We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of comfort with a genuine feel of Morocco.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Ranked #108 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oasis of comfort with a genuine feel of Morocco.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Riad Dar Baraka & Karam was our base for a 5 day tip to Marrakech early in February. The Riad is within easy walking distance of most of the major attractions in the City including the best restaurants. The interior is authentically finished and makes for a fantastic contrast to the hustle and bustle of the surrounding streets and alleyways. Our room which opened onto the inner courtyard on the ground floor was simply furnished but very comfortable with a stone bath/shower room. The traditional open inner courtyard was beautiful with a fountain in the centre and places to sit and enjoy the atmosphere. The roof terrace also provided a great place to just sit out and enjoy the Marrakech experience. The staff are friendly and always helpful even when limited by the language barrier. We thoroughly recommend this Riad as a base of operations whilst in Marrakech, don’t be put off by the walk to the taxi drop-off point to the front door, it’s all part of being in Marrakech!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    75
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
107
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in this Riad at the beginning of February, we were shown to our Riad by someone on the corner of the street, we would never have found it without but someone showing you the way and being paid seems to be customary in Marrakesh. It is down some alleys and does not look hopeful untl you get inside the small door. We were greeted by an extremely friendly gentleman who made us mint tea and showed us around the Riad, the roof terrace was lovely but very litle view apart from satellite dishes but I think this is the same for most of Marrakesh. We had beakfast up here and it was so peaceful. Our room was not very wide and you have to get into bed from the bottom but it was very comfortable, clean and perfectly adequate for what we wanted. We had breakfast each morning and had dinner here one evening and the food was lovely, there is no "service" as such, they give you your meal and disappear, we had to order the morning we wanted so that they can prepare, take your own drink even if it is a soft drink. We had a slight issue at the end of the holiday regarding the tourist tax which we are sure was already paid. This could not be sorted before we had to leave so they have trusted us to sort it out now we are back and let them know whether we have paid the taxes or not. It was a lovely Riad and I would definitely go back, it is in a very central location 5 minutes from the souks and in a really peaceful location.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, if you are on a floor upstairs they do not have a lift and the stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are just back from a 3 night stay at Dar Baraka. A group of 3 friends on our second visit to Marrakech. We booked through Expedia and the Riad offers transfers to and from the airport for 150 Dirhams, I would highly recommend you take this option as it could be very hard to find without some help. Our only negative comment would be that we had difficulty getting hold of anyone at the Riad in the days before we left to confirm our transfer, which did lead to some confusion when we arrived.

It was very quiet when we stayed and we were offered two double rooms on the ground floor (1 & 2) these were beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the beds exceptionally comfortable with wonderful showers and limitless hot water - something that was sadly lacking on our previous stay at a different Riad.

Breakfast is served on the roof top if warm enough or in one of the numerous seating areas scattered around the Riad. We had fresh breads, pancakes, jams, eggs, orange juice, coffee and mint tea all delightfully served up by Ahmed the host.

We spent out days finding our way to the main square and had our best meals at the food stalls in the square, pick one with lots of locals at it - we ate at no's 22 and 20 and were both very good. Cafe Arabe was nice for a drink as we wandered home.

The highlight of our stay was a trip to the Atlas Mountains, arranged via Ahmed at the Riad, for 250 dirhams each our driver took us to the foothills of the mountains for the day. There are some stops en route which were interesting but aimed at selling you various things such as jewellery, carpets and toiletries/herbs but you can choose to go straight there if you prefer.

We followed a river gorge to the top and then proceeded on foot to see the waterfalls. A guide will take you up but make sure that you agree a price before setting off and I cannot stress enough the importance of wearing sensible shoes for this trip! You have a choice of how far you go up but even to make it to the first waterfall is quite a trek and a scramble up rock faces with no handrail or "pathway" to follow, we LOVED it and was such a welcome change from the safety conscious world we live in at home but be warned it is not for the feint hearted or less able bodied. We were wearing sensible shoes and made it to the highest waterfall, via a vertical ladder (tip to be paid to attendant) and this was the highlight of our stay.

We loved Marrakech and loved this Riad :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbaone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were here for a short trip over Christmas to get away from the Xmas hype of home. We booked a taxi from the airport through the Riad, and it all went beautifully (apart for the tip to the cart boys, seems the other group paid that, under duress :-)).

The Riad was great, the three of us, myself, my wife and daughter, all loved it at first sight. Yes it is down a few alleyways, but the old city is like that. The rooms were bight, airy and clean, the bathroom worked well, the safe was a bonus.

Ahmed works hard, I hope he gets a decent wage, and the ladies were all friendly and happy. We enjoyed the breakfasts, a bit samey, but varied and plenty (loved the orange juice).

The location is just right, close to Dar-el-Bacha, a convenient dropping point for taxis, near enough to all of the main sights, and crucially for us, close to Gueliz which has a variety of restaurants to rescue you from tagines and couscous every day.

The day we arrived was hot, but most of the rest of the week was milder, but that was fine, I am not one for the heat.

We travelled to Essaouira on the local buses. I was cagey about this, but my wife and daughter really wanted to, and although it was 3 hours each way, it was not a problem and flew by.

Be aware that smoking in restaurants is still permitted in Morocco. This was not a problem in local restaurants, but the foreign restaurants in Gueliz can get smoggy.

Room Tip: Take low value Dirhams for tipping on first day, but don't take too many, you'll get a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archiemolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved staying at Barak Karam earlier this month. Ahmed the host is wonderful and was attentive to all our needs. This Riad is a hidden gem amongst the winding streets of Bab Doukkala andThe roof terrace was a lovely place to relax after wandering through the Medina and the Souks. The breakfast was a traditional taste of the area and varied daily, there were 3 types of jam and homemade yogurt (we think) - tip: jam works well in the yogurt!!!

We thoroughly recommend this Riad for a couple to stay in Marrakech - tip top.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the roof terrace - recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hashtagholler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the Dar Baraka for 5 nights. As it was our first time in Marrakech, we were positively surprised.
We booked a transfer from the airport and at our arrival in the town centre they were already waiting for us to bring our suitcases to the Riad (not for free, of course... After a couple of hours in Marrakech you´ll notice that nothing is for free... You have to give a tip to everyone, even if you ask for a street direction).
It´s located just 10 minutes from Jamaa El-Fna, in the middle of the old town, with its narrow and dark streets. At first, it might seem scary but it´s not: it´s a quiet location in a typical neighbourhood.
Beatiful patio, nice room with big bed, a sofa, an impresively beatiful bathroom, heating, no TV, free safety deposit box... all with a chic moroccan style. Perfect!
Best thing: Breakfast... Served in the roof terrace, with lounge sofas. Fresh orange juice, tea, coffee, milk, fruit, mermelades, local bread and toasts... delicious!
Staff is always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echt, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

When you visit marrakech then this Riad in the old medina is a really good choise. Very clean, nice rooms with very good beds and pillows and a beautiful bathroom. The riad ordered many original features from the 17th century including magnificent ceilings. The typical Moroccan breakfast will served at the rooftop, so you can enjoy your breakfast in the sun, with bad weather, there is a nice breakfast room. The service was excellent, always very helpful and friendly.
From the riad it is just 10 minutes to walk to the djna el fna the main square. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnelissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
#286 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#88 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#317 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
#230 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#421 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Amiris
Riad Amiris
#315 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam

Property: Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Address: 11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you know the real meaning of "baraka?" It is "benefit!" A name which fits this remarkable building like a glove. Reknowned for its fine architectural detail, the "pièce de résistance" of this beautiful building is the lounge, adorned with an ornately painted ceiling, an ideal place for a candlelit dinner! This medium-sized riad comprises 5 bedrooms surrrounding a central courtyard with fountain. A split-level roof-terrace provides a magnificient view of the gardens of Dar El Bacha, the ancient palace of Glaouiet and the celebrated minaret of the Katoubi mosque. To complete your relaxation, a hammam and choice of massages are available. If this house is not enough to delight, then Dar Karam awaits to further seduce you with the charms of Moroccan hospitality. To provide more spacious accommodation the two houses may be booked as one. This riad, restored in respectful keeping with its surroundings, is a model of sobriety and elegance. Five charming bedrooms, traditionally furnished, once again open onto the central courtyard with fountain. Another beautiful lounge with a magnificient traditionally painted ceiling positively calls for dinner by candlelight! The split-level roof terrace shared by the adjoining Dar Baraka offers the same fine view of the gardens of the Glaouiet Palace and the famous minaret of the Koutoubi mosque - an ideal spot for stargazing at the end of a stimulating day in Marrakech! A traditionally decorated beldihammam and massage spa are also on hand to provide all you need to alleviate the strains of daily life. Ground Floor - 2 bedrooms - B'hou opening onto the courtyard 1st Floor - 2 bedrooms ( 1 with shower, 1 with bath) - Lounge with fireplace & painted ceiling - Gallery Terrace - Furnished with chairs, cushions and coffee tables - 1 bedroom (with shower) - Hammam option of adding an extra bed in 3 bedrooms option of furnishing the bedrooms with 2 single beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Budget Places and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Baraka Karam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing