We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Ranked #98 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at the Dar Baraka for a week. Easy to find, very attentive staff, extremely clean and good service. The riad is very small - only 5 rooms. Windows, with shutters, open on to the courtyard and talk from neighbouring rooms is very clear. No TV means that it's a welcome break from the outside world. The area appears very safe although the group of guys hanging around the door way each night is a little intimidating at first, however they were friendly enough. If you want a small and intimate riad which is clean and with great service then this is your place. If you want a larger riad with more amenities, then you'd need to look elsewhere. Overall, an enjoyable stay and certainly worth considering again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Notts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    76
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
111
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The riad is very well located, 10 minutes from the main square and close to many good restaurants. The breakfast is super good, fresh orange juice, morrocan bread, 3 types of jam and butter, cakes or pancakes, and always the great Moroccan mint tea.
The service was excellent, always smiling and helping on every single detail.
Rooms have air conditioning and are very spacious.

Room Tip: We booked one superior room, is very spacious and quite. Other rooms close to the breakfast areas mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great breakfast, calm and peaceful which is good cause in July Marrakech is hectic! Staff were nice and helpful. rooms were lovely and a nice terrace (bit hot in july though). I cant think of anything bad about the place. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here for a total of eight nights in February 2011.

Location
Marrakech is a mix of the old town and the new town. The new town is a few miles from here; this is located within the old town. Marrakech is a mix of alleyways in the old town, so can be hard to navigate. This riad though was very easy to find we arrived by taxi and got taken to the hotel. Once we were there the hotel owner told us very easy directions for finding our way back to the hotel. It is not too far from the main square, so you can either take a main road to the square or alleyways, but it should never take more than fifteen minutes. The riad is very close to a big mosque so it cannot be missed!

Rooms
The rooms are very clean, and very traditional for a riad. The room I had came with a huge bath, enough for three people, and also a shower. For me the rooms were what made this riad. The courtyard is beautifully decorated. We had breakfast on the roof for many of the mornings, and some mornings we ate in the breakfast room, what I could only describe as a temple with its intricate decoration.

Cleanliness
The hotel was extremely clean, cleaned daily by the staff. The bedsheets were changed constantly and the rooms seemed clean. Even the areas what are not normally clean were cleaned.

Staff
The owner Hamid was really handy, welcomed us with some mint tea! And then told us the best way to get around. We booked a trip to the mountain with the hotel through him to the mountains, it was a brilliant trip, very scenic and well worth the money. We also ate in the hotel and the food was one of the best meals I have had in my stay in Marrakech, you have to give the staff 24 hours notice so it is cooked fresh but it was worth it!

Sleep quality
The streets of Marrakech are crazily busy, although no worries here as it is in an alley and not on a main street, the windows of our room faced into a quiet courtyard where there was little to no noise, making for a pleasant evening of sleep.

Overall
I would recommend this riad to even the most picky of travellers, you cannot fail to be impressed. I feel it would mainly appeal to couples.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be the same high quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Albanian_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Like always, people makes the difference and at Dar Baraka is no exception. We had an incredible support from the staff, they were friendly and really helpfull in finding the right choices for day activities. The room was always clean and the breakfast was excellent! Raccomended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This riad was recommended to us by Charlie of Epic Morocco who organised our trip to Marrakesh and to the mountains.
The riad is tastefully decorated and is immaculately clean with comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms. We were lucky enough to have room 5 which is a large room on the roof terrace which was very quiet.
The staff are attentive without being intrusive and keen to help; thank you Briham and Ahmed.
A substantial breakfast is served on the roof terrace - breads, pancakes, jam, eggs, yoghurt, fresh orange juice and coffee.
The riad is in the northern medina about 15 mins stroll from Djemma el Fna or several hours if you go via the souks!!! The staff provide a map but after the first outing we didn't need it.
Being in a peaceful part of the medina the effect of the evening call to prayer from dozens of mosques was an experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: room 5 on the roof terrace is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jellyfish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews in Tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. There are only five rooms in each Dar (Baraka and Karam). It is cosy and has a homely feeling. The management was so willing to please, always accommodating our every need. We had breakfast late and they served it outside our room and on the roof terrace as well. They organized a car tour of Marrakesh for us and also a wheelchair for my mother. They recommended wonderful restaurants (Dar Zeillij, Riad 72 and Maison Arabe). The location was perfect for walking to the medina, Kotoubia, the souk etc. They offered a courtesy drop off to the airport (for those staying three nights). The staff were absolutey adorable and treated us like family. I would thoroughly recommend this Dar.

Room Tip: For me the ground floor rooms suited my elderly mother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shivona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
#287 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#66 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#320 of 504 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#95 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
#217 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#419 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam

Property: Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Address: 11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you know the real meaning of "baraka?" It is "benefit!" A name which fits this remarkable building like a glove. Reknowned for its fine architectural detail, the "pièce de résistance" of this beautiful building is the lounge, adorned with an ornately painted ceiling, an ideal place for a candlelit dinner! This medium-sized riad comprises 5 bedrooms surrrounding a central courtyard with fountain. A split-level roof-terrace provides a magnificient view of the gardens of Dar El Bacha, the ancient palace of Glaouiet and the celebrated minaret of the Katoubi mosque. To complete your relaxation, a hammam and choice of massages are available. If this house is not enough to delight, then Dar Karam awaits to further seduce you with the charms of Moroccan hospitality. To provide more spacious accommodation the two houses may be booked as one. This riad, restored in respectful keeping with its surroundings, is a model of sobriety and elegance. Five charming bedrooms, traditionally furnished, once again open onto the central courtyard with fountain. Another beautiful lounge with a magnificient traditionally painted ceiling positively calls for dinner by candlelight! The split-level roof terrace shared by the adjoining Dar Baraka offers the same fine view of the gardens of the Glaouiet Palace and the famous minaret of the Koutoubi mosque - an ideal spot for stargazing at the end of a stimulating day in Marrakech! A traditionally decorated beldihammam and massage spa are also on hand to provide all you need to alleviate the strains of daily life. Ground Floor - 2 bedrooms - B'hou opening onto the courtyard 1st Floor - 2 bedrooms ( 1 with shower, 1 with bath) - Lounge with fireplace & painted ceiling - Gallery Terrace - Furnished with chairs, cushions and coffee tables - 1 bedroom (with shower) - Hammam option of adding an extra bed in 3 bedrooms option of furnishing the bedrooms with 2 single beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Budget Places so you can book your Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Baraka Karam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing