We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a Gem near Jemaa El Fna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Riad Monceau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Riad Monceau
Ranked #255 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a Gem near Jemaa El Fna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our family of 3 including a 13 y.o. son wanted to stay close to the Jemaa and Souks. Read the review with this property especially about how quiet but convenient. And it's absolutely correct plus so much more.

The owner Isabel has been attentive and everyone at the Riad was helpful. The restaurant on site was wonderful. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and great coffee!

Again, we couldn't believe how close the Riad was to all the action yet it's like an oasis and the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Our room at Sultan was very quiet. There are diners right outside but they finished around 9pm so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guests,
The opinions of our clients are very useful to us as well as to other travelers, so please let me thank you for taking the time to write this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we’ll have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school in Marrakech
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    71
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
54
314
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

A lovely little Riad in an incredible location. Rooms are nicely decorated if on the small side & wonderful big bath. You must eat here at least one night - food is memorable. Cooking school was also a highlight.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gezza66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guests,
The opinions of our clients are very useful to us and other travelers, so please let me thank you for taking the time to write this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Couldn't ask for a better location in Marrakech - just a couple of minutes from the main square - a calm oasis in the mayhem around.
The hotel is charming, the entrance to our room was probably the best we've ever had at any hotel - we loved the little terrace outside where we could sit, relax and read.
The service was great - every member of staff was friendly, welcoming and keen to help. Isabelle the owner took care to ensure we enjoyed our stay - my husband was ill, we think from motion sickness from the Atlas mountain day tour, and Isabelle personally made sure we got some reliable medication and the head waiter in the evening rustled up a little supper for me that I could eat on my own upstairs on the terrace - thank you both.
Isabelle gave really useful tips of things to visit/not bother with.
The cookery course was excellent - a real must - loved having my own food served professionally at the three course lunch afterwards. The evening taster menu was delicious.
No wall-hung shower (this wasn't a problem though as others have suggested a low hook to have a sitting shower would've been useful). The huge tiled bath instead was different!
Pre-arranged taxi to and from was an added bonus.
The only blip to this excellent hotel was the breakfast, it was fine but average compared to the rest of the experience here. Fresh orange juice was excellent.
Pool is freezing so don't bother with swimming kit.
Beds very comfortable, we left the window open instead of using the aircon as there's always a breeze but you do hear the mosques calling at dawn.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better so you don't open onto the courtyard restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guests,
The opinions of our clients are very useful to us and other travelers, so please let me thank you for taking the time to write this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

A great place to stay right in the middle of the Medina close to all the attractions. A very quiet and peaceful oasis in the middle of so much hustle & bustle.

Breakfast was excellent and provided a good start to the day. Evening meals were also of a very high standard and service excellent, although too expensive and too plentiful for us to experience every evening which encouraged us to experience a variety of excellent restaurants in Jemaa El Fna square 2 minutes walk from the Riad.

Service throughout was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble.

We used their airport transfer service which proved very helpful and inexpensive.

Thank you to all the staff for a great holiday

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gunterSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guests,
The opinions of our clients are very useful to us and other travelers, so please let me thank you for taking the time to write this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

A superb riad and perfectly located offering an elegant escape from the busy streets
Positives are for the fantastic suite with an exceptional bathroom, charming staff and nothing was too much trouble. We would advise you to take up the hotel service of being collected at the airport by a prearranged taxi and they will take you on arrival to the Riad by the confusing narrow alleyways. We were met on arrival at the airport and staff met us outside the walls of the souk and then we work personally escorted with our luggage. We also dined in the restaurant on the first night. It was very good food and the service was personal and charming .
We had a cooking course at Riad and it was was a very exciting experience. There were only four of us, all beginners, in the small kitchen which made it a very personal cooking class. We could choose whether to cook a lamb or chicken tagine, similar but different selection of spices and amounts of them. We also cooked a delicious vegetarian starter. The whole process was quite different from what we are used to and we were entirely absorbed throughout. At the end of it the chef advised us that the lunch would be served on the roof terrace dining area and she just needed to finish the dishes with a few final touches.
Enjoying the results of our cooking among the roof terrace plants and tranquillity was the perfect finale to the experience.
Some constructive comment however regarding the arrangements for breakfast. It is a delightful room and of course you can have breakfast if you wish at one of the tables in the open courtyard but whilst the breakfast service whilst immensely charming with really lovely staff, it is slightly haphazard on occasions. Having to go to the kitchen to ask for bread, eggs and coffee pots to be refilled is we appreciate, hardly a great burden but it just needs to be tightened up a little bit. We do stress that this is not a criticism of any great force but we felt we should mention it and noticed that another trip advisor guest has commented on it.
This riad also benefits from really elegant surroundings and staff who are just so willing to help. It has a very relaxing atmosphere and we would recommend it without hesitation. The terraces above onto further levels and are beautifully kept and manicured. It is clear that the owner has planned everything to the very last detail and this in turn is reflected in the great professionalism of the staff. We are sorry that we have not been able to complete this review until now but it has been impossible due to intervening family circumstances.

Room Tip: Probably the best rooms are at first floor level rather than at ground floor although the doors to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IANandARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guests,
The opinions of our clients are very useful to us and other travelers, so please let me thank you for taking the time to write this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a really good experience staying at The Riad Monceau. The Riad is beautiful and really is a haven from the hustle and bustle of the Medina outside. The staff were all incredibly welcoming and helpful and our rooms were well appointed. However we found the use of a hand held shower quite difficult and resorted to having baths most days. A hook on the wall for the shower would have made all the difference. The Riad provides slippers which are very useful as the floors are tiled but not bathrobes.The provision of bathrobes would have been much appreciated. The Riad is situated very close to Jemaa El Fna (the central square) and is walking distance from all the main sights. We recommend that you use the Riad's transfer service to and from the airport as finding the Riad initially would have been very challenging.
The breakfast provided was good - coffee, tea, orange juice, cornflakes, yogurt, choice of eggs, fruit, bread, croisants and cake. The evening meals are delicious - we ate the set menu one night and it was fantastic.We also highly recommend the cooking school - we loved it and it was also a great way to fill a rainy day so it is worth checking the forecast before booking. The food we made under the guidance of the chef was excellent and we really enjoyed eating it for lunch. All in all we had a very good experience at this Riad and would recommend it as a lreally ovely place to stay while in Marrakech.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor can be slightly noisy as they open onto the main communal area - an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guests,
The opinions of our clients are very useful to us and other travelers, so please let me thank you for taking the time to write this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

How on earth this delightful riad has a ranking of 361 out of 435 hotels in Marrakech is beyond me. What is there not to like? Perfect location close to the Jemaa el Fna square, superb cuisine, the most comfortable of rooms, as well as friendly and courteous staff make this charming and characterful riad the perfect place to stay in Marrakech. A day-trip to the Atlas Mountains arranged for us by the management gave us the perfect opportunity to see a little more of this amazing country.

Overall, we found Le Riad Monceau to be an oasis of calm and comfort close to the hustle and bustle of the city centre and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceT549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guests,
The opinions of our clients are very useful to us and other travelers, so please let me thank you for taking the time to write this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.7 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#40 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#97 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#332 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#96 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#71 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Riad Monceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Monceau

Property: Le Riad Monceau
Address: 7/8 Derb Chaabane-Riad Zitoun Lakdim | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#138 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#150 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Riad Monceau 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet side street just off the Djemaa El Fna (about 100 metres from the square) Le Riad Monceau is a cosy 7-room boutique hotel with pool, hammam-spa, rooftop terraces overviewing the Koutoubia Mosque, and a renowned Moroccan gourmet restaurant where you will enjoy the best of Moroccan gastronomy. Famous friendly cooking workshops are held every morning in the restaurant's kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Riad Monceau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Riad Monceau Marrakech
Le Riad Monceau Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing