We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Dar Zaman”
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Dar Zaman
Ranked #87 of 1,193 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent stay at this riad. Karima makes great food, and Hassan was wonderful, giving advice on navigating the crazy streets of Marrakech, and took a personal interest to make sure you were enjoying yourself.

Riad is very clean and comfortable, and very close to everything. Felt very safe, a nice quiet haven after the navigating the streets of Marrakech.

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 499 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

From the minute you arrive at Dar Zaman you feel at home. Hassan is an essential part of this friendly team. When I arrived I wasn't feeling well & unfortunately I was too ill to eat the arrival dinner - Hassan was very helpful, offering me a fan, water etc. My friend & I stayed in the room showed above & this met our requirements, my only complaint is that the bathroom lighting is dark making it difficult to dry your hair or put make-up on. We had complimentary water, in-room safe, air-con, hairdryers & little touches that you don't get if you're staying at a hotel. As this riad is small (only 4 bedrooms), you get to know the other guests - which is nice to chat with other people over a drink at the end of a busy day. The breakfasts seem to be catered for you whenever you get up & are plentiful. Hassan & Peter offer lots of advise, tips & history of Marrakesh. We loved staying at this Riad, I have already reccommended it to people & would definately come again. I stayed at The Atlas Medina & Spa on my last visit & there was nothing notably memorable about it but staying at a riad this time made the holiday more special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Wow!!!! My friends and I had the best time ever at Dar Zaman, having returned just a few days ago. The personal service we received from Hassan, Peter and Karina was amazing, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Hassan met us around the corner from the Dar outside the School and we walked for a couple of minutes to our Dar. We had a lovely dinner included in our package upon arrival.

The rooftop has lovely views and is so tranquil - a perfect place to relax. The rooms are all unique and special - 3 rooms on the first floor and 1 room on the roof area. The rooms are fabulously decorated in traditional Morroccan style and my double bed was so comfortable with a duvet, crisp white sheets and pillows. Air con is provided if you need it and also Wifi was a huge plus as we couldnt get a mobile signal most of the time in the city.Something very unusual - the rooms dont have keys but bolts on the interior and exterior but safes are provided free of charge if you need them. The hospitality and friendliness we experienced made us feel totally at home and we had many fun times chatting to the guys. If you want a table booking at a restaurant Hassan and Peter can organise this along with excursions. I also found the information books Peter put together extremely useful and informative. The atmosphere was so relaxed with breakfast being a very pleasant start to the day!

When we went out the local taxi driver came to the Dar to pick us up, names and phone numbers for return journeys handed to us so we felt completely safe and looked after. Outside the hotel the locals were friendly and a few cute children followed us to accompany us home from time to time!! We didnt experience any hassle in the city, just the usual banter (if you've been to Turkey before it will seem familiar!) and Hassan gave us some advice and recommendations of places to visit along with a great handwritten map.

I would recommend Riad Dar Zaman as a very friendly, extremely comfortable, safe place to stay in a great location just a 10-15 minswalk to the centre yet away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmarisestateagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Cannot speak highly enough of this incredible place to stay. Hassan, Peter and Karima make you feel as though you are at home. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and so close to everything you will ever need in Marrakech. Hassan gives great advice and shares his incredible local knowledge of the area which definitely comes in useful when attempting to navigate the souks, riads and medinas.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms in the Riad, all are cozy, clean and warm. The communal areas are clean, calming and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Peter and his team were extremely helpful, very friendly and made you feel that the riad was your home. It was peaceful, cosy and welcoming after the hustle bustle of the medina. The rooms were beautifully decorated and clean and the food was excellent. We had a wonderful time and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hassan, Karima and Peter make a great team to provide a wonderful place to stay. The riad is superbly laid out and decorated. The trio combine to provide extremely helpful and knowledgeable information of where to go/ what to see and what to do. However, the riad is a little difficult to find, and without signage, travellers will fall foul of street touts and the inevitable demand for money on arrival, unless they are picked up and directly conveyed to the riad.

Room Tip: The room on the terrasse is likely to be exposed to the heat of day in summer... it was certainly wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have never stayed in a place where people took care of me like family and I wasn't family.

When I arrived I was really sick. I tried to tough it out and I just was getting worse. Hassan and Peter got me medicine made special food for me and helped tailor my trip so I could still enjoy myself. Amazing. Their hearts are bigger than the Riad.

The rooms were really clean overlooking the courtyard. The bathroom was quite nice, lots of hot water, plenty of space for 1 person at a time. we needed an extra blanket at night and Hassan gave us a nice thick one...not to mention a fire place in the room! It was very cool.

The courtyard was really spacious and I could have stared at the pool all day. The breakfast was good and the coffee a plenty. In the evening if you're not out and about, TV with Hassan is great after a very good dinner of Moroccan salad and entry.

All in all I had a really good time, people were really amazing and I'm so happy they took care of me.

This is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rifkida1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Dar Karma
Riad Dar Karma
#158 of 500 in Marrakech
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#8 of 1,193 in Marrakech
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#70 of 1,193 in Marrakech
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#12 of 1,193 in Marrakech
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,193 in Marrakech
468 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Badi
Riad Badi
#7 of 1,193 in Marrakech
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Bouelilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,193 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $94 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing