We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Origin Hotels Riad El Faran
Ranked #865 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stumbled across this Riad after the one which we had booked fell through and we felt very lucky to have found this gem! Very reasonably priced and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Definitely an oasis of calm in a hectic city - very quiet and relaxing ambiance; lovely cooling plunge pool, nice roof terrace. The room was incredibly large and well furnished with the most amazing bathroom suite. Breakfast was included in the price and was very generous. It is in a good location, well within walking distance of the Jamaa el Fna.

Do not heed the bad review on here, we would definitely stay again if we went back to Marrakech.

Room Tip: The room named 'Oranger' has the most amazing bathroom with a gigantic bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davelou10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 39 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

A great riad inside the old town about 15 minutes walk to the main square. The staff were incredibly helpful speaking fluent English organising an in-house cooking course with the sweet lady who runs the kitchen, massages and a shopping tour. The staff even took us shopping guiding us through the markets - no doubt they got some kickbacks from the shops we went to - but they were never pushy and even helped us haggle down the price. The riad itself was really peaceful and spacious - the only shortcoming was the lack of WiFi but you could login to the unsecured network next door.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boshek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Beautiful riad inside the old city. 2.5 km walk from Jamaa el Fna. Super quiet, cool plunge pool, huge room, lovely furnishings, greqt value. A godsend after a day of sensory overload in Marrakech. The manager speaks English and French fluently and helped us to book two wonderful tours in 5 minutes (we had spent hours trying to call and email travel agencies au francais from a public phone on the street- frustrating!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We stayed here for two nights, and really enjoyed the welcome from Alain (who collected us at the train station) and also all of the staff who were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We ate one night in the riad, and the cooking was v good. We were given very clear instructions for navigating the medina (the riad is a bit hard to find, but you quickly get your bearings) and we also had a great experience visiting the local Hamam

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

This was my first trip to Marrakesh but I hope not my last. First I must praise the staff at Riad El Faran. They were all fantastic. Nothing was too much bother for them. The bedrooms were large and comfortable and very clean. The roof terrace is lovely. The atrium is where we hung out a lot as well as the upstairs living room when it was a bit chilly.
It is defiantly worth eating at the Riad as we had the best Couscous of the week here. The breakfasts were a bit limited But the crumpets and honey bread were home made. I know because we had a go making them! But if you ask for what you want, the staff will provide it.
There were a couple of gripes. It would have been nice to have a safe in the room and the upstairs rooms suffer a bit from noise from downstairs. some more soft furnishings may help with this.
The manager speaks limited English, but we managed with pigeon French and the young men who staff the riad speak good English.
As we took over the whole riad it very much felt like our own home and we were encouraged to treat it as such. Coffee and mint tea were always available. Once we got a hang of the geography, with help from the staff, it was easy to find our way to the main square. The locals were friendly, particularly the lovely old lady who ran a local shop. It was all I could have wished or imagined for a trip to Marrakesh. A visit to a tourist Hamman is a must.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

The hallmark of this riad seems to be hospitality. They sent someone to meet us when we were dropped off at the edge of the medina, and each time we went in or out they would send someone to guide us back to the riad. We were greeted with tea and Moroccan cookies and assisted with our sightseeing plans. The center atrium and the rooms were beautiful. The only drawback was the noise, both late and early, from the atrium, which serves as a gathering place. This was my first stay in a riad, and I imagine this issue is common to them, given their layouts. The breakfast was pleasantly simple and tasty.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendelfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Compared to other Riads in Marrakesh it looks OK at first glance, but when you look a bit closer it is not clean!! There were pieces of rubbish in our bathroom and lots of small ANTS everywhere in the bathroom... no wonder! Spiderweb and dust everywhere too. Found this riad very expensive for what it was. The air condition was quite old fashoned and noisy. When other guests came back late, they were not encouraged to keep their voices down not to disturb other guests who might wanted to sleep. Next door was the most gorgeous riad to a better price, we discovered too late unfortunately.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ostkrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 499 in Marrakech
2,109 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
Iberostar Club Palmeraie Marrakech
0.8 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#268 of 499 in Marrakech
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Origin Hotels Riad El Faran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Origin Hotels Riad El Faran

Address: 156, Derb El Faran | Sidi Hamed Soussi, Marrakech 40.000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #865 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $59 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Origin Hotels Riad El Faran 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Medina, easy access and parking nearby, 10 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna and the souks. Riad El Faran has 3 bedrooms and 2 suites, all equipped with living room with fireplace, air conditioning, heating, bed, bathroom with tadlakt, bath or shower, hair dryer. The patio with heated swimming pool and living room, a large Bhou off the passageway and a large terrace welcome you for your lunches and dinners. Room service and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Origin Hotels Riad El Faran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing