We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fantasia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Fantasia
Ranked #471 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All good!”
Reviewed April 30, 2010

After almost 3 years I returned to Riad Fantasia - and I still love it. I just love the convenient location, the courtyard, the roof top terrace, the coffee and the fresh orange juice.
Yes, the rooms ARE small and not very clean, and so is the bathroom. But he, what do you expect for 30€?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwinads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    6
    2
    15
See reviews for
6
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2009

At first the welcome was frienly enough , after a long hot drive we ( my 9 year old son and I travelling by car trough morocco for a month) wanted a bed and a Shower . put the bags in the room,cleaned out the shower a bit myself , cleaned up ourselves and went onto the jerm el fnaa square wich is a one minute walk away,

comming back turned down the beds an had the impression (so did the beds) that someone had slept on these sheets before, the reception all of a sudden only spoke arabic or did not understand my french, so we got our own bedding from the car and made our own beds the nex mornig we couldn't have breakfast and the attitude towards us was very unfriendly to say the least

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hogeweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

if you are looking for a riad that is dirty, facilities that don't work, provides poor service and cheats its clients...then this is the riad for you!!! they also provided a 3 am wakeup call..for free..by a crazed moroccon who clearly consumed too much berber whiskey!! scary..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePrimaveras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2009

It's very dirty, noisy and service is poor. Moroccan service but at European prices. Someone smashed up the place overnight in what must have been a dispute and clever use of a baseball bat. Spend a bit extra and look for something better, trust me. I've travelled half the world so if you read my comment and still decide to go to Hotel Fantasia then you only have yourself to blame in the end. I'm so glad I got my vaccinations before staying there. Loved Morocco but not this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WilsonPlinkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

A bit of a joke really!! The hotel has a lot of charm but you have to have a lot of patience. When we arrived we were told it cost 350MDH per night for a room without a shower. We spent wo nights there and then went on a trip to Ouazarzate. Before leaving we booked two more nights for when we returned, a room on the roof with a shower this time and were told that it would be 400MDH. When we did return there was no record of our booking and were told that there was a room free but it had no shower, so we accepted and were told they would give it to us for 300MDH (we later found that this was the usual rate and we had been ripped off the first time). The next day we were ready to move room. I asked in recpetion and they looked at me in a funny way and said that there were no rooms with shower free!!
Also if you have a mint tea the prices vary. From 5MDH to 20MDH depending on who serves you. If you contest the pricethey just ignore you.
However the hotel has a lot of charm and I loved the roof terrace.

  • Liked — The roof terrace
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valencian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We were recommend this Riad by some friends so decided to go straight there and drop off our bags.

The riad is bright and traditionally decorated with a great roof terrace with a tent to hide away from the heat. We were given an en-suite room and at first appearance was fine. After closer inspection the bed, the sheets were clean but the pillows under the cases where really grey and dirty looking. The wiring was really quite dodgy and the bathroom was quite dirty.

The hot water was intermittent we discovered in the morning (it had been hot the afternoon before) but the breakfast was ok and the birds in cages aroung the courtyard a nice accompanment.

We did only stay for one night after this.

  • Liked — the decor and terrace were really authentic.
  • Disliked — the lack of hot water.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatpixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefchaouen, Morocco
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2007

We showed up at 11.30 at night, no booking and it was no problem at all.
The guys at the reception made us very welcome and very quickly we were settled and sitting having drinks and talking in the lounge.
The terrace is the winner though. It's on two levels and is emaculate, great place to chill out after a run around the medina.
The rooms, although basic, are very clean and the prices are competitive.
The night we were there, there was about every type of group staying, from families, to signal backpakers, all of us chatting on the terrace at some point.
Already we are arranging going back with my parents as even they would love the chilled out feel to the place.

  • Liked — The welcoming, helpful staff.
  • Disliked — The pet budgies (birds) at 6.30 in the morning, I was just going to sleep! :)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rif-For-Anyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.6 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#422 of 494 in Marrakech
116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#433 of 494 in Marrakech
104 reviews
5.3 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Lagouassem
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
1,170 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#75 of 494 in Marrakech
1,864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#281 of 494 in Marrakech
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fantasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fantasia

Property: Hotel Fantasia
Address: 184 Arset, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Fantasia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing