommend it to anyone who is visiting the city.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews