We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$77
View deal
Expedia.com$80
Hotels.com$80
Travelocity$80
eDreams$77
CheapTickets$80
ZenHotels.com$100
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveler rating
490
52
4
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
490
52
4
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace atlas mountains smallest room an excellent place to stay yogurt heart of marrakech call to prayer central courtyard a lovely stay hassan souks riad morocco guide maps culture chaos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 552 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2020

Dar Zarman is a welcome haven in the Marrakech Médina. On arrival with an easy transfer from Marrakech airport we were greeted by Hassan who’s welcome ,advice ,personal recommendations and directions really added to our stay and we felt at home straight away!

Karima’s Moroccan dinner on our first night was very tasty and romantic !

A plentiful breakfast started each day !

Loved the artistic touches around the courtyard house ! My husband and I felt very welcome here !
Thank you

Date of stay: February 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Benashexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2020

We have just returned from an amazing few days in Marrakesh staying at Riad Zaman I have never experienced such helpful, kind, caring and efficient staff as we did at this Riad. Hassan, Yassin, Daoud and not forgetting the young assistant (who laundered my dress) could never do enough for you. I have travelled all over the world, but very rarely is such hospitality matched.. A Riad is a traditional Moroccan house with an interior courtyard. Riad Zaman is situated at the end of some winding alleyways in the Medina (the old part of the city) The only reason I have not given it 5 stars is because we felt the Riad needed some updating, although it had obviously been lovingly designed when it was first renovated 12 years ago.
When we arrived, we were met by Hassan from the Riad, a few streets away (you cannot take cars down the alleyways, although beware the numerous motor bikes and cycles that wind themselves around you. Hassan escorted us through the narrow alleys to the Riad and I was convinced we'd never find it on our own, but we certainly did and it is absolutely safe at night to walk there. There is a roof terrace where you enjoy breakfast or drinks (not alcohol)
Don't be put off by the exteriors of the buildings - inside they are sometimes stunning. Location was very convenient, within walking distance of many of the beautiful places to visit, including The Secret Garden, the Bacha Palace and museum and the Shouk. The Yves St. Laurent museum, house and garden (designed by Majorelle) are also well worth a visit
10 minutes by car from The Medina you are transported into the modern city of Marrakesh that was first built by the French when Morocco became a Protectorate in 1912 and has since expanded, with low rise apartments and wide boulevards - with the usual shops you see on Western high streets.
We would also highly recommend a day excursion to the desert and Atlas mountains. You can be picked up a few minutes walk from the Riad
Staying in the Medina gave you a real flavour of the culture and history of Marrakech. Once again, a big thank you to the staff a Riad Zalman - you truly made our visit especially memorable.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 45,893,500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Mercer, Owner at Riad Dar Zaman, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2021

Updated 11 April, 2021

During the months of lockdown in 2020 and 2021 we took the opportunity to invest in upgrades at Dar Zaman which we can't wait to share with you all:

New mattresses in all rooms - we bought 27cm deep firm support hypoallergenic foam mattresses and added a 5cm memory foam topper - the result is possibly the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in!

New brass wash basins and taps with polished plaster (tadelakt) surrounds have been fitted in Baignoire, Terrasse and Douiria bathrooms.

New custom designed sofas, armchairs and other soft furnishings for the salons.

New light fixtures and lamps have been fitted throughout the riad.

Wall mounted bedside reading lights have been installed in the Baignoire room.

We purchased all new Italian made Egyptian cotton bed linen.

And...for breakfast...we added mashed avocado, beetroot hummus and almond nut butter (all vegan friendly and served with toasted bread) to the menu, which still includes homemade yoghurt, eggs, homemade olive tapenade, preserves, fresh bread, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, tea and coffee.  All included in the room rate!

Check out our instagram feed @riaddarzaman and let us know what you think :-)

Book direct with us via our own Dar Zaman website and gain an additional 10% discount, PLUS a free arrival airport transfer for a four night stay, and for a five night stay, the arrival airport transfer AND a delicious dinner the night of your arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2020

Riad Dar Zaman is located in the heart of Marrakech Medina with access down several narrow dirty alleyways, many of which have scooters with uncaring riders driving through them. Our host Hussan greeted us at the taxi drop off point and guided us through the alleyways to the Riad. We had pre-booked an evening meal which was perfectly adequate. Unfortunately the only alcohol available was Red or White wine.

Our double room was acceptable but very cold, the bathroom and shower area was on the small side and freezing. We had no hot water on one occasion for showers, however this was sorted by Hussan the next day.The roof terrace was not very attractive and not the place where you would want to relax - no bar or restaurant as indicated on various travel sites. More like a laundry room.

The best part about staying at Riad Dar Zaman however, was Hussan. We were greeted by Hassan upon arrival, who welcomed us and gave us an extensive in depth guide to Marrakech - where to go, what to do, what not to do etc etc. He was extremely kind to us, and a very charming.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank IanC981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Mercer, Owner at Riad Dar Zaman, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2021

For accurate information on Dar Zaman, please refer to our own website and instagram @riaddarzaman where you can also enjoy a 10% discount on all direct reservations. 

Our restaurant is largely for in-house guests who have the opportunity to feast on Karima's delicious home cooking.  Karima makes some of the most delicious local cuisine you'll encounter in Marrakech - other reviews will attest to this.  

We also offer really fun cooking classes.  

We do not have a bar and do not claim to have one - but we can provide wine with dinner. 

Winter nights in Marrakech are cold - the temperature drops to just above freezing. But we obviously provide heating!  In all rooms!  Two different sources!  The air conditioner blows out up to 30 degrees warm air and there is a more sedate, electric radiator that can be easily plugged in in the bathroom. Here's the catch - they only work if you switch them on!  If you can't figure out how, ask one of the lovely staff to show you!

Hot water is included in the room rate!  We all know that water is a precious resource, but it's also hard to resist a long, hot shower.  Our hot water comes from several 100 litre electric tanks.  If another guest empties 100 litres on a shower just before you go for yours - it happens sometimes - it will take 20 minutes to reheat the tank.

Our roof terrace has swaying palm trees, olive and citrus trees, flowering annuals, comfortable sofas and a fabulous outdoor shower...and has been the setting for weddings, birthday dinners, romantic moments, breakfasts, sunbathing and countless happy moments spent drinking mint tea while listening to the call of the muezzin.  Yes, we're eco-conscious so sometimes you might encounter our white Egyptian cotton bed linen drying in the sun.


Updated 11 April, 2021

During the months of lockdown in 2020 and 2021 we took the opportunity to invest in upgrades at Dar Zaman which we can't wait to share with you all:

New mattresses in all rooms - we bought 27cm deep firm support hypoallergenic foam mattresses and added a 5cm memory foam topper - the result is possibly the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in!

New brass wash basins and taps with polished plaster (tadelakt) surrounds have been fitted in Baignoire, Terrasse and Douiria bathrooms.

New custom designed sofas, armchairs and other soft furnishings for the salons.

New light fixtures and lamps have been fitted throughout the riad.

Wall mounted bedside reading lights have been installed in the Baignoire room.

We purchased all new Italian made Egyptian cotton bed linen.

And...for breakfast...we added mashed avocado, beetroot hummus and almond nut butter (all vegan friendly and served with toasted bread) to the menu, which still includes homemade yoghurt, eggs, homemade olive tapenade, preserves, fresh bread, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, tea and coffee.  All included in the room rate!

Check out our instagram feed @riaddarzaman and let us know what you think :-)

Book direct with us via our own Dar Zaman website and gain an additional 10% discount, PLUS a free arrival airport transfer for a four night stay, and for a five night stay, the arrival airport transfer AND a delicious dinner the night of your arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2020

The Riad is located in the heart of Marrakech Medina and gives you a flavour and insight into the authenticity and culture of Marrakech.

The rooms are perfectly adequate and are made up every day. I was expecting it to be very noisy but it was extremely peaceful. The roof terrace is great to chill out on and to take a break from the chaos of the rest of the Medina. The breakfast was also amazing - lots of it and very tasty (croissants, omelettes, yoghurt and fruit, with fresh coffee and juice).

The best part about staying at Riad Dar Zaman however, was the staff. We were greeted by Hassan upon arrival, who welcomed us with some traditional tea (and then a Casablanca beer!) and gave us an extensive and in depth guide to Marrakech - where to go, what to do, what not to do etc etc. He was extremely kind to us, and a very charming man. Yassine and his brother looked after us for the rest of our stay. They were also extremely kind to us and made our stay as perfect as it could've been. I will genuinely miss them all and would recommend this Riad purely and simply for the welcoming staff and their kindness. They are truly magnificent people with great hearts.

If you are looking for something expensive and luxurious, you may be better going to stay in the hotels in the new town. We went to the new town in the evening to go to bars and restaurants as it is very lively. If however, you want to stay in a traditional Moroccon Riad in the centre of the Medina with an authentic experience - I would definitely recommend staying here!

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank mhsd9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarZaman, Owner at Riad Dar Zaman, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2020

Thanks so much, mhsd9, for your very kind words and for sharing your experience.

Dar Zaman is not only a guesthouse but a place where we try to make our guests feel at home, like family. One way that we show this is to offer complimentary mint tea any time you wish.

If you book a 4-night stay directly through our own website, we'll include a free arrival airport transfer, and for a 5-night stay, we'll also include a delicious dinner the evening of your arrival.

The team - Hassan, Yassine, Simo and Karima - genuinely want you to have the best possible time in Marrakech.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Follow us on instagram @riaddarzaman for regular updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2020

We had a really lovely stay at Riad Dar Zaman. The staff were so helpful and friendly - we were very well looked after. The Riad is beautiful, the room very comfortable and we will definitely be back! Highly recommended. Thank you!

Date of stay: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Angel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews