We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Thoroughly Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Ranked #94 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were here for a short trip over Christmas to get away from the Xmas hype of home. We booked a taxi from the airport through the Riad, and it all went beautifully (apart for the tip to the cart boys, seems the other group paid that, under duress :-)).

The Riad was great, the three of us, myself, my wife and daughter, all loved it at first sight. Yes it is down a few alleyways, but the old city is like that. The rooms were bight, airy and clean, the bathroom worked well, the safe was a bonus.

Ahmed works hard, I hope he gets a decent wage, and the ladies were all friendly and happy. We enjoyed the breakfasts, a bit samey, but varied and plenty (loved the orange juice).

The location is just right, close to Dar-el-Bacha, a convenient dropping point for taxis, near enough to all of the main sights, and crucially for us, close to Gueliz which has a variety of restaurants to rescue you from tagines and couscous every day.

The day we arrived was hot, but most of the rest of the week was milder, but that was fine, I am not one for the heat.

We travelled to Essaouira on the local buses. I was cagey about this, but my wife and daughter really wanted to, and although it was 3 hours each way, it was not a problem and flew by.

Be aware that smoking in restaurants is still permitted in Morocco. This was not a problem in local restaurants, but the foreign restaurants in Gueliz can get smoggy.

Room Tip: Take low value Dirhams for tipping on first day, but don't take too many, you'll get a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archiemolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    78
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
111
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved staying at Barak Karam earlier this month. Ahmed the host is wonderful and was attentive to all our needs. This Riad is a hidden gem amongst the winding streets of Bab Doukkala andThe roof terrace was a lovely place to relax after wandering through the Medina and the Souks. The breakfast was a traditional taste of the area and varied daily, there were 3 types of jam and homemade yogurt (we think) - tip: jam works well in the yogurt!!!

We thoroughly recommend this Riad for a couple to stay in Marrakech - tip top.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the roof terrace - recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hashtagholler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the Dar Baraka for 5 nights. As it was our first time in Marrakech, we were positively surprised.
We booked a transfer from the airport and at our arrival in the town centre they were already waiting for us to bring our suitcases to the Riad (not for free, of course... After a couple of hours in Marrakech you´ll notice that nothing is for free... You have to give a tip to everyone, even if you ask for a street direction).
It´s located just 10 minutes from Jamaa El-Fna, in the middle of the old town, with its narrow and dark streets. At first, it might seem scary but it´s not: it´s a quiet location in a typical neighbourhood.
Beatiful patio, nice room with big bed, a sofa, an impresively beatiful bathroom, heating, no TV, free safety deposit box... all with a chic moroccan style. Perfect!
Best thing: Breakfast... Served in the roof terrace, with lounge sofas. Fresh orange juice, tea, coffee, milk, fruit, mermelades, local bread and toasts... delicious!
Staff is always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echt, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

When you visit marrakech then this Riad in the old medina is a really good choise. Very clean, nice rooms with very good beds and pillows and a beautiful bathroom. The riad ordered many original features from the 17th century including magnificent ceilings. The typical Moroccan breakfast will served at the rooftop, so you can enjoy your breakfast in the sun, with bad weather, there is a nice breakfast room. The service was excellent, always very helpful and friendly.
From the riad it is just 10 minutes to walk to the djna el fna the main square. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnelissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at the Dar Baraka for a week. Easy to find, very attentive staff, extremely clean and good service. The riad is very small - only 5 rooms. Windows, with shutters, open on to the courtyard and talk from neighbouring rooms is very clear. No TV means that it's a welcome break from the outside world. The area appears very safe although the group of guys hanging around the door way each night is a little intimidating at first, however they were friendly enough. If you want a small and intimate riad which is clean and with great service then this is your place. If you want a larger riad with more amenities, then you'd need to look elsewhere. Overall, an enjoyable stay and certainly worth considering again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Notts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The riad is very well located, 10 minutes from the main square and close to many good restaurants. The breakfast is super good, fresh orange juice, morrocan bread, 3 types of jam and butter, cakes or pancakes, and always the great Moroccan mint tea.
The service was excellent, always smiling and helping on every single detail.
Rooms have air conditioning and are very spacious.

Room Tip: We booked one superior room, is very spacious and quite. Other rooms close to the breakfast areas mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great breakfast, calm and peaceful which is good cause in July Marrakech is hectic! Staff were nice and helpful. rooms were lovely and a nice terrace (bit hot in july though). I cant think of anything bad about the place. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
#276 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#71 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#406 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
#248 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terra Ababila
Terra Ababila
#42 of 257 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Hannah City Hotel
Riad Hannah City Hotel
#923 of 1,177 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam

Property: Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Address: 11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you know the real meaning of "baraka?" It is "benefit!" A name which fits this remarkable building like a glove. Reknowned for its fine architectural detail, the "pièce de résistance" of this beautiful building is the lounge, adorned with an ornately painted ceiling, an ideal place for a candlelit dinner! This medium-sized riad comprises 5 bedrooms surrrounding a central courtyard with fountain. A split-level roof-terrace provides a magnificient view of the gardens of Dar El Bacha, the ancient palace of Glaouiet and the celebrated minaret of the Katoubi mosque. To complete your relaxation, a hammam and choice of massages are available. If this house is not enough to delight, then Dar Karam awaits to further seduce you with the charms of Moroccan hospitality. To provide more spacious accommodation the two houses may be booked as one. This riad, restored in respectful keeping with its surroundings, is a model of sobriety and elegance. Five charming bedrooms, traditionally furnished, once again open onto the central courtyard with fountain. Another beautiful lounge with a magnificient traditionally painted ceiling positively calls for dinner by candlelight! The split-level roof terrace shared by the adjoining Dar Baraka offers the same fine view of the gardens of the Glaouiet Palace and the famous minaret of the Koutoubi mosque - an ideal spot for stargazing at the end of a stimulating day in Marrakech! A traditionally decorated beldihammam and massage spa are also on hand to provide all you need to alleviate the strains of daily life. Ground Floor - 2 bedrooms - B'hou opening onto the courtyard 1st Floor - 2 bedrooms ( 1 with shower, 1 with bath) - Lounge with fireplace & painted ceiling - Gallery Terrace - Furnished with chairs, cushions and coffee tables - 1 bedroom (with shower) - Hammam option of adding an extra bed in 3 bedrooms option of furnishing the bedrooms with 2 single beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Budget Places, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Baraka Karam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing