We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A hole from hell !!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa
Ranked #177 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A hole from hell !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Wow, what a hugely disappointing contrast between the website photos and when you are actually there - I do not know how this hotel can be rated a five star, more like a two star. The staff were awful upon arrival - we had to take our own luggage to the room after waiting one hour, even though we were promised it would be delivered to our room for us. The staff never showed any sign of politeness, maybe because they were being constantly bashed down by the rather evil looking hotel manager, who aired fear into anyone who dared cross his path and ask for something! It is an incredibly expensive hotel to eat in, for very poor quality food. The menu is pretty weak with little choice. The swimming pool was freezing cold, even though the hotel confirmed to us that it is always heated - complete lies. The hotel is quite out of the way and it will cost you a fortune to go anywhere - expect to pay at least €50 to get to the Medina and back, which is just outrageous. There is absolutely nothing around outside the hotel so your choice is very limited as to what to do. The bedroom was rather poor, as it appeared to not have been thoroughly cleaned before we arrived. Dust everywhere, dirty looking linen, insects running around. And to top it off, we have never seen a Spa in Morocco cost so much money - it's more expensive than London or Paris - a complete rip off !
Overall, we will not go back ever again to this hotel and we cannot recommend it at all to anyone else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ShaunD435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    77
    25
    12
    20
See reviews for
59
136
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the domaine des remparts a good few days, just long enough to realise that, even though the staff looked friendly at first glance, some of them were real thieves. Several things disappeared from our room, including our brand new mobile phone. We complained to the director, Thierry, but he is not worth more at all. He did not try to help, and the cherry on the cake was the invoice he gave us at the end of the stay: he charged us for things he said he would offer us and also for things which were supposed to be included in the price of the stay. And when we told him we were not ready to pay for those, he became extremely aggressive. We ended up paying as we did not want our holiday to turn into a real nightmare.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Carine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here last June and had an amazing time. The hotel staff were more than happy to help with anything we needed and made us feel very welcome. Although we had some issues with our original room, we came back from dinner to find around 50+ large ants had infested the room, as soon as we notified the hotel staff they were very apologetic and changed our room instantly. The rooms were cleaned every day and were very spacious with a large bathroom and private outside area making them perfect places to relax away from the pool. The food was fantastic and offered a range of authentic dishes at both breakfast and dinner (we were only half board but would assume it was the same for lunch). Most of the hotel staff including their taxi drivers spoke relatively good English and were more than happy to suggest some great places to visit! The overall hotel was very clean and a perfect place to relax, it only took about 15-20 minutes to reach the centre of the old town so it was perfect if you just wanted to pop out for a few hours. There is also a wonderful spa on site which is worth a visit especially if you just fancy a relaxing day around the hotel! This really is a fantastic hotel and it made our first trip to Morocco even better!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

As soon as you step into the main hall of this boutique hotel you know you are in for a period of serenity, and relaxation. It is rare in 2012 (at least for me ) to be in a place where one is able to hear  their own breathing.

The fireplace to the right of the main entrance entices coziness, but it is the double glass doors leading to the manicured gardens that must be the best feature. As I sat near the fire place I was offered a drink from the little bar at the corner of the hall, and this is where Ibtisam the "receptionist" (there is no reception desk) handled my registration.
The experience was certainly not your  standard hotel check in ritual, this a place where the receptionist remembered your name. Home away from home. After all there are only 32 suites.

While I was being shown around the property including the little library, It was the pool towards the middle of the garden that got my attention. With palm trees reflecting on the water, images of Alhambra of Granada were not too distant.

My suite had a separate toilet, and bathroom. The latter had separate bath and shower, all decorated in the spirit of the desert. The big room opens up to a little garden leading directly to the pool, and it comes with its own fireplace. While bed was normal it was the sheets that perfected the sleep experience.

I tried the spa twice, once for a massage, and another for a hamam and a massage. Nothing to fault, with the added advantage of being good value for money.

I would definitely recommend this place for those who are looking to experience a combination of coziness, relaxation and want to avoid run of the mill establishments.

Room Tip: I walked around property they all looked similar from the outside. You may request to be closer to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hussam02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
227 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

This small resort as a friendly and cosy environment. You can eat by the pool at lunch, and use your own chemny at your large suite. Very interisting for golfers as it is near three golf courses, 5 minutes drive.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jose r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

I could not imagined a better place to relax! The service was at all times excellent: and all employees, they were happy to speak english to us for my friend. We were welcomed warmly although we were dropped off from a dusty SUV in our hiking clothes. we would like to thanks youcef for his help, suggesting and recommendation, he know every thing about marrakech sightseeing (THE YOUNGEST GOLD KEY).
We enjoyed the opulent spa every day, as well as the stunning pools. The room and all public spaces are extremely well appointed with amazing attention to details.

The prices really do not matter at this point. This was an amazing experience,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hammim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Just back from a 5 night break and can't speak highly enough of the place and staff. Lovely size suite and private garden with very clean pool. Staff couldn't do enough for us, although it did help to speak French. Even the hotel dog made us feel welcome and sat (slept) with us every lunchtime. Chief happy to cook lighter meals for us when we asked - nothing wrong with the daily menu but 3 course meals twice a day took its toll! The Spa was also first rate. We were luckly that the hotel was under booked and the weather had perked up for our visit, but even with a full hotel we're sure the service would be the same. It was an oasis in a quiet area but only 10 mins by taxi to the centre. Just what we wanted!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TandFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#95 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cesar Resort & Spa
Cesar Resort & Spa
#195 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#273 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#260 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.0 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#174 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#77 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa

Property: Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa
Address: Km 4 Route de Fes "vers Tallaght" | BP. 2708, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Marrakech's Palm Grove, the Domaine des Remparts, with its 2-hectare park and an astonishing view of the Atlas Mountains, is a genuine haven of peace. Hanging in the Spa Cocooning, the scents of the Orient will delight your senses. Enjoy also a large variety of facilities: heated swimming-pool, clay court, fitness center, shop, library and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing