We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well located and perfectly adequate for short breaks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atlas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Atlas
Ranked #326 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well located and perfectly adequate for short breaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Located a 60 second walk from Jemaa el Fna, we found the Hotel Atlas perfectly situated for exploring straight into the heart of the medina and souks, and for the hustle and excitement of the night market. The rooms are compact but clean and comfortably furnished. As is generally the case in Marrakech they are located around a pleasant central courtyard that serves as a place to relax and enjoy a cool moment away from the sun.

We opted to stay in the basic double room without en suite, however the hotel offers a range of rooms including air conditioning, televisions and bathrooms. The standard room included a sink with cold water and was well kept by daily housekeeping. Communal showering facilities were basic but clean with one shared toilet and a shower on each floor. Rooms on the ground floor suffer slightly from the noise of guests coming and going into the evening - the staff volunteered a change of room to a quieter location after our first night.

Hotel Atlas has two levels of sun terrace for those so inclined, with basic refreshments on sale from reception. You can hear the sounds from the market drifting across while on the terraces but these don't intrude inside. Our hosts were welcoming and friendly and we would certainly visit again, indeed some of the guests we met were already on their second visit.

Consider using a taxi to find the hotel as streets in the central medina are not well sign posted. Alternatively look for the white painted archway to the right of Cafe Glacier and follow the alley. We booked in advance but many other visitors appeared to be requesting rooms as walk-ups.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back or higher up to avoid noisy evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richabramsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    41
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
43
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here a couple of months ago and it was great. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff are really friendly and helpful, and you can't get a better location for 'The Square'. Liked it so much I stayed there again on my way home. It's a little expensive for what it is, but the location and staff make up for that!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeastMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

+ At a central point
+ helpful, friendly staff

- small, dark and sometimes stinky and wet rooms

All together it's okay for 1 or 2 nights but nothing special. The breakfast is ok, coffee, bread, jam, egg and juice for 25 dh.
You can reach almost everything from there by feet.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonnenanpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a fantastic stay! The room was spotless, comfortable beds and had everything we needed. Beautiful courtyard and rooftop terrace. Very good breakfast for 25dh. The whole place was cleaned top to bottom everyday. And best of all the staff are absolutely lovely, they made our stay so enjoyable. They can also offer information about trips to Atlas Mountains and the desert. The location was great, very easy to find and so close to Jemaa El Fna. We have been traveling on a budget for many months and this has been our most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KalenandMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here one night. Price was cheap and got what I paid for. Very near to Jemma el Fna but also means it was horribly noisy. No a/c so had to sleep with the window open and between traffic noise, the square, people walking by and some squalling cat, didn't get much sleep. The sheets were clean but had holes in them. Bed was uncomfortable. Only one shared toilet on the floor and the one downstairs had no toilet seat. The room was infested with ants. Spend a bit more and stay in a nicer, there are tons of nice riads near the square.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prairie_Wanderer_383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed in one of the triple rooms here with two friends; 450 dirhams for a room with AC, its own bathroom, and a TV was a great bargain, and we had a pretty good 24 hours here.

The staff were helpful and friendly, giving us maps and plenty of advice - Abdulallah in particular was a real star. The rooms were clean, and the lobby is absolutely beautiful, while the location, 30 seconds from Djemma El-Fna, is perfect. Wifi worked pretty well, but only really downstairs - so don't expect to be checking your emails in bed. Otherwise, if you're in Marrakech for a short stay, it's pretty perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmaltby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Hotel itself is very nice and very close to Djeema-el-fna. We got a room in the 2nd floor which was very nice, but loud during the night. The showers were nice and hot, but the bathrooms were disguting! No toilet paper at all! Besides that, they had a great beautiful terrace and the hotel is super cute. If you don't mind a dirty and smelly bathroom, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolsbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#306 of 512 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#304 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
20.8 mi away
Le Coq  Hardi
Le Coq Hardi
#472 of 512 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#249 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.8 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#362 of 512 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#221 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas

Property: Hotel Atlas
Address: 50 Rue Sidi Bouloukate Riad Zitoun lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Atlas is only 2 minutes from the mythic square Jemaa El Fna, in the heart of the medina of Marrakech and close to most important historical sites of the city, the hotel Atlas designed in the purest traditional moroccan style, with its wide and green two patios, offers you charming rooms with exceptional price/quality starting from a single room to quintuple, the hotel staff will answer any of your requests.Clean rooms, beds are made by hand with wide iron and wooden frames in a purist design moroccan style.The rooms have view onto the Riad's central courtyard with their green plants pots and its Gibson walls and zellige . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Atlas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing