We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Dar darma....a beautiful, calm, historic "sanctuary"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Darma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar Darma
Ranked #198 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dar darma....a beautiful, calm, historic "sanctuary"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This riad is amazing.... The staff treated us like royalty, the rooms are stunning, with parts of it dating back hundreds of years. This place is like a sanctuary. We have stayed in Marrakech around six times previous to this visit, staying at a 5* hotel & other riads... All of which are of a 5* status, but this place just has the edge on all the others.

The staff at dar darma are so professional & attentive, they go the extra mile to ensure you have an enjoyable time.
They offer you drinks while you are relaxing in the sun to make sure you are not dehydrated !
They even arranged taxi's for us that were like having a personal chauffeur & took us door to door, even ensuring our friends made it back to their own riad safely.

Anything we asked for, the staff at Dar Darma were able to fetch it /find it/ bring it/cook it. I really enjoyed the 5 days I spent here .... And plan to return, with friends.

This is the perfect place to escape with your other half but is very different from staying in a "hotel".... More like staying in someone's private residence with fantastic staff. It was very clean & the food & wine here are really good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    31
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
73
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Dar Darma is an oasis of calm in a totaly hectic city. Behind an unimposing entrance is a secret world waiting to be discovered by those fortunate enough to stay there. We had a lovely suite which was filled with all sorts of interesting antiques and marvelously quirky bathrooms. Lovely and attentive staff who could not be more helpful (Maria deserves a mention!). Breakfast on the top deck was very nice indeed and there is even a small swimming pool if you fancy a quick dip. A great place to stay to take in the charms of the Souk and Medina so close to everything it really is a great place to stay-will be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in the red apartment. It is darkly bohemian beautiful.
It is private luxury in a shabby chic, story book way.
The service is very personal, and super friendly.
The food has a very nice morrocan-home-cooked feel to it.
And the Dar Darma location great - but bring a small compass to find your way in the Medina.
Over all a luxury treat for persons - who do not need everything to bee new, whole and shiny.

Room Tip: Pick the red or blue apartment for extra luxury, or the smaller and lighter patio suites, higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob-Therese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This visit is our fourth return to Marrakech from Geneva to escape from the European winter and our fourth visit to Dar Darma for what has become our annual tradition. What has made our visits so special has been not only the initial charm of this Riad, but of the remarkable care and personal attention that the Dar Darma team gives to us each time. The first time we visited was our first romantic getaway... and each winter we now return with new friends and family to share this magical home. From Maria's exquisite cuisine to the impeccable service and attention to detail that each of the team members--Said, Hicham and Abdo--provide, to the atmosphere of beauty the decor and design provide... it is an escape that makes one feel like royalty; but also like family. Come to Marrakech for the buzz of the markets and to be overwhelmed by your senses, but return to Dar Darma to recharge, enjoy a private Hammam, soak quiet moments of sun on the terrace...

Room Tip: Red apartment for a romantic couple getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just back from Dar Darma! A perfect and delicious place to choose in Marrakech.
A charming riad with italian touch, remembering me a palace in Venezia.
Stay in Red apartment, a huge one with painted wooden ceilings, stucco work, old doors and luxurious furnishings. Love the bathroom with the door hidden on the wardrove...like Narnia!
Stuff very attentive.
Had a delicious cooking lesson with Maria, the cook of the riad.
And has also a fantastic plus, after 10 o'clock in the evening the taxis can leave us just in front of the riad door ... no need to walk in the labirintic streets of Marrakech medina!
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariapserra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, costa rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First the good.

This place is absolutely beautiful. It's basically a museum and we are lucky that a place like this exists for us to enjoy for a small piece of time...The staff, pool, food and drink were great as well.

The bad.
Get your stuff together Dar Darma! Every time we stepped out of the hotel we basically got mugged by a group of teens. At one point we didn't even want to leave the hotel. We had previously stayed on the other side of the city and had no problems at all.

On our last night, we decided to go out anyway and on the way home I had to fight two teens, one with a knife while my wife banged on the door to let us it.

Absolutely trash garbage. If you're going to run a hotel in a austere gang area, at least pay them off to not F with your guests.

Also I saw a ghost in our room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tianling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Atmospheric riad with spacious rooms all individually decorated,but some of the furnishings a little shabby now. Stayed in the red apartment and hot water pressure very poor so a bath was impossible. No robes in the rooms and on request were brought dirty ones which when replaced were taken away the next morning. Same thing happened again. Hammam basic and massage expensive and no proper facilities. External masseur arrived to do massage in my room, he brought no towels and suggested I lie on my robe. He did not observe any massage etiquette and expected me to lay entirely naked on the bed. Also tried cookery lesson which was interesting but again expensive for what was provided. However all staff very helpful and the riad is close to the souk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#50 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#99 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#107 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#177 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Yeux Bleus
Riad Les Yeux Bleus
#438 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Darma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Darma

Property: Riad Dar Darma
Address: 11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Darma 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Darma is a private dwelling that can offer privacy, low-key services and traditional Moroccan hospitality in a relaxed, exclusive atmosphere. A few steps from the Museum and the Medersa Ben Youssef. You can enjoy this experience in the intimate surroundings of your suite, in the relaxation areas or on the terraces with breathtaking views of the Koutoubia Mosque and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Dar Darma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Darma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing