We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL IN MARRAKECH!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam to your Saves list
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“BEST HOTEL IN MARRAKECH!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I did not enjoy my holiday in Marrakech, the people I encountered were 99 percent of the time after your money trying to sell you something. HOWEVER, I would go back to Marrakech one day ONLY if I am able to stay at this AMAZING hotel again.

Good points:
1. The cleaner is an amazing woman, I can't remember her name but the main cleaner was such a sweet lovely lovely lady! The rooms were cleaned once a day, beds made, bathroom cleaned and I felt safe to leave all my belongings out in the open to not get stolen. My friend even ripped the curtain by accident one day and the next day when we came in it was fixed and we weren't charged or told off, we felt very embarrassed at how lovely she was!

2. Breakfast is AMAZING, True Moroccan style breakfast served. Clean food, clean plates. Fresh bread every morning, 2 kinds, a huge jug of freshly squeezed orange juice, tea, coffee, 3 different kinds of jam, butter, tasty fried eggs, pancakes, yogurt, all brought at once, however, it is the same stuff every day, every other day there's a different kind of bread, etc. We only got bed and breakfast so didn't get a chance to try the lunch or dinner options.

3. The hotel in in a great location, about a 10 minute walk to the main square, the Djemaa el Fna. A 30 second walk out the alleyway is where a lot of cabs/taxi's are waiting so transporting around is cheap and easy.

4. Ask for the room right at the top, the door opens out to the balcony/roof which is absolutely stunning, you can see all of marrakech from there, the roof is absolutely beautiful at night, we used to spend our evenings there, eating snacks, smoking shisha, playing cards. The rooms we stayed in had a bathroom with a toilet, sink and shower, all clean and working well.

5. The hotel was never noisy, we could sleep well at night, however, we got woken up many times early in the morning by the sound of the mosque and the azan going off multiple times (not in sync with each other) very loud, but that had nothing to do with the hotel, you would hear that anywhere in Marrakesh.

Bad points:
NONE!
However, the alleyway to the hotel is very dark and a bit scary at night, full of stray cats outside the hotel and a few weirdo's, but as long as you are not alone it is fine, it's the same anywhere in Morocco at night, so just be careful, it can be a dangerous country if you are not with a man.

Also, there was no pool, but the view, homely moroccan feel and location makes up for it!

Room Tip: Pick the room right at the top with the door opening up to the roof, you will NOT be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Responsable relations clients at Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
nice review, thank you so much for taking the time to write about us. we are very happy to read you. All the best from Ahmed and his team, they wish to see you an other time. As we say in Morocco, you have a second home in Marrakech now. Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Deepajv
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

You do need one of those kids to help you find it when the taxi (which you shouldn't pay more than 100 dirham for from the airport) drops you off. You're closer than you think, but it's good to get help the first time. You likely won't need assistance for the remainder of your trip.
Ahmed greeted us very hospitably on our arrival and served lovely syrupy mint tea (remember to ask for half the sugar if you prefer, tea in Marrakech is served very sweet in general). The check-in process took a while, but it was easy enough and our group was thankful for a bit of a respite in the cool interior of the riad. Ahmed led us to lunch at Dar Cherifa from the riad, upon our inquiry for a recommendation.
The service was very nice and all of the staff were very eager to help where they could throughout our stay. We had many pots of mint tea, served at all times of the day.
The breakfast is the perfect start to the day, enjoy the delicate crepes.
The medina is just across the road, so it's a nice separation from the hecticness that comes with the souk area, but easy to get to.
The beds are firm, but they were perfect for us and we slept quite well.

Room Tip: There is only wifi in the lower common spaces, so don't expect it in the rooms. Dar Baraka/ Dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepajv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review.We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in the Riad.As i suggest it's better to get a transfer arrival .We are looking forward to meet you next time.
Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

ahmed is a hard working host, must be mentioned, trying to satisfy, but he simply is not able to let me forget the old, dark, cold, small, and noizy room at the patio.

the roof terrace is well done, but for the price or a bit more I get a stunning riad in Marrakech with a swimmingpool and a nice decorated and light room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We thank you so much for your review,i will do the best for your next visit in marrakech to give you a very quite room.
Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This charming Riad, close to the Souk and main square is a haven in comparison to the alleyways which lead to its front door. The staff want to make your stay pleasant and their finishing touches - such as courtyard fountains festooned with candles and roses, extra sun hats on the roof top terrace, platters of strawberries and dates in each bedroom add to the charm of this peaceful surrounding. We were a group of 10 on an art tour and found plenty of areas on all 3 levels to draw or paint, watch the setting sun, listen to the hum of the city from the rooftop whilst taking mint tea or breakfast and generally experience the best of Marrakech. Comfortable bedrooms and airconditioned should the heat be too much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank priscilla c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We thank you so much for your review, we are very happy that you appreciate you staying among us. . All the staff of the riad are happy to make your stay in Marrakech as wonderful as possible.
All the riad's staff are looking forward to welcome you again among us.
Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Booked this via BA after checking the reviews on Trip Advisor.

Well first impressions you do wonder what you are going to - the taxi pulls up, you are immediately accosted by a couple of people wanting to show you the way and carry bags. To be honest you do need them the first time as you are unlikely to find it on your own. You are taken down twisty alleyway route - filfthy, dark and building work going on around you, path unmade and building materials littering the way... You arrive at the door and the 'porters' want your money - we gave them 25 dhms and they weren't impressed - we held our ground on the basis that our guidebook indicates that unskilled workers normally only earn 100dhms a week.

And then you enter the Riad itself and it's an oasis in a mucky noisy world. It's not luxurious but it has a clean, quiet simple beauty. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak enough English for us to understand them, and them us.

We had a ground floor room, I think I would have preferred one upstairs but it was fine and other residents were all considerate in preserving the peace. The bed was extreemly hard I'm afraid and I didn't sleep well at all. That's normal for me the first night but by the fourth I still wasn't sleeping well primarly due to how hard the bed is. Also if you sleep lightly you may want to take ear plugs - call to prayer at 5.30 is quite loud as you are between several mosques all of whom do seperate calls!!

Highlight is definitely breakfast on the roof - relaxed and warm in the sun with blue skies and birds singing :) Vanilla yoghurt, pancakes, eggs and bread with jam and freshly squeezed orange juice.

The riad is about ten minutes walk to the main square - you can go around the edge of the souks area along a main road. Or you can take a bit longer during the day and go through the souks - take a compass!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is very simple but decorated in a lovely way and with care, simply beatiful.
It's not far from Jama El Fna, but we hardly recomend to take the transfer from the aeroport since arriving there for the first time it isn't easy. Transfer and also excursions sevices work perfectly.
The Stuff of the hotel is extremely nice and diligent, and they speak good English. The breakfast on the terrace has been one of the best things of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kito G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Being dropped off at the end of the street and trying to find the Riad was something i will never forget. As two young females and sticking out like a sore thumb with our luggage we were a target to be hassled. A young man did walk us to our Riad but for a fee (later we found out how we gave FAR too much!) :) But it was all part of the experience. The riad its self is stunning and very tradional which we enjoyed. The staff and food that was served was fantastic and everyone was willing to help. Its a very safe and simple walk to the square and once we learnt it once we never got hassled again (just dont carry your suitcases around as they will spot you!) I enjoyed sitting up the top of the roof and in the sunshine away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech aswell. There was a small question of city tax that i was sure i paid through the booking (just be aware of this) but apart from that i would definately reccomend this goregous Riad and a place to base yourself whilst staying in Marrakech. Thanks for a great trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#164 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
#138 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#9 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam

Address: 11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you know the real meaning of "baraka?" It is "benefit!" A name which fits this remarkable building like a glove. Reknowned for its fine architectural detail, the "pièce de résistance" of this beautiful building is the lounge, adorned with an ornately painted ceiling, an ideal place for a candlelit dinner! This medium-sized riad comprises 5 bedrooms surrrounding a central courtyard with fountain. A split-level roof-terrace provides a magnificient view of the gardens of Dar El Bacha, the ancient palace of Glaouiet and the celebrated minaret of the Katoubi mosque. To complete your relaxation, a hammam and choice of massages are available. If this house is not enough to delight, then Dar Karam awaits to further seduce you with the charms of Moroccan hospitality. To provide more spacious accommodation the two houses may be booked as one. This riad, restored in respectful keeping with its surroundings, is a model of sobriety and elegance. Five charming bedrooms, traditionally furnished, once again open onto the central courtyard with fountain. Another beautiful lounge with a magnificient traditionally painted ceiling positively calls for dinner by candlelight! The split-level roof terrace shared by the adjoining Dar Baraka offers the same fine view of the gardens of the Glaouiet Palace and the famous minaret of the Koutoubi mosque - an ideal spot for stargazing at the end of a stimulating day in Marrakech! A traditionally decorated beldihammam and massage spa are also on hand to provide all you need to alleviate the strains of daily life. Ground Floor - 2 bedrooms - B'hou opening onto the courtyard 1st Floor - 2 bedrooms ( 1 with shower, 1 with bath) - Lounge with fireplace & painted ceiling - Gallery Terrace - Furnished with chairs, cushions and coffee tables - 1 bedroom (with shower) - Hammam option of adding an extra bed in 3 bedrooms option of furnishing the bedrooms with 2 single beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Baraka Karam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing