We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel- pretty hopeless staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Murano Resort Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murano Resort Marrakech
Ranked #141 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel- pretty hopeless staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel looks great. Our bedrooms were lovely- nothing to fault on these. Maid service was good. Little bit naughty that they put water by our beds and in the bathroom and then charged us for it at the end. Similarly Nespresso capsules- charged for.
The hotel felt pretty quiet , although they said it was full. The restaurant and bar was pretty deserted in the evening - no atmosphere, no matter , we were off out but it wasn't exactly buzzy and I wouldn't have wanted to eat there. Probably best to go across the road to Les Deux Tours . breakfast was a buffet. Ok but service was hopeless. Scrambled egg was stone cold. We had the buffet lunch once which was fine. ( They were big on buffets... less effort..) 20 euros a person though and no options if you wanted a snack or anything else for that matter. No crisps , no nuts nothing. The pool was nice , but if you wanted a drink .. Well.. Be prepared to wait. A long time. In fact you may give up before your drink arrives. The bar staff were beyond lazy. They barely served any drinks. The pool was not buzzy , there was a bloke there with his decks playing good music but there weren't many guests , even on the Sunday for their " pool . The hotel is really nice , but there didn't seem to be any management and so staff were generally hopeless. Front desk were pretty good. So in all, it's nice if you are using it as a base to sleep and lounge by the pool ( and you aren't thirsty) but not if you want to spend time there and have dinner etc.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank geronimo197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    105
    34
    30
    19
See reviews for
66
166
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The building, pool and interior are the only good thing about this hotel. The food is terrible, beyond terrible actually. Breakfast isn't even worth waking up for. Limited selection to choose from during the day/night and takes over an hour and half to be ready.The bar has an awkward atmosphere as there is no one there. The customer service from staff is shocking. Terrible experience. If you're going to spend the money that they charge, stay in another hotel. You're going to regret choosing this hotel as it's not even close to worth the amount they charge. I hope the other hotels apart of this chain are they same...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 99Gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at the Murano with my boyfriend at the end of August after spending the previous two weeks travelling around Morocco. This is my first review for TripAdvisor but I felt I had to write something about the hotel to warn people to stay well away!

We arrived at the Murano at 4pm (check in is at 3pm) but had to wait a further 2 hours for our room to be ready. When we finally got into our rooms we were not sure what they achieved in the 2 hours as: the TV and telephone weren't working, the mirror in the bathroom was hanging off the wall, there were white stains all over the shower and in the toilet there was a gaping hole to the outside. The small bottles they give you with shampoo/conditioner etc were half full and the rug in the bedroom had black stains over it. I then went to take a shower but i couldn't as the shower head trickled water.

My boyfriend and I never complain and like to think of ourselves as very laid back guests but we had stayed in other 5 star hotels in Morocco which were amazing and a little less expensive than the Murano so we felt we did have the right to complain to the manager, Slim.
Slim informed us there were no more rooms or suites available as the hotel was "fully booked." He came to our room and admitted to us that the room was not up to their usual standard but there was nothing he could do. We were thinking about going to another hotel by this point but as we had to wait so long to get into our room it was now late in the evening.

After a terrible nights sleep as the fridge buzzed and the air con didn't work we complained to Slim again at 8:30am. I then pointed out we were gold members of an online booking service (we later found out this is where he gets most of his bookings from) and from nowhere, like magic - a suite suddenly became available!! The suite we were given was one we had seen them cleaning after guests had checked out the night before at the hotel (not "fully booked' then) and when Slim gave us the keys to the suite he said to quote "so now we are quits!" - charming!

On the up side the public areas at the hotel are nice (just nice) and the red pool is an unique feature, however this is a lot smaller in real life than in the pictures shown on the website. Another big let down at the hotel is the service which is soooooo slow. For instance we had to wait one hour for a burger and club sandwich to be made. The food choice is also very limited and the quality is not great.

Overall, we were massively disappointed with the Murano as the pictures on their website make the hotel look amazing but don't be fooled by this! This hotel is number 165 for a reason as you can pay the same amount of money for an actual 5 star standard hotel elsewhere in Marrakesh. So go elsewhere and avoid the Murano!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisons-Laffitte, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It is as simple as the word perfect ! Staff is just so nice, so looking at your confort and trying to do anything that could help you to enjoy your stay -and no commercial expectation here, just to please you-.
The food is at the level of the place... in fact I do not have much to say... execpt that this one of the place to stay in Marrakech.... or perhaps I should keep it secret and hope that it will stay open only for the "fews" ;-)

no doubt, enjoy the noisy part of Marrakech, enjoy some terrific night at the Pacha club...and create your HQ at Murano resort.

The new onwer (beg. 2010) is looking to keep this resort as an intimiste place, whith nice people (in all perspective ;-)... he is charming, and clearly taking care of this place to be as much as possible an unforgiven place!

My warm recommendation here...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

In need of time out then this is the place, amazing setting 15 mins from the madness of the night market offering you the best of both. Beautiful place to chill out, with incredible staff
loved the DJ by the pool relacxing with chilled mint tea on a sunny afternoon. Now planning to take a group for my birthday my new piece of heaven. !!!!

Room Tip: Adelaide - best view in the hotel ! late evening sun on your terrece lovely too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The only good point is the garden and private swimming pool for each villa of 8 rooms. Else is overall bad: terrible service, absence of staff, poor breakfast buffet, latency of staff, weakness in building maintenance.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ansarkadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I came to Marrakech for our anniversary and decided to stay at the Murano. We were a little sceptical about the place, but the minute we arrived in Marrakech, we were glad we chose this hotel. We landed at the airport, came out of the terminal and there was our driver, we didn't need to wait or call the hotel to ask where the driver was, and he was very friendly. Then we got to the hotel, from the outside it looked very authentic, once we got inside, we were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and comfort of the place.

Slim introduced himself to us and made a fuss over us, which made us feel very welcome. He took us up to the room and showed us around and explained everything to us. Now the room, what can I say??? Absolutely stunning, very spacious, the decor, the beds, the bathroom, clean, even had a choice of having a bath or shower, everything was perfect (the only issue we had was some ants crawling around in the night), but that didn't spoil our time at the hotel.

The staff were amazing and catered to our every whim. They were very friendly, caring, got us what ever we wanted, the guys who worked at the bar in the evening were accommodating and the service was second to none. We were recommended a couple of restaurants by the lady who worked on the reception in the evenings (sorry I can't remember her name) but the 2 restaurants that she recommended were spot on, food was lovely and the prices were just right. They certainly know their stuff when it comes to eating out.

They arranged also arranged a day trip for us to Orika in the mountains, and when we got back the staff were very interested in what we thought about the place and seemed genuinely interested in our trip.

One thing we loved about this place was the peace and quite late at night, we just chilled on the balcony at around midnight with our drinks and we loved it....

When the day came to leave my wife and I were a little upset to be going home, this place felt like a home away from home, and the staff looked just as sad as we did to be going....

The only downside to the hotel is that it didn't have a gym, but thats a very minor downside.

Just to highlight how good this hotel is, we missed our flight home, so I wanted to go back to the Murano, but instead we chose a hotel closer to the airport (the Eden Andelou Spa & Resort) and that hotel was a sh1thole (and that's me being polite), when we got there was had to change rooms 3 times, in the end I was willing to take a hit on the money we paid for the Eden and go back to the Murano, unfortunately we stayed at the Eden.

But if we go back to Marrakech, i'm not staying anywhere apart from the Murano. DON'T STAY ANYWHERE ELSE!!!

Room Tip: Try not to get the room with a balcony facing West, as the sun is at its strongest in the late after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yags14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
8.4 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#99 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#48 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#85 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#116 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murano Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murano Resort Marrakech

Property: Murano Resort Marrakech
Address: Douar Abiad La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#113 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Murano Resort Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Murano Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Murano Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing