We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting let down by crucial factors.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murano Resort Marrakech
Ranked #230 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Murano is a lovely design in a great location with and the staff are friendly. That is where it ended for our stay.
I am not a well traveled person who stays in a lot of hotels but this (to my mind) was not a 5 star hotel. Without giving a huge list there was many things wrong with the room such as lights not working and a huge bump in the middle of the bed. The decor (although nice) was a little on the grubby side, much like the rest of the hotel. To be fair the manger moved us into another room which was a lot better but still a little grubby the sinks in the bathroom gave off an unsavory smell and the electric sockets would work intermittently and the sockets could be pulled out of the wall in some places, so if you have children this would definitely be of concern.
The breakfast was awful quality with minimal cooked options to choose from. All of the food is left out for the whole of the whole morning uncovered allowing flies to crawl freely over the bread, fruit and cheese.
All of the pools were freezing and so only for the brave to use and the sun beds were never brushed off so were covered in bird poo and cat fur in many instances.
We went for a meal in `Le Deux Tours opposite on evening and it was lovely and looked a lot nicer (although we did not see the rooms)so we were gutted as it was our honeymoon. You have been warned.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johnjames1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 490 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed thee with family & friends for 5 nights and had a great room. Service like in most of Marocco was very friendly but laid back. Top Managemnt was even more friendly and you could tell they had trouble getting things perfect with local "laid back" staff...

Anyway the hotel structure is very nice they ae one of the few hotels to have a heated pool which is great in coooler weaner although the setback is that you have more families with young "loud" children during school seasons :-(

Food was ok (could improve) and we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vegalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Totally agree with Joss 8d, don't bother booking unless you like chilling music by the
pool. No one has tried to make the hotel special, I just felt the staff did not care.

No tables laid outside for lunch or breakfast. Dinner was inside on an awful plastic table
whereas the other hotel I moved to quickly once I decided I could not stay at the Murano for
long had home cooked food and candles on the tables outside.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It is rare that I feel the need to write a review whilst still at the hotel, but this one deserves it. I should have listened to the recent negative reviews!
If thumping day time music, around unheated, dirty pools with algae, surroumded by flies and hoards or fat guys making a racket is your thing then come on down!
Add to that tiny, dinger, cell like rooms with mouldy showers that flood the hall way and no furnishings (I telling the truth when I say that our bedroom had one piece of furniture, a bed, that you had to squeeze around the walks to get in to!). Our room also had no safe, you turned the tv off by unplugging it, the air conditioning wouldn't work and we had no phone (what hotel room has no phone!).
We paid £150 for dinner for 4 where the food was very average and we had to remind them to bring our starters after they had served the mains!
It is also up a dirt track 20 mins or more (£15 taxi) our of town.
I am currently researching other nearby accommodation... Which tells you all you need to know!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joss8d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel looks great. Our bedrooms were lovely- nothing to fault on these. Maid service was good. Little bit naughty that they put water by our beds and in the bathroom and then charged us for it at the end. Similarly Nespresso capsules- charged for.
The hotel felt pretty quiet , although they said it was full. The restaurant and bar was pretty deserted in the evening - no atmosphere, no matter , we were off out but it wasn't exactly buzzy and I wouldn't have wanted to eat there. Probably best to go across the road to Les Deux Tours . breakfast was a buffet. Ok but service was hopeless. Scrambled egg was stone cold. We had the buffet lunch once which was fine. ( They were big on buffets... less effort..) 20 euros a person though and no options if you wanted a snack or anything else for that matter. No crisps , no nuts nothing. The pool was nice , but if you wanted a drink .. Well.. Be prepared to wait. A long time. In fact you may give up before your drink arrives. The bar staff were beyond lazy. They barely served any drinks. The pool was not buzzy , there was a bloke there with his decks playing good music but there weren't many guests , even on the Sunday for their " pool . The hotel is really nice , but there didn't seem to be any management and so staff were generally hopeless. Front desk were pretty good. So in all, it's nice if you are using it as a base to sleep and lounge by the pool ( and you aren't thirsty) but not if you want to spend time there and have dinner etc.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank geronimo197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The building, pool and interior are the only good thing about this hotel. The food is terrible, beyond terrible actually. Breakfast isn't even worth waking up for. Limited selection to choose from during the day/night and takes over an hour and half to be ready.The bar has an awkward atmosphere as there is no one there. The customer service from staff is shocking. Terrible experience. If you're going to spend the money that they charge, stay in another hotel. You're going to regret choosing this hotel as it's not even close to worth the amount they charge. I hope the other hotels apart of this chain are they same...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 99Gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at the Murano with my boyfriend at the end of August after spending the previous two weeks travelling around Morocco. This is my first review for TripAdvisor but I felt I had to write something about the hotel to warn people to stay well away!

We arrived at the Murano at 4pm (check in is at 3pm) but had to wait a further 2 hours for our room to be ready. When we finally got into our rooms we were not sure what they achieved in the 2 hours as: the TV and telephone weren't working, the mirror in the bathroom was hanging off the wall, there were white stains all over the shower and in the toilet there was a gaping hole to the outside. The small bottles they give you with shampoo/conditioner etc were half full and the rug in the bedroom had black stains over it. I then went to take a shower but i couldn't as the shower head trickled water.

My boyfriend and I never complain and like to think of ourselves as very laid back guests but we had stayed in other 5 star hotels in Morocco which were amazing and a little less expensive than the Murano so we felt we did have the right to complain to the manager, Slim.
Slim informed us there were no more rooms or suites available as the hotel was "fully booked." He came to our room and admitted to us that the room was not up to their usual standard but there was nothing he could do. We were thinking about going to another hotel by this point but as we had to wait so long to get into our room it was now late in the evening.

After a terrible nights sleep as the fridge buzzed and the air con didn't work we complained to Slim again at 8:30am. I then pointed out we were gold members of an online booking service (we later found out this is where he gets most of his bookings from) and from nowhere, like magic - a suite suddenly became available!! The suite we were given was one we had seen them cleaning after guests had checked out the night before at the hotel (not "fully booked' then) and when Slim gave us the keys to the suite he said to quote "so now we are quits!" - charming!

On the up side the public areas at the hotel are nice (just nice) and the red pool is an unique feature, however this is a lot smaller in real life than in the pictures shown on the website. Another big let down at the hotel is the service which is soooooo slow. For instance we had to wait one hour for a burger and club sandwich to be made. The food choice is also very limited and the quality is not great.

Overall, we were massively disappointed with the Murano as the pictures on their website make the hotel look amazing but don't be fooled by this! This hotel is number 165 for a reason as you can pay the same amount of money for an actual 5 star standard hotel elsewhere in Marrakesh. So go elsewhere and avoid the Murano!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
1.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Villa Al Assala
Villa Al Assala
#1 of 1 in Palmeraie
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa des Trois Golfs
Villa des Trois Golfs
#316 of 501 in Marrakech
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#126 of 501 in Marrakech
1,291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#117 of 501 in Marrakech
942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#47 of 501 in Marrakech
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murano Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murano Resort Marrakech

Address: Douar Abiad La Palmeraie | Circuit de la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#110 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#151 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $43 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Murano Resort Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Murano Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Murano Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing