We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice riad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Saba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Saba
Ranked #61 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice riad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed at Riad Saba with my wife for 4 days. We booked our stay at the very last minute, and the owner, Maria, was able to arrange for us a pick up from Casablanca. She accepted payment in different currencies (Euro, Dirhams, or US dollars). The price was quite reasonable for a nice place like this. the location is about 10 mins walk to Jem el Fna. I rate this place 5 stars because of a few things that we are thankful for. First was security. During our stay there were numerous riots and protests (this was around the time of the Egypt protests, and unbeknownst to us, there was a national day of protest!). There was a security guard who checked to make sure places were safe to go, and i believe he even went out to look for us when we didn't return until very late one evening. Also, one of the workers, (i think her name was 'Imam') helped us find a shoe store and bargained with the owner so that we weren't completely ripped off, and she even mailed our post cards for us. The workers would prepare a nice breakfast in the morning whenever we got up. Because we were visiting in the off-season we had the entire place to ourselves! Lastly, the owner arranged for a day trip to the atlas mountains which was a great experience. So overall i think this is a nice place to visit. Message me if you have any questions about this place.

Room Tip: i was in a brown room. i can't remember which one it was. but really all of the rooms are quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    21
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
97
134
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Cosy rooms (stayed in "Mauve" which I liked the most (visited all the rooms on that floor).

Breakfast was fantastic, helpfull staff.
Entire hotel is beautiful.

Only two distubing things were people playing football on the nearby square, which was a little (but only very little - ) disturbing.
It irritaded me a little bit that we were charged 20 dirhams for a simple tourist map given in the hotel - I havent been charged for maps even in the cheapest hostels in Asia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrAlexS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Everything was perfect at Riad Saba. Cosy rooms. Lovely breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.
Riad Saba was the perfect introduction to Marrakech.
we`ll be back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

This was a second visit for myself and a third for my travelling companion. Another fabulous stay. Nothing is too much trouble for Maria and Jebrane, who are exquisite hosts and the lovely friendly and helpful staff. Our transfer to and from the airport was organised and we were met at the Riad the inhouse staff with mint tea and home made pastries.

Maria and Jebrane ensure that your experience is smooth and relaxing and their knowledge and advice is most helpful for the contrasting bustle of the city. Rashida, the housekeeper, accompanied us to buy spices and she took us the markets where the moroccans shop and showed us the fish & meat markets and the bakery where the local pastilla is made.

Riad Saba is beautifully furnished; stylish and the rooms all of a good size, light and airy and all have aircon. The roof top terrace is a great place to have breakfast and sun loungers and sunhats are provided if you want to do nothing but relax. The location is central and is within a five minute walk of the Place Jemme El Efna; local restaurants and souks. We stayed on each trip for four or five days but you come away feeling like you have known each other for years!

We would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Marrakech and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else! Loved it!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are a little lighter. All are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndiandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Staying in a Riad while in Marrakech is a fantastic way to visit, and Riad Saba is the only one you'll want to stay at. The streets and alleys of Marakech were often hectic and confusing and the weather was unseasonably hot - which often made for exhausting days of explorations. After a busy day of moving through the city, coming back to an oasis like Riad Saba was a relief. It's beautiful inside. The atmosphere was total relaxation and Maria, Jabrane and the staff were superb hosts. The rooms were the cool, quiet, clean accomodations we expected but much more beautiful than we had hoped. The meals they provided us were delicious and served with local wines that were a revelation. Others have written about how helpful Jabrane and Maria are and I whole-heartedly agree with what I've read. Their love for their city and the culture is enlightening and infectious. Their advice helped us save money, time and made our explorations more meaningful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Riad Saba was an oasis of peace and quiet in the frenetic medina of Marrakech. Jebrane and Maria were incredible hosts -- We felt like we were staying with friends. Jebrane gave us essential tips to avoid getting scammed and great advice in general for our first visit to Marrakech. All the staff were so accommodating -- When we needed breakfast at 500am to make a tour, when we wanted wine at 1000pm, the staff catered to us with a smile. Our room, "Ocean," was lovely and most importantly, had air conditioning! Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was plentiful (coffee, tea, orange juice, hard-boiled eggs, bread, yogurt, fruit, and more), and our one dinner at the Riad was excellent (Moroccan salads, chicken tagine for my partner and veggie tagine for me, and fresh melon for dessert). The only negative we can think of is our cold shower on the last day (The Riad had run out of gas on Sunday and couldn't get more delivered until Monday.); however, Jebrane handled the issue graciously by apologizing and explaining the situation without our even having to bring it up. We would, without hesitation, recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech. And we thank Jebrane, Maria, and their entire staff for making our stay such a good one.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wendela76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellinge, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at Riad Saba over a fortnight during a total of 8 nights in the middle of June 2011. The owners are really helpful and have loads of information to give, if you so require. They truly do their best in trying to make the guest feel just like home. You get an insight in Marroccan family life with Friday couscous and hints on the best hammam. They can also help arranging trips, from the odd cabdrive to trips to the Atlas. We got the impression that the trips they arrange is more on the sustainable side and they truly care for the impact tourism is making on the secluded villages in the Atlas.
The Riad itself is a true oasis and a getaway from the intense life in the Medina. The whole Riad is beautifully decorated and a real pleasure to stay in. The staff is very friendly and make excellent meals on request. (Do request them!) When we come back to Marrakech Riad Saba is the place for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#202 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#73 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#151 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Limouna
Riad Limouna
#152 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#59 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#8 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Saba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Saba

Property: Riad Saba
Address: 2 derb Cherkaoui | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Saba 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Traveler's Choice 2015! The cosy riad offer a warm hospitality, great breakfast and central location. Riad Saba is run by a Swedish-Moroccan couple and is very centrally located in the old town. Just off the big square and 5 minutes to museums and restaurants. Guarded parking just outside the riad. The guestrooms are very spacious and comfortable with heating, a/c, ensuite bathrooms and free wifi.The basic premise of Riad Saba is hospitality of a more individual kind. We want our guests to feel that they have been invited into a home. A home away from home in an exotic yet relaxing oasis. We are happy to help you with insider tips, transfers and activities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Saba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Saba Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing