We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ilayka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Ilayka
Ranked #109 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Who would have thought behind such an unasuming door from a quiet narrow street would lie such a beautiful and traditional Riad. The courtyard is the first thing you see as you enter the riad from the street and it is stunning with a fountain in the centre and the rooms opening into the courtyard on each side over 2 floors. The staff were very helpful and friendly. More than happy to answer any questions. The rooms were traditionally decorated to a very high standard. All this located within a 5 min walk of the main square. Freindly and helpful staff in a beautiful riad. What else could you possibly want?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    6
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
111
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We made a 1 night reservation at Riad Ilayka for the last night of a trip to Morocco to celebrate my 50th birthday and could not have made a better choice. Riad Ilayka is situated in one of the nicer parts of the Medina just a few minutes walk from Djemaa el Fnaa Square. Hanan and her staff were available to meet us and guide us through the medina and to offer directions and recommendations if required. The rooms are simply beautiful; we chose the Guefait room which is located on the ground floor with a four poster bed and exquisite furnishings. The bathroom with both bath and shower, plentiful hot water and scattered rose petals and quality moroccan products could not have been lovelier. Rooms on the first floor would offer a little more privacy if that is important to you, as other visitors enjoy dinner/breakfast in the patio area outside the Guefait room, but this didn't bother us as we didn't spent a great deal of time in the room and there are shutters if you wish to close them. Breakfast was a feast with a wonderful array of quality food, freshly squeezed orange juice and plentiful tea and coffee. Hanan knew it was my birthday and went out of her way to make our stay extra special and we will always remember her kindness and hospitality. I also enjoyed a hammam at the Riad, the first I have had and it was an experience not to be missed, leaving me feeling glowing and refreshed. We are regular visitors to Marrakech and would not hesitate to recommend Riad Ilayka to fellow travellers who enjoy a higher standard of accommodation and service at an excellent price. What for me sums up Riad Ilayka is that everything is done to a consistently high standard, and that is thanks to Hanan and here wonderful team. We so enjoyed our stay, wish it had been longer and will most definitely return.

Room Tip: First floor rooms offer a little more privacy if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Placitasgirl578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Riad Ilayka is in a tucked away location in the centre of the Marrakech Medina, it is a haven of peace and tranquility, the staff are brilliant, helpful and friendly. The rooms are as comfy and have a traditional ambience each looking out onto the stunning courtyard. The food was excellent especially the breakfasts and the one evening meal we had in the secluded tented area was plentiful authentic and very tasty. If you want a true feel of the Medina try this fabulous Riad, it was good value and the attentive and honest nature of the staff, Mohammed, Abdul, sweet Lubna the maid and Nadia the owner made our stay in the mad, mad city of Marrakech a real treat.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a shower instead of a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed at Riad Ilayka with our two teenage girls during half term. It was peaceful and beautiful, with exquisite rooms. Sheltered roof for sunbathing if you want to with a refreshing plunge pool. Loved sitting up on the roof looking across Marrakech listening to call to prayer. All the staff were incredibly helpful and went to so much trouble to make us feel special and pampered. Very central to get to souks and square. The breakfasts were a feast and both dinners we ate there were delicious. Stayed for four nights. A perfect start to our week.

Room Tip: We had double room on ground floor and the girls on first floor. Both beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitevinmarch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nadia and her team ..Hanan and her staff ..were all delightful and nothing was too much trouble.
It was our first trip to Marrakech and we were totally unprepared for the tunnels of the Medina ...which we found a bit scary at first but Riad Ilayka is so beautiful and welcoming that we immediately felt safe..
Breakfast was simple but extremely generous...and the lunch on the roof terrace was delicious...best spicy aubergine dip and cumin rolls we d ever tasted..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belinda1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had such a wonderful time in Riad Ilayka.
This beautiful riad in the middle of the medina is a warm, very quiet(!) and relaxed haven in the middle of the busy, noisy and warm souks.
The staff is very helpful and no effort is too much to keep you happy or to help you find your way in this exciting city.
Most of the interesting streets and must sees are within walking distance.
The Hammam is small but the treatment is very good so try it some time later in the afternoon, after a long day of exploring or shopping!
We will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepiAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

An oasis of peace away from the huddle if the city. Exquisitly decorated by the very stylish owner Nadia who is on hand all day long . The staff are wonderful, service second to none and we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#8 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#86 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#55 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#96 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#328 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ilayka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ilayka

Property: Riad Ilayka
Address: 78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Ilayka 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ilayka is ideally situated for a perfect holiday in tranquil surroundings. You will be given a very warm welcome in this lovely, calm, spacious house. It is very close to the Djem Al Fnaa square and all the shopping souks. Experience Marrakech from the inside by staying with us. Riad I layka offers very good value for money and large open spaces. Staying at Riad Ilayka you will experience Marrakech from the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Ilayka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing