We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, highly recommended!”
Review of Riad Mandalay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Mandalay
Ranked #114 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the friendly atmosphere to the wonderful food, we had a great stay at Riad Mandalay. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners Patrice and Aline - helpful directions and recommendations, assistance booking taxis and trips, and a genuine desire to help and to ensure we had a great stay. Lovely and quiet, but very conveniently located for sight-seeing - in our 5 day stay we were able to walk almost everywhere. Marrakech is a beautiful but crazy city and it was great to have somewhere peaceful and welcoming to come back to each evening. We are looking forward to our return visit. Would thoroughly recommend booking direct with the Riad rather than using Booking.com or similar - they are extremely accommodating and helpful. Merci, Patrice et Aline!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Millie_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Riad Mandalay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 401 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riad Mandalay. The Riad is a beautiful calm oasis, with a roof terrace where drinks can be served, and where you can enjoy the lovely weather once you return from the bustling medina. It is a good location because the main square and sites are within walking distance. There are also restaurants on the doorstep so you do not have to return to the main square to eat if you want to eat out rather than eating in the Riad. We recommend the spa and the Hammam scrub! Aline and Patrice are excellent, kind and generous hosts who will stop at nothing to ensure that your stay is everything it should be. We will be back with our daughter soon for a massage and a trip into the Atlas mountains.

Room Tip: At least three or four rooms can be upgraded with an extra bed for a child.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I loved my stay at Riad Mandalay. It is very conveniently located and I was able to walk to most places that I wanted to visit. It was my first time to Marrakech and Patrice and Aline were extremely welcoming and a great help in finding my way about the Kasbah and wider Marrakech. This is a very hectic city and coming back to the Riad each day to a fabulous mint tea was the perfect way to unwind after getting lost in the Souks and sightseeing. I had dinner twice at the Riad and both meals were generously portioned and excellent with breakfast being lighter but still a great start to the day. Riad Mandalay is relaxed, spacious and private and I would recommend it without hesitation. A big thank you to Patrice, Aline and all your fantastic staff, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

firstly it's at a convenient location in medina...not too near the main square (jemma-el-fnaa), but within walking distance. situated on rue kasbah and very near to the Bab Agnou and the mosque, this was ideal.
neat Riad, reasonable prices and calm and quiet!
best thing was the manager and the staff...starting from Claudio the GM (who is a super-chilled super helpful reggae-loving guy) and rest of staff - they were great. Claudio helped us with explaining all the sites/ sounds around Medina - places to go, places to eat, etc - and also set us up with the tours to ourika valley and the 2-day Zagora trip...
there' a small pool in the courtyard (was a bit cold for us to use), and an in-house massage and hammam center (just give them advance notice for the hammam/ massage though).
breakfast was a nice simple affair of crossiants, bread, preserves, pancake, juice, etc,and you could order food at the riad too from a choice of spread which were mainly moroccon/ italian leaning...and the courtyard was a nice place to catch up with fellow-travellers.
our rooms were not too large, but there were other rooms which were larger...check availability while booking.
it will be like staying with friends...we hope it stays like this.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoumitreeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Clean, beautiful. well located and most importantly SAFE!

First this hotel was great. From the moment we walked in, we got a really helpful crash course to the Medina and was givin a map an amazing cup of tea.

We were booked for a fancy pants hotel on the side for the second half of the trip and I knew then and I know now that I should have canceled and just stayed here. Super affordable for what you get.

Also there was like a couple models from Paris who were working there or hanging out or something.. Yea. that was nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tianling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a great place. Very reasonable, lovely rooms and so relaxed. Great location walking distance to the souks and square. Lovely food cooked if you want to eat in doors too.

Unfortunately we were four women travellers and we labelled the street to it sleeze street but it was nothing we couldn't handle. Don't let that put you off as we would deinstalled stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cattarzipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived in Marrakech with the intention of staying only two nights. We both have terrible colds and were very happy to find a quiet place to recuperate. Claudio an his staff were extremely helpful in pointing us in the right direction for ATM's, food and attractions. They also provided us with a quiet, air conditioned place to rest. Our room was large and clean. The beds very comfortable. Continental breakfast is included with very good coffee. We bought at the local market stall to add to our meal. We also took advantage of their private hammam and would highly recommend booking a session there. It is such a treat to be able to walk up to your room for a rest instead of trying to find your way back from an offsite location. The location is very easy to find, which is a big plus in such a maze of streets! The Riad is close the Bab Aganou. There are many small and good restaurants in the neighbourhood and the main square is only a 10 minute walk away. We would highly recommend a stay here. BTW...we ended up staying four nights!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#206 of 502 in Marrakech
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
1,254 reviews
8.6 mi away
Riad Hayane
Riad Hayane
#298 of 502 in Marrakech
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Riad Qodwa
Riad Qodwa
#70 of 295 in Marrakech
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Fatouma
Riad Fatouma
#462 of 1,160 in Marrakech
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dubai
Riad Dubai
#418 of 1,160 in Marrakech
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mandalay

Address: 59 Derb Harbil | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $91 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina in the Casbah, the Riad Mandalay offers spacious suites in a traditional setting near the Saadian tombs. It is only 10 minutes from the Jemaa El Fna.This authentic riad offers comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi, breakfast included, air conditioning and private bathroom. They all feature typical Moroccan decoration, one bathroom tadelakt. For your relaxation, you can enjoy the pool, hot tub, steam room and fitness center. Massages are available by reservation only. You also get a large lounge with a fireplace, a bar and games. On site, the Riad Mandalay offers international and Moroccan cuisine and offers you excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mandalay Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing