We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect (almost)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Ranked #73 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect (almost)”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Really stunning Riad which looked better than in the pictures. Lots of really nice touches such as the rose petals on the bed and heart shaped towels. The staff were really helpful and extremely friendly. They were always happy to help you and I felt like i was one of the family or an honoured guest. It was a real warm feeling rather than them over doing it because they were trying to get good reviews. The breakfast every morning was amazing!!! Fresh bread, jam Honey and marmalade, homemade yogurt and an omelette. Just what you needed before setting of for a busy day in the souks. The building has been beautifully restored and has some absolutely stunning features especially the water fountain in the centre of the patio. The Bathroom was amazing with its Scarface Esq. bath and complementary orange blossom shower gels. The beds were firm and the bedding heavy and cosy.
The terrace was brilliant we used to go up in the morning and watch the sun rise. it was also great to go and chill out on after a day shopping. With lots of different areas to sit you could find peace and seclusion even if other guests were in the Riad. Really would recommend this Riad not just saying that. We spent countless hours searching raids’ before going and this one stood out by miles. It was better than i expected when i arrived.

To all the staff from the concierge to the cook’s I’d like to say a big thank you and I hope to see you around March next year!



Thank You

Aqeel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aqeel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
First of all we thank you for chosing our Riad to spend your holiday in Marrakech.we thank as well you for your review.Our staff are always at your disposal and feel happy to give a good service for our costomers. We all looking forward to welcoming you among us for your next visit to Marrakech.
Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    86
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
121
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed in this lovely small Riad for five nights and have only great things to say about it. It is truly a little gem, with great location and very friendly staff. We asked for a room on the first floor and got a lovely one with three main windows towards the patio. The double bed was brilliant with crisp white linen and lots of pillows. The room is a perfect size for two people. Bathroom is clean with all commodities needed. A nice detail is the sink faucet, all made in coper. Breakfast is served on the terrace or downstair by the patio. A variation of homemade bread is offered with the usual continental belongings, and of course some Moroccan tea. Payment can be made either in Dirhams or by credit card. I actually went to Marrakech for my birthday and got surprised by the main staff over dinner when they all turned up, singing to me both in Arabic and in English, now how sweet isn't that!
Prime location, great value for money and great accommodation. This is a great stay with lovely staff with spotless personal service, a truly peaceful oasis. We miss it already…

Room Tip: The room on the first floor with three windows towards the patio is brilliant. It has got good enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAMIRO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Google Translation
D'abord je vous remercie infiniment pour votre commentaire,nous gardons des bons souvenirs de votre séjour Mr. Ramiro nous étions contents de prendre soin de vous et de vous voir satisfait de votre séjour dans notre riad.Nous vous attendrons avec plaisir pour une prochaine visite. Mes meilleures salutations Ahmad,Hamza,Jaouad, Lala Saadia et Amina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very beautiful Riad with very kind & helpful staff. They are always ready to answer your questions and needs, magnificent (you are wonderful with customers).
Riad & Rooms and more than clean, and all is in order and well prepared.
The double room up in the terrace is VERY BIG, with a double bed and a sofa and a lovely bathroom, but no TV in the room and no WiFi in the whole Riad, and the room in the terrace would need a darker curtain in order to sleep until late in the morning and not to wake up with sunrise (sun comes in the room by the huge windows...however you can use eye-mask and it's all done)).
Enjoy your wonderful breakfast, they vary everyday and your table is full of everything, but remember if you decide to have your breakfast in the lovely terrace your marmelade will be covered by bees, because they appeaa as soon as you put the marmelade on the table, but it's not an hotel fault, sure!
I definitely come back in Morocco, in Marrakech and in Dar Baraka!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We thank you for writing about Dar Baraka Karam, sorry for the bees, it's beyond our control, the beautiful smell of mint that attract them and for the windows be sure you find solution
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our riad, we hope to see you in the future.
Regards from all the team.
Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I spent five nights here in November, the Riad is peaceful, cool, spotlessly clean and a lovely place to stay whilst in Marrakesh.

My room was located on the ground floor which is not ideal, it did not get cellphone reception, wi-fi however was fine though. the main issue with the room was noise from people talking during the night. This turned out to be the local youths congregating by the Riad door where they could get wi-fi reception on their phones. I complained in the morning to Ahmed, the manager, who advised the youths that the police would be called if there was further noise. That seemed to do the trick.

The room was comfortable if basic, had a great bed, lots of powerful hot water for the shower. Not especially private on the ground floor however.

The staff were very kind and caring, always smiling and really helpful. Meals were generally served on the rooftop terrace which was very pleasant although slightly damp with dew during the November mornings and a little chilly from time to time so take a fleece.

Breakfast was great, lots of different breads and jams, fruits, yoghurt, pastries, fruit juice and of course mint tea. They serve main course meals there such as couscous and tagines, I thought they were okay, nothing special.

The Riad is difficult to find as it's down various narrow alleyways, the staff will help you on arrival and also will make sure you know how to get there and back again so nothing to worry about.

In summary, it's a pleasant, relaxing place to stay, if you expect room service, TV and mini bar then it's not for you. It's a traditional, local establishment and it provides a much more personal service and feel than the usual business style hotel. In a great location for exploring the souks and medina.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailor42London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps d’écrire ce commentaire, nous étions contents de prendre soin de vous et de vous voir satisfait de votre séjour dans notre riad pour un autre séjour je vous bloque une chambre à l'étage qu'est calme . Nous vous attendrons avec plaisir pour une prochaine visite. Les meilleures salutations d’Ahmed et son équipe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed one night at this riad with my Dad and had a great time. We arrived at about 8.00pm after an exhausting 11 hours trip by bus coming from the sand dunes deep in the south-east of Morocco. I had confirmed our room the same day by e-mail via wi-fi during a short stop for drinks and snacks in a bar on the side of the road. I also had booked a couscous for two to be served in our room. We actually ate eat on the terrace in front of our room which was very pleasant and relaxing. Everything went very smoothly upon our arival at the riad. The room was great, on the second floor, large room, twin beds, very quiet, and clean. Confortable beds and linen, beautiful bathroom. Very clean everywhere. Staff is friendly and eager to help. Wonderful breakfast included in the rate of the room. Payment in Euros or Dirhams accepted as well as credit card. Not so easy to find when you don't have a detailed map of the medina. You might need the help of locals to guide you in the narrow streets of the medina if you arrive there by yourself for the first time. The hotel can provide such a map upon arrival which is very helpful to walk around the medina and the souks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincesxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We thank you so much for your lovely review, we are very happy that you appreciate you staying among us.concerning the fruits and vegetables in the breakfast i will do the best for your remark. All the riad's staff are looking forward to welcome you again among us.
Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This riad is beautiful, well maintained and an oasis of tranquillity. The staff couldnt have done more for us, especially Ahmed the manager. We stayed for 9 days.
Our only comment would be that there needs to be more variety in the breakfast that includes fruit and vegetables but really everything else was wonderful. we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't take ground floor level. the best is the roof top apartment which we were fortunate to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hendonhousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We were happy to welcome you and we thank you for choosing our riad and for your comment. we are pleased that you were satisfied with your stay at Dar Baraka Karam. we hoped to receive you in the future.
Best regards from the team.
Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After a chaotic transfer where we were taken from the airport to the Riad's sister property 200m away, we settled into an oasis of scented calm in this charming residence.

The rooms all face the inner courtyard and the large roof terrace accommodates all guests either under shade or brilliant October sun.

It's a highly convenient location - just 5 minutes walk from the north west tip of the Medina's souk area. As you turn left out of the alleyway pick up supplies of cold drinks, sweets and nuts from the charming stallholder Bilal. Turn right and you can go to the Henna Cafe for a falafel sandwich.

Charm abounds at Dar Baraka too: Ahmed and his team go about busily catering for all needs. Breakfast is served from 8-11 either outside your room or on the roof terrace (if you can handle the wasps in your jam). Mint tea is always available. Dinner needs to be ordered at breakfast time with pastilla, tagines and couscous all on the menu. Ask for a bottle of wine if you like too.

The place is spotlessly clean. The rooms laid out economically with images of the Riad's conversion process. Everything works: plumbing, electricity and wifi (in courtyard area only).

Ahmed organised a driver for 900 dirham to take us on a 7-hour trip to the waterfalls in the Ourika Valley. We stopped on the way to see a Berber market (Friday only), a Berber house, a women's co-op making oil products. Another 200 dirham secures the services of a guide for two hours up to the waterfalls followed by a 120 dirham per head lunch by the river below.

Airport transfer was 150 dirham extra each way and is a must, or you will never find it.

I would strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor - good for both wifi and mobile reception and more private than gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fulhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We were happy to welcome you and we thank you for choosing our riad and for your lovely comment. we are pleased that you were satisfied with your stay at Dar Baraka Karam. we hoped to receive you in the future.
Best regards from the team. Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
#230 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#65 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#39 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Mboja
Riad Mboja
#37 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#41 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Zayane
Riad Zayane
#200 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam

Property: Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Address: 11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you know the real meaning of "baraka?" It is "benefit!" A name which fits this remarkable building like a glove. Reknowned for its fine architectural detail, the "pièce de résistance" of this beautiful building is the lounge, adorned with an ornately painted ceiling, an ideal place for a candlelit dinner! This medium-sized riad comprises 5 bedrooms surrrounding a central courtyard with fountain. A split-level roof-terrace provides a magnificient view of the gardens of Dar El Bacha, the ancient palace of Glaouiet and the celebrated minaret of the Katoubi mosque. To complete your relaxation, a hammam and choice of massages are available. If this house is not enough to delight, then Dar Karam awaits to further seduce you with the charms of Moroccan hospitality. To provide more spacious accommodation the two houses may be booked as one. This riad, restored in respectful keeping with its surroundings, is a model of sobriety and elegance. Five charming bedrooms, traditionally furnished, once again open onto the central courtyard with fountain. Another beautiful lounge with a magnificient traditionally painted ceiling positively calls for dinner by candlelight! The split-level roof terrace shared by the adjoining Dar Baraka offers the same fine view of the gardens of the Glaouiet Palace and the famous minaret of the Koutoubi mosque - an ideal spot for stargazing at the end of a stimulating day in Marrakech! A traditionally decorated beldihammam and massage spa are also on hand to provide all you need to alleviate the strains of daily life. Ground Floor - 2 bedrooms - B'hou opening onto the courtyard 1st Floor - 2 bedrooms ( 1 with shower, 1 with bath) - Lounge with fireplace & painted ceiling - Gallery Terrace - Furnished with chairs, cushions and coffee tables - 1 bedroom (with shower) - Hammam option of adding an extra bed in 3 bedrooms option of furnishing the bedrooms with 2 single beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Baraka Karam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing