We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly, clean and VERY hospitable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Jona
Ranked #40 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Super friendly, clean and VERY hospitable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 days at the beginning of our trip. The location is superb, less than a 10 minute stroll to Jemaa El-Fnaa square where the bustling Souks begin, and the evening street food market gets started at about 6pm.

Our hosts were so friendly, and obliged our every wish. We had the room on the roof terrace, which was divine. Opened our doors in the morning to look across the rooftops to the Atlas Mountains, and could jump in the little rooftop pool before anyone else had even woken up.

The food was also excellent, definitely the best we had during our stay

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the roof called "Encens", the bathroom facilities aren't at all pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    68
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
282
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is definitely the Riad of Roses! Your welcome is assured from the moment you walk into this richly decorated Moroccan hotel. The greeting is warm and genuine, you are invited to sit around a rose petal filled fountain and offered traditional pastries and sweet mint tea. Your bedroom is strewn with rose petals, one single gorgeous bloom decorates the washbasin in the bathing area, the perfume throughout the riad is divine.
Breakfast is served on the roof terrace where the breeze softens the air, every moring the fare is different, thick fruity yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, a variety of pastries, crepes, toasted bread, preserves, cheese and large pots of tea and coffee.
Dinner is available too, pre-ordered, delicious tagines, couscous, Moroccan salads.
Not particularly child-friendly, the riad is situated in a typical medina walking street (no vehicle access) and does not have an elevator so if you find stairs a challenge this may not be the place for you.
We were in the Wardle room on the ground floor. The en suite bathroom facilites were located at one end of the room behind a three quarter wall that did not reach the ceiling. Although the shower/handbasin/toilet were divided by walls there were no doors, a curtain could be drawn to provide some visual privacy, but no real privacy if you wanted a good fart!

Room Tip: When you are making a reservation ask if the en suite is seperated from the bedroom by a door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlbaDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

my daughter and I stayed at Riad Jona for 6 nights, it was the 2nd best part of our trip (the 1st was our hammam) from the 1st instance we walked in, the welcome of both Julien and this staff we knew this was going to be great, every morning we would have our breakfast when and where we requested and it was always wonderful, our room was so beautiful and peaceful, we arrived when it started getting very hot, so in the mid afternoon we would seclude ourselves in the AC of our room while getting ready for our evening adventures. the Riad is about a 5 minute walk from Jemaa and even thou we were two women and my daughter a beautiful 27 year old walking back to the riad late, we felt safe, it is so well situated just off a main road leading to the plaza. the upstair terrace was a santuary were one can go to read or just relax after a day of sight seeing. being in the travel business for over 25 years, i must say that this is one of the best adventures we have been on, and staying at this lovely riad was our highlight.

Room Tip: we stayed in musc on the ground level we loved our room it was great for the two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juera99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Riad Jona. We were warmly welcomed and both the Owner Julien and all staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Our room was beautiful and roomy with a lovely bunch of flowers. Breakfast on the top terrasse was delicious and the pool was most welcome after a long day walking. We had dinner twice in the riad and there again the food prepared was delicious. A great address.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KikiSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We immediately felt like home at this lovely riad. It is beautifully decorated, and the rooftop terrasse is simply amazing. We enjoyed our breakfast up there every single day while gazing at the Atlas mountains. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful with fresh orange juice, although very bready, which seems to be the norm in Marocco. It is situated 10 mins from the square, providing a calm and relaxed escape from the chaotic life in the souks. We stayed in the Musc room at the gound floor. Although facing the common area, we felt we had our privacy, so I would recommend it if you are on a budget. However next time I will choose one of the (more expensive) rooms at the first floor. All in all I highly recommend this lovely riad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for one night and it was a great riad. Great location only 10 minutes from the jemaa el fna. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the tea and cakes on arrival were lovely. We would not have found it without help as it is a little but off a main road but once you ahve been once it is easy to find again. There were nto many guests when we stayed but I would be concerned if there were lots of guests who were making noise in the evenings as the rooms open straight onto the central square. However, this may nto be a problem. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Riad Jona for 3 nights. The staff were friendly, welcoming and attentive to our every need. The room which was beautiful, filled with roses and rose petals, surrounded an enchanting courtyard. We ate in the Riad everynight just for ease after a long day out with our 2 and 4 year old. The food was fabulous - would definitely recommend their chicken pastilla and lamb tagine. Can't recommend Riad Jona highly enough - can't wait to return for a romantic few nights with husband only!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie Klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#57 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Anabel
Riad Anabel
#17 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#14 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#22 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
10.0 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#4 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jona

Property: Riad Jona
Address: Riad zitoune el kedim | 34, derb jdid, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jona 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jona is very well located at five minutes by walk from the famous place "Dejma el Fna" and at few steps from the most emblematics monuments of Marrakech.This riad is recently renovated with traditional style and a cosy atmosphere ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Jona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jona Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing