We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and tranquil riad - the perfect place after a day in the Medina!”
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Dar Zaman
Ranked #81 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just returned from four nights staying at Riad Dar Zaman. It really was excellent, so peaceful as soon as you stepped inside - and very beautiful and welcoming. We felt so at home straight away. Peter, Hassan and Brahim went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed, from water and a very handy map and tips on our first evening, to walking us up to the taxis, suggesting and booking a table for what was our best meal out (at le Marrakchi overlooking the square), and recommending days out and which food stalls to eat at in the night market. They were all full of handy tips and answered any questions we had. Breakfasts were delicious and the sun terrace and dipping pool were exactly what was needed after a day haggling in the souks! Fantastic value too. We were very sorry to leave and very keen to return!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank acmarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 498 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed in the Riad for two days and other 3 days in a hotel on the Palmeraie. If I could have spent the whole period in the riad I would have enjoyed more. The Riad is within walking distance to all main attractions in the Medina, it's very confortable and the Staff is very helpfull. They will give full attention for all their guests, from receiving you with cold water when you arrive from the hot streets, to help you make trips in and out the city. I can say it is worth every cent, if you are considering staying at this hotel, please go ahead and enjoy this jewel !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rafael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just got back from 3 nights at Riad Dar Zaman with my mom. Lovely riad, excellent staff! Felt so at home I even considered going to breakfast in my pjs (but resisted the urge!). Riad is just like the pictures. Everything worked. Hassan was so helpful and friendly, as was Peter. Would highly recommend this friendly riad over a big hotel for a short stay, you might not get the big hotel perks but you really experience something of Marrakesh. It is beautiful and peaceful. Rooms are compact, but lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We felt at home in this beautiful place. The staff was friendly and always helpful. The room was beautifully decorated in the morroccoan style.
We spend all the afternoons sunbathing in the terrace and it was so peaceful.
Breakfast was excellent, lot of variety and freshly made on the moment.
Getting to the main square is not that difficult and it is a nice walk anyway (15 minutes).
We did not want to leave that place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laislabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at the Riad in early May 2012. Peter, Hassan and Anwaar were so helpful and sweet during our stay. Every strange question or request was always answered. They helped arrange a trip to the Ourika valley, Essouria and our travel to and from the airport. All of those things went well. Breakfast every morning was so delicious. Homemade yogurt, pastries, fresh eggs, mint tea, and fresh oj. Perfect breakfast to get the long days of walking started.

The location of the riad is perfect. Close to the action, but far enough away to get some rest and peace. There are no cars allowed on the road, but a short 5 minute walk brings you to the taxi stand, and the entrance to the souks is just past that.

Our room was very comfortable and clean. We stayed at the room on the top floor by the roof terrace. It was a little cozy for my friend and myself, I would reccomend that room more to couples, but it was still very nice. The roof terrace is very relaxing and has a pretty view of the mountains on a clear day. I loved laying out on the couch in the middle of the day to get refreshed.

I highly recommend this hotel for your Marrakech stay. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Stick to the 2nd floor rooms if you are traveling as friends, roof is more for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosecose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

In this place your are welcomed more like a friend to a family than as a hotel guest. Anouar and Kabira did really everything they could for our comfort. The rooms are on the small side (the only reason for scoring very good and not excellent), but tidy, well kept and impeccably cleaned. Food (including breakfast) is really good. After a few days of getting lost in the Medina, we realised how fast you get around to places and that Ben Slimane area is a good starting point for most excursions in town. If you are not on a budget, don't miss nearby restaurant dar Zellij!

Room Tip: Terrace room doesn't get WiFi. Bathtub in La Baignoire can be rather hard to get in and out of i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaltisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed in early March - we couldnt of asked for a better place to be! Although the alleyways seemed a bit daunting at first, we very quickly learnt which directions to head in and easily found our way around. The Dar is situated in a slightly more local area rather than the resorts on the outskirts and tourists places nearer the square. We loved that this place was in a quieter local place. We werent pestered locally nor had any problems with kids hassling us. The closer to the square you go, the more hassle you get. The square itself we only enjoyed in the day as at night it was just too much shouting and grabbing and unfriendly/bordering abuse being shouted at two lone girls just wanting to go get some food! We were properly dressed, were polite but the people round the square just saw 'tourist' and we had monkeys thrown on us, hats put on our heads, henna squirted on us without permission - NOT friendly. However, the peaceful Dar Zaman and its amazingly friendly staff made up for it without a doubt. Plus - the souks and places nearer the local area had FRIENDLY shop owners who honestly made you feel comfy, poured you tea and chatted rather than sold you things. These felt more authentic (they were also much much cheaper too - haggling was a friendlier and jokey banter and you got a much better deal)

The room itself was bigger than it looked in the photos - and it was clean and perfectly suited for us with a safe and plenty of hanging space. Bathroom was lovely and the shower worked well. There it loads of outsidey space, the lounge part on the ground floor, internet space and the rood terrace as well as the central courtyard all make the place feel so homely and welcoming.

The staff were also amazing - so thank you ALL! Hassan, Anuor and Sufyan made us feel happy, safe and relaxed throughout our stay and we enjoyed cooking, drinking tea and relaxing. Peter was exceptionally helpful too and helped us arrange day trips, taxis and also sort out a problem we had. These guys really make the place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Dar Karma
Riad Dar Karma
#154 of 500 in Marrakech
177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#33 of 500 in Marrakech
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#53 of 500 in Marrakech
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#83 of 1,187 in Marrakech
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio de las Especias
Palacio de las Especias
#20 of 1,187 in Marrakech
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Bouelilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $75 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing